We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good base to explore lakes”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stonecross manor for 2 nights and must say we didn't find it looking tired at all. It looks like it has been decorated in the last few weeks, you can smell the paint. Found it an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding countryside as the hotel is only about 1 mile away from the main M6 to Windemere road. A 15 -20 minute walk and you are in Kendal, better to walk as parking charges can get a bit expensive. Bedroom was large enough and we were at the back of the hotel and on the top floor so nice and quiet.We found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly.The breakfast was of good quality and plenty of choice. Would definetly recomend and would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    243
    134
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
414
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for one night for Valentines weekend. Hotel was spotless, room clean and comfy.Breakfast delicious and staff very helpful and friendly. 15 muns walk into Kendal. Only disappointment pool was being refurbished but looks like it will be great when its finished

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Had to abandon my journey home due to snow called to see if they accepted dogs as I have a young puppy, they did. We arrived soaked and cold and the lady at reception instantly gave us a towel and some dog biscuits, so we headed up to the room feeling better. The room was lovely and clean and had a four poster bed as a bonus! Ordered room service which came quickly despite the function which was on. Left feeling very happy and well rested.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford shropshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We visited Stonecross manor on New years day ,this was our third stay so it goes without saying we like it there.
It has an excellent location for Kendal and many other surrounding areas.
The staff have always been very helpful and breakfast is of very good choice and Quality.
We have always had a different room and they are all very nice.
When in Kendal again this is where we will be staying .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I my wife and 2 friends have been staying at Stonecross Manor for about 5 years, we always stay at the New Year for 3 days, this is usually 29/30/31 Dec, Stonecross Manor runs a NewYears Eve gala function this is a two night deal you can (which we do) stop an extra night. The deal is for one of the two nights evening dinner is included then the following evening being the Gala night these days also of course include breakfast, the first day is b&b only you can either stay at the hotel for dinner and pay the extra or as we do take the 20 minute walk into Kendal Town for a curry. The total cost for this combination is £510.00 per room. The price is certainly not on the cheap side but overall we have found it reasonable. We do tend to agree with fellow Trip Advisor contributors in that the hotel is in a time warp starting to look very tired in all departments, the whole hotel could do with redecorating, carpets on the stairs threadbare in places, room furniture outdated. In a way I feel a little bit of a traitor by making some of these comments but enjoying the stay that we do have when there. In it's defence the breakfast is very good, self service with plenty of choices in all departments, if you wish for other than the self service there is a table menu. The traditional evening dinner menu once again is very acceptable a good wine menu or if you wish drinks from the bar. We have found the staff usually very accommodating and attentive, the rooms depending on which you chose (we usually ask for 208 and 209 as they are at the front of the hotel) the rooms have ensuite with bath, a good shower, hairdrier, flat screen TV, iron and board, telephone, and of course Tea & Coffee tray. If you are of a tall disposition these 2 rooms may not suit you as the roof pitch in the room is fairly low and I and my friend often forget and pay the price. We have never yet qualified for the bottle of fizz yet probably part of another type of deal. Finally the hotel does have a small dip pool and Jacuzzi. After all of this my wife reckons we will be returning at the end of this year, time will tell.

Room Tip: Front Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Great stay between Xmas & New Year. Booked internet deal including bottle of fizz when we arrived, four poster bed & dinner.
Period building on outskirts of Kendal, decor fine but slightly faded in the corners. Spacious room, very clean, with modern ensuite (small bath, but i'm 6' 4" so most baths are small) and lovely old big bed. View of staff car park, but you can't have everything.
Dinner was traditional, with half a dozen choices for starter & mains, but cooked and presented well, with attentive staff. Full English breakfast superb.
If you're looking for a short break for a reasonable price this hotel definately has it. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcustheSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here on the way up to Scotland!
Good, clean, dog friendly accommodation!
Slightly dated as a hotel, but well worth the money I paid, bed and breakfast!
Breakfast was very good, good choice of options. About a 20 minute walk to Kendal town.
Would recommend, but not for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing