We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveller rating
224
289
157
63
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
289
157
63
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedtravelzoo offersteam room and jacuzzigroupon dealevening mealbuffet stylelovely hotelset menulambbirthday treatbooked this hotelspa facilitiesplenty of parkingone night stayroom was clean and comfortablelake districta lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
633 - 638 of 789 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A warm welcome at reception but the room was small and being at the front of the hotel was noisy.
The duvet was stained and the one that eventually replaced it was a king size stuffed into a double cover... Very lumpy and uncomfortable... The sheets were thin and had holes in them.The young guy in the bar was great, really friendly and very helpful however the seating in the bar was filthy.
The restaurant was pleasant and the food very good.
Housekeeping seems to be a real issue. It all needs a little updating and TLC.When asked if everything was OK on checkout and the answer was no the receptionist seemed at a loss as to what to say.

Room Tip: Ask to look first.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EffieInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here recently for two nights, booked the suite with the four poster and spa bath. Just on the outskirts of Kendal town itself we found it a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, the pool was very nice and the meals especially from the market choice very nice indeed. Friendly staff look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My friend and I stayed here in August 2012 on their good value Lakelander deal. The hotel was easy to find, had ample parking and was well located for exploring the Lake District.
We were given a room at the front of the hotel but the noise from the main road was very minimal and certainly didn't disturb our sleep and offered wonderful views. The twin room was clean and comfortable. The rooms could use a little TLC, a bit of updating would be good. The bathroom smelled a little damp but this was due to the extractor fan going off every time we left the room and took our key card with us. The hotel should definitely keep its rustic charm though in any modernisation efforts.

The food portions were very generous, too much for us. Breakfast offered an excellent choice and set us up for a long day walking round the Lakes. The inclusive dinner was delicious but far too much for our appetites.

The hotel's finest quality is its staff. All very friendly and happy throughout our stay. Liam in the bar / restaurant in particular deserves a mention for his attentiveness and help with our menu choices.

The hotel accepts pets and the presence of a couple of guests with gorgeous Spaniels in the bar was a delight rather than a problem for us (but we are animal lovers).

The hotel provided us with a wonderful base from which to explore the lakes and we both agreed that we would definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I am just a bloke laid on a 4 poster bed in the Stonecross Manor Hotel just outside the town of Kendal. The girlfriend and I have had a very relaxing day, we got up and had a great breakfast in the hotel and then walked into Kendal for the morning. We got back and had missed lunch but the staff bent over backwards and made sandwiches and tea . The hotel is clean and tidy and is friendly and if this way again I would stay again.

Room Tip: Who knows I haven't stayed in all of them
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaughtyOnthesofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

When we arrived at the Stonecross we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Our room was clean and comfortable,but the furniture felt a bit dated. The hotel just felt like it needed it bit of TLC, just little things that needed tidying up. We had a swim in the pool which was very refreshing. Comfortable bed and a good nights sleep. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Lovely views from our bedroom window. Nice walk into the town centre. All in all we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews