We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night, in a four poster room. I paid £85BB and to be fair it's great value for money. Yes the rooms are dated, but that is out weighted by the cleanliness, nice clean smelling linen and towels and the friendly staff, great breakfast and really nice leisure facilities. For the price I paid which includes breakfast, parking and use of the pool I was more than happy. There is also a really lovely pub only 5mins walk away that I had one of the best meals I've had in ages, perfect base and location, I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Eat at Romney just around the corner, excellent food and great value beautiful meal and nice atmosph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    244
    134
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
415
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Traditionally decorated hotel now looking slightly tired in places. Double bedroom was a decent size and well furnished; comfortable bed; modern bathroom suite. All areas very clean and tidy. Staff helpful and friendly. Parking plentiful, Short 10-15 minute walk into Kendal. Hot and cold breakfast buffet with waiter service for tea/coffee/toast. £106 for double room for one evening is a little pricey but there are additional facilities such as an indoor swimming pool if you want to avail yourself of those facilities.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from a main road and therefore there is not much noise in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreavesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for just one night, very friendly @ reception, nice clean room & excellent service and food offering in the restaurant. Imaginative menu using local produce. Ultra helpful night porter who arranged continental breakfast as had an early start next morning. Well worth a visit or just try the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
(private)
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I went there on a saturday night and we asked to book a room, the man on the service center/ reception the man was extremely nice towards my family and i, he gave us the key and we were on our way
The room was immaculate and the bed was amazing although it was a bit expensive it was worth it. Everyone was very friendly the staff in the restaurant was very polite too it was great experience and i would love to revisit some time when the weather is nice

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have spent the last 10 weeks nipping across the road into the hotel to eat, drink and use the pool facilities as whilst we are in UK we reside in our RV. All the staff have been very friendly, including the management and owner. The food is excellent and value for money; the bar a little expensive but you expect that as it is a hotel. The new leisure facilities are much superior and all in all we will return next year. I cannot comment re the rooms but Rome was not built in a day. However I can comment that my mother held my father's funeral tea here and the food, hot buffet and cold buffet was superb, again as were the staff and management who looked after and treated my mother ( and myself) with compassion. Particularly appreciate that they allow dogs into the bar area.

Room Tip: As mentioned we cannot comment on sleep/rooms other than the ground floor. Usual wear and tear whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsy1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ash777_12
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

nice hotel but little bit expensive anyway but services was very nice reception staff lovely and friendly, we eat in the restaurant everything. things was good restaurant staff was very polity
i would like to visit again great place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Dreadful, filthy room, filthy furniture, filthy carpets, dead flies and wasps on window sills. Dirty bath, torn bath towels. Filthy scatter cushions on bed. I researched for hours to find a lovely hotel with a pool for our second night stay in the Lake District. First night was Wateredge Inn in Ambleside, lovely. Stonecross Manor's website is extremely misleading. It looks beautiful which is why I booked a suite with a kingsize 4 poster bed and jaccuzzi bath. As soon as we got to the stairs I realised something was wrong, when I walked in to the room my heart sank, it took me back to my youth and bedsit land in London although those bedsits were cleaner than this hotel room. It was 4.30pm and we had to stay somewhere but I could not have sat on this furniture or slept in the bed although I checked that the sheets were clean, I was astonished that the place could be such a polar opposite to the advertising. I explained to the very nice receptionist (only good thing about the hotel) that the room was very dirty, I asked if there were any better, cleaner, more modern rooms, she said no but showed me another room on the 3rd floor which was just a smaller virsion of the awful one we had booked. I said that I didn't want to cause offence but I couldn't stay in this hotel, I said I had researched it thoroughly and it didn't look like this. I asked if there were any hotels down the road that might be better - she telephoned the Castle Green hotel - she seemed to know the staff there, my feeling is that I am not the first person to refuse to stay there. Castle Green is the only 4 star in Kendal. I am not a snob, all I wanted was what was advertised and this was not it. They should be pulled up by Trading Standards for false advertising. My advice is don't go there, it isn't even cheap. I paid the same price £125.00 for the very large twin room at Castle Green hotel. I would repeat, the receptionist was very nice and helpful in finding us alternative accommodation but we shouldn't have had to go elsewere.

Room Tip: if you want a good room go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dottypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing