We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT DEAL AND A WONDERFUL STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Goosnargh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT DEAL AND A WONDERFUL STAY”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Stonecross using the Travelzoo offer, bed, breakfast, evening meal , cream tea and Kendal mint cake, what an offer, excellent value for money
The hotel is only a few mintes drive out of Kendal, a really lovely little town, sadly it poured down all day but we still enjoyed a look around
the cream tea was delicious with warm scones and a glass of presseco, just want we needed
The room was wonderful, with a hugh king size four poster bed, cornet jacuzzi bath, the room is a little dated, but very clean, comfortable and warm.
The evenign meal was delicious, the only fault is there was no vegetarian option, when i asked the waiter he said there was no vegetairan meal, which was Ok, i am not a red meat eater so opted for the nice chicken dish, the wine was £16 a bottle, very good and very reasonable.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay, i would recommend it and would go back again, these deals are real bargains. We did not use the leisure facilties but they were there is we would have wished to. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    243
    134
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
414
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

All the staff were friendly & helpful. We had room 110, king size four poster, quite a big room & a really comfy bed. Food in the evening was really good, we had a slight problem with the food & the chef came straight out to us to rectify it. Pool, jacuzzi & steam room really nice to use. Breakfast food slightly disappointing as buffet style so only warm but good quality items.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daneed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Chose this hotel as it allowed our little dog. We were soaked to the skin from walking in torrential rain and the staff were great in taking our wet gear and drying it in the boiler room. Food was superb and the pool, steam room and Jacuzzi was just the job for tired bones. There was a wedding on so we felt a bit in the way but the staff were patient and very helpful to get us served with food and drink amidst the chaos of the party going on around us. One lady especially was super helpful and we thanked her but didn't get her name. You know who you are. Rooms OK but little tired and need a lick of paint and silicone etc in the bathroom. Thanks for a great time. Good real ale. Wainwright Ale kept very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenashbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked this trip via a Travelzoo special offer. I have done quite a few Travelzoo special offers and this is one of my most enjoyable ones and excellent value for money.

On arrival we had cream tea with hot scones which was yummy.
Pool, steam room and sauna were lovely. Shower/changing rooms spotless and it was made more enjoyable and fun because we were the only ones in there :).

Room included a 4 poster bed which again was clean and of good standard. View from room not brilliant but as other reviews have stated this hotel is located on quite a busy road.

Evening meal was of good standard with lovely staff especially our friendly waiter Mano who went that extra mile with his excellent service and a real credit to the hotel.

Would definitely book this hotel again especially on a Travelzoo deal as it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a last minute break at Stonecross Manor for two nights, over New Year. Although we had booked a classic room, were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The room was huge with a four poster bed, a living area and a double bath. It was a little old fashioned but I didn't mind this as I like older buildings to retain their character. The hotel is close to the main road but this didn't bother us either, in fact it was nice to be able to arrive so quickly. The two best things about the hotel are the new spa and the food.
We did happen to see a classic room next to ours, when it was being cleaned, and I'm not sure we would have been so impressed for what we paid had we not been upgraded.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Europeangirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On arrival at hotel, there was an error with the booking made over the telephone. The confirmation had not been followed through and reception had not completed our booking. Thankfully there was room for us and we were allocated a room.

We had upgraded to a four poster room. The room was very disappointing to say the least. It must be noted I am a very positive person and do not like to criticise. The bathroom had lots of mould and damaged tiles, the inside shower/bath mat was disgusting.

Turning to the room itself. The heating was lovely but the actual room was full of damp and mould. We were shocked to find the sheets were dirty and my pillow had blood on it. We had to ask twice for the bed to be changed. The mattress was rock hard and impossible for us both to sleep on. I can only draw a likening to the rocks up helvellyn are softer than the mattress.

Breakfast was lovely and the evening meals in the restaurant were pleasant. Service was also good too.

We had a lovely afternoon in the pool/jacuzzi and also a lovely massage from Jenny.

I have said the hotel is average. Only the service at the restaurant/bar, pool and treatments pulled this up from poor.

Room Tip: Shop around we have stayed in lovely hotels in the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a 1 night break via travelzoo which included a meal, glass of prosecco and cream tea.
The food was amazing! Seriously the nicest meal I've had in a long time. Homemade warm scone with cream and jam on arrival was also superb. Our waiter Mano was lovely and very funny; he genuinely seemed to care about our food choices and that we enjoyed our meal. We did thankyou! Very much so. Breakfast was also lovely and plentiful. The spa area was an unexpected treat; very modern and I believe recently refurbished. The room itself was ok; quite tired decor and dated; it was clean and tidy though. The staff were friendly and welcoming and I would stay again (and I'm fussy!) it was a funny blend really; modern and stylish in parts and old fashioned and dated in others. A little confusing perhaps. The four poster bed we had creaked badly and woke me up as I turned over in my sleep, but on the whole a good hotel and good nights sleep. The quality of food and spa were too notch. I think if they brought the rooms/bar up to a more modern, quality and sleek standard; this would be a truly first class hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing