We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been a different hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I "enjoyed" a St. Valentine night stay at Stonecross Manor. I always read tripadvisor reviews prior to booking any hotel, but our experience on this occasion was at odds with other previous reviewers. In the bar the gas had run out on the beer tap. After changing it the barman poured me a flat pint of bitter. The Valentine night special meal was best described as eatable. The decor is VERY tired and recent repair and decoration is of a poor standard, which was very evident in the shower room. The four poster bedroom was adequate and reasonably clean, but certainly not spotless.The staff were "hit and miss", the receptionist being exceptional but two other members of staff ignored us when we said " Good morning", which they clearly heard as they looked up at us.. The full breakfast was massive but unfortunately poorly cooked, the bacon especially. The coffee was undrinkable. Oh, yes, and the pool was closed although we were not advised of this when booking.
On the plus side this is an imposing building and is very convenient for a motorway overnight. stop.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you Collinrhthomas for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing to read that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us.

We normally receive excellent feedback for the quality of our food, friendliness of our staff and cleanliness. However, this was obviously not your experience.

Please be assured that we continually strive to ensure our guests have the best experience whilst staying with us and had you brought your disappointments to our attention during your stay we would have endeavoured to rectify this situation.

The refurbishment of the hotel is ongoing and as such the pool is currently undergoing a full refurbishment, as stated on all websites and is due to reopen for Easter offering a very special experience for our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and I hope that you might consider staying with us again in the future so that you can enjoy the pool experience and our normal high standards of quality service and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stonecross manor for 2 nights and must say we didn't find it looking tired at all. It looks like it has been decorated in the last few weeks, you can smell the paint. Found it an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding countryside as the hotel is only about 1 mile away from the main M6 to Windemere road. A 15 -20 minute walk and you are in Kendal, better to walk as parking charges can get a bit expensive. Bedroom was large enough and we were at the back of the hotel and on the top floor so nice and quiet.We found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly.The breakfast was of good quality and plenty of choice. Would definetly recomend and would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for one night for Valentines weekend. Hotel was spotless, room clean and comfy.Breakfast delicious and staff very helpful and friendly. 15 muns walk into Kendal. Only disappointment pool was being refurbished but looks like it will be great when its finished

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Had to abandon my journey home due to snow called to see if they accepted dogs as I have a young puppy, they did. We arrived soaked and cold and the lady at reception instantly gave us a towel and some dog biscuits, so we headed up to the room feeling better. The room was lovely and clean and had a four poster bed as a bonus! Ordered room service which came quickly despite the function which was on. Left feeling very happy and well rested.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We visited Stonecross manor on New years day ,this was our third stay so it goes without saying we like it there.
It has an excellent location for Kendal and many other surrounding areas.
The staff have always been very helpful and breakfast is of very good choice and Quality.
We have always had a different room and they are all very nice.
When in Kendal again this is where we will be staying .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I my wife and 2 friends have been staying at Stonecross Manor for about 5 years, we always stay at the New Year for 3 days, this is usually 29/30/31 Dec, Stonecross Manor runs a NewYears Eve gala function this is a two night deal you can (which we do) stop an extra night. The deal is for one of the two nights evening dinner is included then the following evening being the Gala night these days also of course include breakfast, the first day is b&b only you can either stay at the hotel for dinner and pay the extra or as we do take the 20 minute walk into Kendal Town for a curry. The total cost for this combination is £510.00 per room. The price is certainly not on the cheap side but overall we have found it reasonable. We do tend to agree with fellow Trip Advisor contributors in that the hotel is in a time warp starting to look very tired in all departments, the whole hotel could do with redecorating, carpets on the stairs threadbare in places, room furniture outdated. In a way I feel a little bit of a traitor by making some of these comments but enjoying the stay that we do have when there. In it's defence the breakfast is very good, self service with plenty of choices in all departments, if you wish for other than the self service there is a table menu. The traditional evening dinner menu once again is very acceptable a good wine menu or if you wish drinks from the bar. We have found the staff usually very accommodating and attentive, the rooms depending on which you chose (we usually ask for 208 and 209 as they are at the front of the hotel) the rooms have ensuite with bath, a good shower, hairdrier, flat screen TV, iron and board, telephone, and of course Tea & Coffee tray. If you are of a tall disposition these 2 rooms may not suit you as the roof pitch in the room is fairly low and I and my friend often forget and pay the price. We have never yet qualified for the bottle of fizz yet probably part of another type of deal. Finally the hotel does have a small dip pool and Jacuzzi. After all of this my wife reckons we will be returning at the end of this year, time will tell.

Room Tip: Front Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Great stay between Xmas & New Year. Booked internet deal including bottle of fizz when we arrived, four poster bed & dinner.
Period building on outskirts of Kendal, decor fine but slightly faded in the corners. Spacious room, very clean, with modern ensuite (small bath, but i'm 6' 4" so most baths are small) and lovely old big bed. View of staff car park, but you can't have everything.
Dinner was traditional, with half a dozen choices for starter & mains, but cooked and presented well, with attentive staff. Full English breakfast superb.
If you're looking for a short break for a reasonable price this hotel definately has it. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcustheSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,071 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,160 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
550 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing