We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Had a lovely relaxing break, in this beautiful hotel. All staff first class, helpful and friendly (with a special mention to Mano) for his tips and advice on where to visit in the local area. Our bedroom was warm and cosy, very quiet with plenty of hot water. Breakfast excellent and the evening meal we had on the first night was delicious. We would love to stay here again, thanks to you all for a very relaxing and memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willytheimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    249
    135
    52
    45
See reviews for
74
420
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed here for one night, as a last minute break. The hotel room was superb. We stayed in the king-size four poster bedroom, and were not disappointed. The room was tasteful, clean and had everything we needed. The view from the room was nice, colour tv, facilities to make hot drinks, clean bathroom with shower / bath, plenty of towels. Staff couldn't do more, they were very attentive. In fact, we asked to borrow two champagne glasses for our room and they gave us a bucket of ice to go with them!

Food in the restaurant was first class and very reasonably priced. Served with a smile :-)

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and will most certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 207. Second floor, right at the end. We will be asking for this room again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipsandsausages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It is a bit dated but clean and I only ate in the bar but the food was very nice, also a good cooked breakfast in the morning.

I have got to go back to Kendal this week so decided to book in again.

Would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have just stayed here for a night between 2 days of travelling the area.

The hotel from checkin to out i could not fault and im not sure why people moan about the smallest irrrelevant things.

The bedroom was spacious and the bed was nice with a good nights sleep.

The bar,restaurant were efficient with an excellent evening meal of good quality food and cooking,breakfast buffet was again excellent and a good fill to keep you going through the day.

Service and cleanliness were good and if i was in the area again would definately stay again,enjoy if you go.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Had a great weekend thanks to the staff for there service always seemed happy and attentive.
The food was great in fact my only complaint about the food was the very generous portions I'm a big lad but the portions outdid me.
We had a king four poster and its was just about right for us.
Unfortunately the pool was out of commission but we hope it will be up and running when we return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After my husband booked this hotel for an overnight break I read through all the reviews and was very worried. How wrong. From the moment we arrived the staff where very helpful and friendly. Our room ( a four poster) was clean and comfy and all In all we have a lovely stay and would return again. Please don't let the reviews put you off.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you so much Helsbell for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time with us and that your concerns had been unfounded.

Please be assured that we are very committed to ensuring we maintain the highest standards and to giving our guests the highest quality of service experience.

Unfortunately there are the occassional times when we don't get it right. However all feedback is important to us as it helps us to gauge how our guests actually perceive our standards.

So it is always most apprecated when our guests take the time to tell us that we are getting it right! We will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Stonecross Manor Hotel when next you visit the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This hotel is truly awful. I stay there as I had gone to Kendal to watch a concert at the Brewery Arts Centre. On arrival the outside of the hotel looks quite nice but inside it transforms into something from the 1970 with a boxed in reception 'window'. The furniture is old and dated and in need of replacement. The room was not ready so my friend and I went into the bar. This turned out to be an overly cluttered room with horrid old photo's in cheap frames and the cooler is CHAINED to the wall. All the chairs are damaged and threadbare and it wasn't too clean either.Staff were in short supply so it took forever to get a G and T. When we were finally served it was by a young girl who had no idea what a gin and tonic was and thought bitter was lager ???? staff training issue I think ! On being shown to the room ( 106) this was a horrible scruffy affair with cheap mattresses, a bathroom in need of repair and cheap bedding and pillows.The valance didn't even match the under sheet and the duvet was paper thin.The decor is old fashioned and the furniture cheap and the room smelt of cooking.The curtains didn't draw fully either and the lights at the rear of the hotel were very bright. On returning to the hotel after the evening out, and hearing the bins being put out the stay at this hotel went from bad to worse - the people in the next door room were so drunk, noisy and abusive I asked to be moved which the night porter did without question. He said he would give me a suite ( 203). This was big but damp and very depressing - the heating didn't seem to work and there was a small temporary radiator instead, The room was freezing..The bedding smelt of damp and the room decor was a horrid blue and very very dark and dank lit only by an industrial looking light so it looked more like a cell.The was only a bath with an old looking hand held shower head. Again I asked to be moved and again this was done without question - I think the night porter gets these requests frequently ! I was given 209 slightly better but the curtains didn't close again and were hanging off the rail and again the room had a strange damp smell.I have stayed in lots of hotels and this rates in my bottom 3. The walls are very thin and this is a noisy hotel !! I didn't get any sleep so left at 5am to drive home early - didn't even stay to see what the breakfast was like as I had had enough of this establishment.
My advice - go to the local Premier Inn !!! clean beds, clean and tidy hotel at a better price.

Room Tip: There are none but 209 best of a very bad bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacFellwalker, General Manager at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you Jane H for taking the time to write a review in regard to your stay with us. Needless to say I am extremely disappointed to read that you found so many aspects of your stay dissatisfying.

The hotel is of course an eighteenth century building and the decor reflects the old world charm that should go with a building of that age. However, refurbishment and the upkeep of such a building is ongoing.

The photos in the bar that you mentioned which were donated by the local newspaper, are black and white photos of Kendal from the last century depicting life in the area and are usually a great source of interest to those who like history and things of old.

Our check in time is 2pm at which time all rooms are ready. Should someone arrive earlier than this, as in your case, we will always endeavour to give them their room early, however this is not always possible if the hotel has been full the evening before.

The waitress who served your drinks was indeed in training and as such the supervisor who you chatted with while being served was there ensuring she did so correctly.

I am puzzled by your comment about the bed in 106 as it is a superkingsize Sealy bed and mattress and therefore our guests normally comment on it being such a comfortable, huge bed. Likewise it has not been brought to our attention before that the curtains in 106 do not close properly and as they were professionally hung with black out backing specifically to keep out the light I am also puzzled by this. However, the curtains in 209 had been hung on a temporary basis while the rooms proper curtains are being drycleaned so I appreciate that they may have let some light in.

I am aware of the issue which you unfortunately experienced with the guests in the room next door but am pleased to read that you were happy with the Night Porters prompt action.

When your friend checked out the following morning after breakfast, he discussed the issue of the disruption from the other guests with our receptionist, who promptly compensated his bill accordingly. He did not bring any other concerns to her attention and she was therefore of the understanding that the issue of the disruption to your night's sleep had been resolved satisfactorily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
501 reviews
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,103 reviews
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing