We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could do better - and think new owner will achieve results”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice but could do better - and think new owner will achieve results”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lady on reception, bar and restaurant staff lovely, friendly and polite, we eat in the restaurant, food was good, presentation could be better, wine selection very good, all in all liked it and would go back to eat.
We stayed in the large 4 poster room, bathroom was dirty, tiling was cracked and grout awfull, mastic was dirty and tied, out side was a huge extractor fan running and yes big smell of cooking in room, TV to small for room.
Room rate a little high, But herd great things about the pool area, and I thought the reception looked great as did the grounds.
Breakfast waitress looked miserible and uninterested, was finishing my breakfast before offered coffee, 1 piece of toast and 1 butter per person !!! eggs horrible, dont put them in a bain cook fresh, was like a frizzbie !!
But I would return as the owner is making some great changes and I sure will address these issues,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    246
    134
    51
    45
See reviews for
74
415
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. I actually won my two night stay this time as a result of filling in a customer survey on my first visit! The staff here are very welcoming and accommodating. Since my last visit, the pool has been refurbished and looks lovely. I didn't have time to use it as I was in the area for my daughter's wedding but my partner spent time there whilst I was busy and said it was lovely. We had a room with a double and single bed on our first night. Unfortunately the double bed creaked every time one of us breathed and we hardly had any sleep. We reported this to reception the next morning and were moved immediately to a room at the top of the building with an enormous king size bed which was so comfortable. There was free wifi in our original room but that did not extend to the second room we had on the top floor. The plumbing was poor on second floor too. Whilst having a shower,the water supply dried up, as someone in a nearby room was also having a shower! The decoration in both rooms looked a little tired although both were spotlessly clean. Breakfast both mornings was good. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, a good selection of cooked breakfast items all being available. Although this review may seem mixed, I would not hesitate in going back again. It's a more traditional hotel than many modern hotels but has a certain charm and character and wonderful staff throughout.

Room Tip: First floor better for plumbing and wifi .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retracenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived and because of a queue, we waited 50 minutes to check in. Not a good start. A lot of people were really annoyed before they'd even put their bags in the room. The rooms were tired and need updating. Breakfast was a similar scenario to check in, we arrived for breakfast at 9.25 and were seated at 9.51 with no apology, there were plenty of tables, just none made. We then told the waiter that there was no food left at the self service buffet to which he replied 'well it is 9.55' and handed us some cold toast

We couldn't wait to leave

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is nice, there has clearly been money spent on the new pool and changing rooms. Howerver the rooms are old and dated. Our room with the four poster bed, has wall paper hanging off and a dirty bathroom. Thank god we won't be spending too long in there. Dinner was VERY good our sever Mano was lovely and catered for our every need and even gave us extra in our deserts ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceMutimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel, the hotel staff were really lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed our meal. The room was adequate, very clean. I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked this hotel so we could attend a family gathering in the local area. The appearance as you drive up to it is great and the reception area with its big leather sofa's and chairs is very welcoming. The room was compact but had everything we needed and offered a wonderful 4 poster bed, a lovely surprise. The leisure facilities are quite new and as such are very modern and clean. The steam room, sauna and pool with its massage jets were just what we needed and the individual changing rooms were great. Check out was at 11am on Sunday which gave us time for a swim before the buffet breakfast which again we couldn't fault. They even had decaf coffee and tea and gluten free bread! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends. The rate was the same as the premier inn but included breakfast and parking was no issue at all.

Room Tip: Book in advance - there were no vacancies when we arrived so we were glad we did. Did get some disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Ideally situated and a lovely old building. The staff are welcoming and friendly but the hotel desperately needs a few thousand pounds of investment.
The room was spartan and certainly over priced.
The furniture was battered and well worn. There was one small 1970's picture in the room.
Towels were threadbare. No towels in reception to enable use of the swimming pool.
The pillows were at best 1cm deep
It was difficult to sleep because you can hear everything in the adjoining rooms
The pointing in the bathroom was chipped and the taps loose on the hand wash basin....I could go on about the room, but you get the idea.
The food in the restaurant was slightly above average. The presentation was very good.
In summary this could be a great hotel with a little investment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing