We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing pool and spa area, good, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
rossendale, lancs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing pool and spa area, good, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, contrasting old fashioned decor, cutting edge spa facilities with relaxed, friendly and helpful service. We were on a dinner bed and breakfast package with small children and their friendly flexibility and understanding of our needs was amazing - only 1 bad point. - some guests had brought big dogs, and did not have them on a lead in the corridor, terrifying our 5 year old who was knocked over and scratched - not the hotels fault but all hotels allowing dogs should emphasise and reinforce a requirement to keep dogs on leads. Examples of Service: my mum wanted a starter off the lunch menu with a sauce from a different dish and this was no problem. Example of facilities - the pook area is recently done and offers private room changing facilities with luxury toiletries and power showers. Immaculate!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    240
    131
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
409
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was disappointed when I first walked into the hotel as reception is not really very welcoming and décor is old fashioned. The bedroom was very dated, the window had a lot of condensation in the morning and paying extra for a four poster bed wasn't worth it. The bedding was not very good quality either. We were there for the gala dinner/dance which was very good, well organised and the food was excellent but as 1 reviewer said the 2 men on the disco looked bored and only played the music while looking at the computer screen. The food is the best part of this hotel, breakfast and evening meals are very good but there is not much atmosphere in the public areas. The pool area is nice but very small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarG1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A party of five of us booked a table for the New Years Eve meal and disco later,do they still call them disco's?
We ordered our food far in advance from the menu's sent us, after a couple changes to their set menu we were ready for the night.
The staff were helpful capable and pleasant and the food good well at least my choice was.A couple of the non meat eaters described their mains as being "too sweet" and was seemingly laced with honey which didn't go down too well.However a change was made to one of the diners meals and this was more suitable to the pallet.
The meal came and went without any further problems and was extremely good value and a pleasant experience.
Our only nit? The disco guys really needed to interact with the guests and judge their audience more.Having spent many years in a similar job it was obvious that many of the songs were unsuitable for the catchment.Having said this they were certainly up for playing songs our table and a couple of others requested.
All in all a good evening and a promise of a return visit later in the year for another meal

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnvaughan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on New Year's Eve. Overall good hotel and nice location and I would recommend for kendal. Positive points- spacious clean rooms, lovely hot and cold buffet breakfast, really nice spa with pool, jacuzzi, massage jets, steam room and gorgeous changing rooms! Negative points- reception staff could be a bit more welcoming and a bit quicker to attend, the hotel is a 15 min walk from town centre but it's a nice walk, the paint was coming off the bottom of the bath which I noticed a soon as I walked in but rooms otherwise very good . We got a deal for £99 on booking.com but I think for the normal price of £120, it could do with smartening rooms up and a bit of staff training to make them more efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffdudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,155 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Stonecross Manor is a nice hotel, conveniently situated on the main road into Kendal. I have not stayed there, as I have a home in Kendal, but the public rooms are comfortable and well appointed and the food and service is of a high standard. There is also excellent onsite parking.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel and cannot praise it enough. The staff are so efficient and so friendly, such a nice change, they couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent and presented really well. Rooms were fantastic clean and really comfortable. The pool, Jacuzzi and heat room were an added bonus. Cannot praise it enough, will definitely be visiting again

Room Tip: We were in 211 on the side of the hotel near the road, but didn't notice any traffic noise at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Visited for the first time 25/12/13 for Christmas Lunch. The venue was very attractive and the service was brilliantly organised. The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive.
The food was excellent, particularly the game pate and seafood timbale. The turkey main course was very succulent and served with a good range of vegetables. I cannot rate this establishment too highly and will certainly visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing