We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, cannot understand the bad reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As the title says, I'm really puzzled by some of the poor reviews although some comments are comical - the "boxed in" reception area mentioned by one, for example, is a full length desk which has simply been finished off with rounded cornered decor and it's a petty comment at the least. One other reviewer gave everywhere he had stayed in a bad review, maybe he should stay at home? The hotel, which was superbly located as a base for exploring the Lakes, looks appealing from the outside and while some might consider the decor not to modern tastes it is clean and welcoming and it really is a matter of taste - do you really expect real leather furniture throughout in a 3-star? Plenty of parking space and lots of lounge space and tables outside too.

We found ALL the receptionists and staff to be extremely friendly, always smiling and happy to help, not that we needed any. For 3 of the 4 mornings we stayed for breakfast I asked for poached eggs which was never a problem at all and always presented with a smile. We were late down one morning by about 15 minutes - not a problem. The choice and quality of the buffet breakfast - which I prefer personally because you can see what you are getting and choose accordingly - was excellent and thoroughly enjoyable.

We stayed 4 nights in room 116 which had plenty of space even with a child's bed in there. It's the first 3 OR 4 star I have stayed in with a large branded flat-screen TV. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows and an extra blanket. This was a concern initially as we use a Tempur mattress at home as we both have arthritis but we both slept comfortably. There was far more storage space than the three of us (including grandson) needed. Everything including the bathroom was clean and well equipped as was the rest of the hotel. Admittedly on really hot days it could be a little stuffy if I am being picky but you can always open a window or cool down in the superb pool and jacuzzi. There is little in the way of children's activities but it isn't really that sort of hotel.

All in all for a 3-star rated hotel I think it was superb, I have stayed in far worse 4 star hotels in 35 years of travelling and I would have no hesitation whatsoever in staying here again. The main recommendation I would make to hotel management is to curb back the prices. It was a little expensive overall and the meal and bar prices, though not unusually expensive as hotels go (you come to expect it) were dear and sandwiches and children's meal prices WERE over the top. Those prices and somewhat limited menu were the sole reason we chose to eat out each evening, and the reason I only give it 4 out of 5 but other than that I can happily recommend it and we did not speak to anybody who was staying there at the time who were not happy with their stay.

Room Tip: If you want a lot of space we found room 116 to be a very decent sized room. The head of the bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Upon arrival (at 2.30pm) we were informed that our room was not ready... so we took a seat upon the faux leather ( is it pleather?) chesterfield rip off, and hoped that the utter lack of warmth and hospitality was not a portent of things to come. Sadly, this was not to be the case.

The entrance to our room was accessorised with a frayed carpet and a full bin bag (perhaps this thoughtful late addition was what had caused the delay ?) , and the decor brought to mind what people with no taste or imagination, or indeed thought for their guests ' more delicate sensibilities would choose for room. Bits of stick with beads in a toilet brush holder, anyone? . Like being transported to a bad "function " in the eighties and being asked to pay the earth for it.

The highlight? Pubes on the ( synthetic) bedding. the knowledge that my hard earned cash had been utterly wasted on this hideous excuse for a hotel. Honesty, Russian prisons have more by way of charisma and hospitality which to recommend them. To add insult to injury, our room was situated above the kitchens, where an evocative scent of stale chip fat permeated the ( not so fragrant ) air. .And let's not forget it's "stunning "location... set directly by the road, a hum of commuter traffic contributed to the peaceful vibe that was the exact opposite of what a rural idyll was meant to evoke.

Breakfast reminded me of mass catering at it's most tragic; lukewarm eggs slowly expiring in their own oil slicks; perhaps the only sane response to all round miserable dining " experience " . So, to summarise; if you hate food and tasteful surroundings, this is the place for you. compounded by extortionate room rates, and a location that makes travelodges in car parks seem desirable by comparison. Shambles.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWalklate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stonecross Manor Hotel is a very cosy hotel in Kendal. The rooms were fairly spacious and clean. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was also well located with the main town of Kendal a 5 minute drive away. Free wi - fi is also available. The buffet breakfast was excellent and was the highlight of this hotel. Overall very warm and welcoming and one to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atiwary389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The pool area was refurbished earlier this year and looked lovely, but beware who uses it! The terms and conditions state that users must shower before using any of the facilities and between moving from one to the other, for example pool to steam room. Some people either cannot understand English or cannot remember what they have read and signed up to when using the pool area. One would think it only common sense and hygienic to use the shower, but not everyone agrees. Particularly unpleasant when hot sweaty bodies enter the pool from the steam room without showering!! The hotel staff really should make sure everyone one uses the facilities properly.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank 72lizw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed here on business last week as a last minute thing and it is the second time I have stayed this year. It is a safe, friendly hotel with good reception staff. It even has a steam room and pool! The food is good, breakfast is good too. The rooms are nice and quiet, has a lift and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Good all rounder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlandshrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while traveling through the area. It looked very lovely from the outside, a beautiful old stone building. It was very hot and sticky that day and after we were checked into the room, we realized that there was no air conditioning. We asked for a fan and were given a small table fan. As the room was very small, it did help some. It would have been intolerable without it. There was no counter space in the bathroom for your toiletries and the sink was cracked. The bathroom drain was very slow and it appeared that the staff were aware of that fact as they had left the drain plug out and sitting on the side. We travel frequently and this had to be the most uncomfortable bed we have ever "tried" to sleep in. There were springs and lumps pushing out all over the mattress. There were two pillows for each of us so we used the thinnest ones to place between us and that ancient mattress. The worst nights sleep ever. One last annoyance was that although it was stated in the information booklet, there was no paper and envelopes to be found anywhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room #111
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were thrilled to stay here on our wedding anniversary, especially as we had a bad experience the night before in a hotel in Oban. Our dogs were greeted with a biscuit so they were thrilled too! We had a lovely room on the second floor - our first experience of a four posted bed and a bath with bubbles. The room had sofas as well and was very comfortable. We had a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. The bed was very comfortable and we liked the decor of the room. The supper we had, even though we were late arriving, was delicious and quickly arrived for which we were thankful. Breakfast the next morning was very good too and the service at the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front - we could hear the traffic as we had the windows open wide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannahG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
555 reviews
23.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: £59 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing