We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great relaxing escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Arrived dather late after the usual traffic on the M40, M42 and then the maddness of the giant car park THE M6. Receptionist really friendly upon arival and the hotel was rather busy with friendly staff throughout which helped us settle in. The rooms require some TLC and only minor bits and pieces like the bathroom cieling need re-painting and things like the toilet seat needed tightening up but we've stayed in far worse for more money. The hot breakfast was self service served in banmaries, with plenty of choice on offer including cerial, fruit and juices. The following day we used the SPA facilities - WOW that was a real hidden gem and really finished off the weekend being able to relax. In all there is car parking in abundance which you dont have to pay for (now thats a bonus for Kendal) and the leisure facilities are exceptional, the Staff and the food is great - Will stop there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbetweeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    240
    131
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
408
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stay here last weekend on a Travelzoo deal, it was advertised as the wow factor, when we entered our room, which was a King Four Poster room it was far from a WOW, it was a small tiered room with old chipped furniture and what look like black mould on the walls and ceiling, which when we complained about they did come with a cloth and some bleach and wipe the walls and ceiling, why that had not been done prior to our arrival I do not know as you couldn't miss it. The King Four poster was the noisiest most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in so both my husband and I didn't have a good nights sleep, there was no mirror on dressing table and the hairdryer was on the opposite wall to the mirror. There was paint peeling off the walls, nothing that a lick of paint wouldn't sort out
on the plus side the staff and the food where excellent. Although the deal included a bottle of wine if you dined there on the 2nd night, which we did but didn't receive our bottle of wine
I did fill our a feed back form then email my comments to the hotel, but they have not responded to my email, which I see no reason for them not to, but I have noticed that they do not respond to any of the comments on here be they good or bad. I would eat there again but until its had some TLC I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid room 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Met my parents for a birthday meal and wanted to stay for a couple of drinks after dinner. The staff started closing the bar around us at dinner and told us the bar was shut at 10.40 with no notice. We were asked to move into the lounge just before 11 and then told to leave at 11 as they wanted to close and turn the lights out.
I've stayed in Christian youth hostels that are more accommodating to people wanting a drink and would expect a warmer welcome for £100 a night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here from the 19th February to the 21st. We purchased a travelzoo deal which turned out to be fantastic value.
We had 2 children and 2 dogs in tow, the hotel was very accommodating throughout from our initial booking through to our departure.
Our initial instinct from the service from checking was good, the receptionist was warm and friendly, she made conversation with us and made us feel very welcome. We had booked rooms 215 and 216, which were both adequate in size and facilities. We had a tea/coffee tray which was replenished everyday. The rooms do look a little tired but nothing that a lick of paint wouldn't sort out. If you are looking for somewhere comfy to get your head down after a day walking on the fell or meandering around the lakes this hotel is a great little find.
We had the four poster bed room, the only criticism I have is that the bed is really squeaky every twist/ turn is heard. The showers in the rooms are AMAZING, these are the ultimate power showers.
The pool, jacuzzi and steam room are fantastic. We have stayed in a few 4 & 5 star hotels with very good spa facilities, I must admit Stonecross Manor Spa could give them a run for their money. I was very surprised to find such facilities in a 3* hotel. The Spa opening times are from 6am-9pm so nice long hours for all to enjoy. The children loved the pool, we were the only ones using the facilities during the late afternoon and mid morning.
Our Travelzoo offer gave us a 3 course meal on the first evening, we did not expect very much in terms of quality, however we were impressed with the presentation and the standard of cooking. So much so we asked for the recipe of their home-made cheesecake. Most of their dishes are home-made if I recall. The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and always fresh fruit on offer.
All the staff were local and were able to recommend places to go. We were very impressed with the standard of customer service delivered by the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Again, I might be a little naive but I did not expect the level of service we received. Some of the 5* hotels I have previously stayed in could learn a thing or two from the staff here.
In conclusion, this hotel is a great little find. If you are looking for somewhere to unwind after a day in the lakes and if you are not overly fussed about the rooms looking a little tired but fully functional and want to feel welcomed then this is the place for you, The Spa facilities are amazing, the hotel also have a drying room for wet boots/ clothes after walks on the fells which is a huge bonus.
We are planning our return back to Stonecross Manor again within the next couple of months.

Room Tip: We had rooms 216 which had a double and a single and 215 which had the squeaky four poster. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anwen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is adequate although a little tied in places. We received a very friendly welcome and following some reviews I read, I asked for a quiet room with views. We had a four poster bed but the mattress was thin and lumpy and the bed creaked and woke us up with every turn. There was no dressing table mirror near the hairdryer and no plug socket near the only mirror in the room.(112)

Having said all that we had a very pleasant stay, for which, we got a travel zoo voucher which included meals, the meals were very good, very attentive service. I wouldn't pay full price here. The leisure facilities are excellent which more than makes up for the disappointing little things. It is after all a 3 star hotel not a 5 star as some reviewers seem to have expected but not paid for!

Room Tip: 112 is quiet but creaky lumpy bed and no mirror on dressing table
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here again for two nights over Valentines. Excellent staff, so pleasant and the place has a great cosy atmosphere. Food is great, pool and sauna are just the job after a days walking and breakfast is spot on.
Four poster rooms are good although one might argue a little small in some respects but all in all, we love this place for its independent, homely friendly style and long may it last.
Romneys pub nearby is good as well for beer and grub but dont let that stop you having a meal and a drink at Stonecross either!
Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Everything from the ambiance, food and especially the staff was fantastic. We are both well traveled and were amazed at the quality of the food. The evening meal was superb. As a three star hotel it lived up to and exceeded expectations - the chef though is worthy of five stars!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing