We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
US$407
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$104
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$193
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
203
269
147
58
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
269
147
58
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedgroupon dealpool and jacuzzichanging roomsevening meallick of paintbuffet stylelovely hotellambbirthday treatspa facilitiesbooked this hotelplenty of parkinglake districtself serviceone night stayboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I "enjoyed" a St. Valentine night stay at Stonecross Manor. I always read tripadvisor reviews prior to booking any hotel, but our experience on this occasion was at odds with other previous reviewers. In the bar the gas had run out on the beer tap. After changing it the barman poured me a flat pint of bitter. The Valentine night special meal was best described as eatable. The decor is VERY tired and recent repair and decoration is of a poor standard, which was very evident in the shower room. The four poster bedroom was adequate and reasonably clean, but certainly not spotless.The staff were "hit and miss", the receptionist being exceptional but two other members of staff ignored us when we said " Good morning", which they clearly heard as they looked up at us.. The full breakfast was massive but unfortunately poorly cooked, the bacon especially. The coffee was undrinkable. Oh, yes, and the pool was closed although we were not advised of this when booking.
On the plus side this is an imposing building and is very convenient for a motorway overnight. stop.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you Collinrhthomas for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing to read that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us.

We normally receive excellent feedback for the quality of our food, friendliness of our staff and cleanliness. However, this was obviously not your experience.

Please be assured that we continually strive to ensure our guests have the best experience whilst staying with us and had you brought your disappointments to our attention during your stay we would have endeavoured to rectify this situation.

The refurbishment of the hotel is ongoing and as such the pool is currently undergoing a full refurbishment, as stated on all websites and is due to reopen for Easter offering a very special experience for our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and I hope that you might consider staying with us again in the future so that you can enjoy the pool experience and our normal high standards of quality service and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stonecross manor for 2 nights and must say we didn't find it looking tired at all. It looks like it has been decorated in the last few weeks, you can smell the paint. Found it an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding countryside as the hotel is only about 1 mile away from the main M6 to Windemere road. A 15 -20 minute walk and you are in Kendal, better to walk as parking charges can get a bit expensive. Bedroom was large enough and we were at the back of the hotel and on the top floor so nice and quiet.We found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly.The breakfast was of good quality and plenty of choice. Would definetly recomend and would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for one night for Valentines weekend. Hotel was spotless, room clean and comfy.Breakfast delicious and staff very helpful and friendly. 15 muns walk into Kendal. Only disappointment pool was being refurbished but looks like it will be great when its finished

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Had to abandon my journey home due to snow called to see if they accepted dogs as I have a young puppy, they did. We arrived soaked and cold and the lady at reception instantly gave us a towel and some dog biscuits, so we headed up to the room feeling better. The room was lovely and clean and had a four poster bed as a bonus! Ordered room service which came quickly despite the function which was on. Left feeling very happy and well rested.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We visited Stonecross manor on New years day ,this was our third stay so it goes without saying we like it there.
It has an excellent location for Kendal and many other surrounding areas.
The staff have always been very helpful and breakfast is of very good choice and Quality.
We have always had a different room and they are all very nice.
When in Kendal again this is where we will be staying .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews