We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Excellent Staff...lovely rooms...average size b ut more than adequate, great breakfast...good location..will deffinately return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjcheffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Got a late deal and we were very imprseed with the service. The staff were very helpfull, polite and the food was to die for. Would highly recomend the food! (there was a wedding on for over 100 guests and there was no delay or dip in service or quality of the food hats off to the chefs. ***) The only thing that let it down was the bed was very uncomfortable i didnt get enough sleep. which is a shame as i so wanted this to be excellent. would definatly stay again but just ask for a different room. (104) The pool and spa were just what was needed for a night away to relax. Thank you all for a great break. very happy.

Room Tip: Ask for any other room than 104 unless it has a new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BELLAP116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have just returned from my 2night stay at the Stonecross Manor,it was a fab hotel with staff that couldn't do enough for us . We where surprised to find we had been upgraded to a four poster room , the buffet breakfast was amazing with good quality food . Can't wait to return here in the very near future.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice hotel well situated for a break off the M6. Comfortable room and good restaurant. Very nice - would stay again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel was a pleasant surprise as it was no more than a 10 minute walk into the centre (downhill most of the way). A taxi back from town (Brewery Arts Centre) is £4.00 approximately, and that because of the one-way system. The reception staff are extremely friendly and professional, we immediately felt welcomed and at ease. The decor is a little old fashioned in the lobby with leather chairs and walnut furniture. The bedroom was well-furnished and the bed was comfortable. the heavy key system could do with updating and there was some noise from the other rooms as the walls are not thick, but the charm of the place makes up for this.
We stayed for four nights and had a good breakfast each morning consisting of a choice from full English to fresh friut and yoghurt. kippers are available by request. The serving staff are very polite and pleased to serve anthing you need.

The pool and Jazucci were used and very welcome after walking all day. The only issue was having no dryer for your costume. The hotel is impressive and well worth the price (we paid discounted rate of £330 for 4 nts).
If you visit this hotel, you'll be charmed, firstly by the beautiful building and then by the staff who are amongst the best I have encountered in the UK.

Room Tip: There are only two floors and 30 rooms . We had 211 at the end of the corridor and had little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Felt very welcome straight away. The receptionist was lovely! The hotel is very ye olde, it looks very impressive from the outside! We stayed in a room with a 4 poster bed which was quite a nice touch. Didn't eat an evening meal, but the breakfasts are amazing! The town is only a 20 minute walk away or 10 minutes in the car. The second time we have stayed here and would do so again. There was a wedding on the first time we stayed, but it didn't effect our stay at all. The only thing I would say is that the walls are really thin, so you can hear everything through out the hotel. Might just be the 4 poster bed rooms though!?

Room Tip: It's not too much more to upgrade from a double room to a 4 poster bed room. Well worth doing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyrob669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Any one who complains about the quality of food here must be from a rival hotel, the breakfast had a really wide choice and excellent quality.
Had several evening meals, and again really good standard, and again a wide choice, and not too expensive.
Only bad point is £4.50 for a small plate of soup, really expensive for what you get.
The staff are one of the best I have come across in a long time, they are really genuine and friendly, and work well together, and make you feel really special.
Large car park and pool available.
About 10-15 minutes walk from town centre, so not too far away.
Only bad point was rooms have very thin walls, and when fan in bathroom is on in adjacent room it is noisy, and you can hear television as well.
This was highlighted when woman in next room kept finding religion, all you could hear was her shouting 'OH GOD YES' every evening, kudos to her man though !!!
Rooms are decent size, but was a slight damp smell in bathrooms though, believe rooms at front were noisy due to traffic, so we were at a room at side, and it was not so bad.
So would recommend, not a five star, but due to food quality definately a 4 star.
Avoid Kendal Inn nearby on way to town, very poor place and full of young people and very noisy.

Room Tip: go for room at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazzykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
555 reviews
23.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: £59 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing