We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this lovely little hotel taking advantage of a travel zoo voucher and it was exactly as we expected. The room was as clean and the bed comfy and we both slept well. The pool was an added bonus but what suprised us both was the food. As guests 'on a deal' we never felt that there was any compromise on either quality or presentation. The staff were attentive and friendly. It was a delight to stay here and we will definitely return and also recommend to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    247
    134
    51
    45
See reviews for
74
417
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you are looking for a pristine, spotless, soul less hotel don't come here! If like us, you appreciate the friendliness and down to earth attitude of good staff who clearly enjoy their work, respect and admire their boss who on running a privately owned small hotel in hard economic times, offers excellent value without compromising on quality, then here is the place to stay. We had the pleasure of meeting Dennis the lab who was acting night porter and yes the bed creaked like mad but hey ho, it was fun trying to be quiet! Thanks for a great stay!x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fieldhouse4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with friends for one night 8/3/14 .
We booked a travel zoo deal that inc DBB.
The hotel is dated the rooms were in need of decorating they both smelled of stale smoke the window nearly fell off when we tried to open it and the mattress on the bed was so old and lumpy we could hardly sleep!
The food was good but the service was poor all young kids my husband asked for an expresso after the meal to which we all overheard the waitress say "just tell him the coffee machines brick and give him filter" nice!!
Breakfast : the food was good again but more couldn't be bothered kids serving.

The pool looked out of place obviously the only thing new but sadly didn't get time to use it, couldn't wait to get out of the stale room.
Needless to say we won't return which is such a shame for such a beautiful hotel that we had happy memories of this hotel from 15 years ago.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeep24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Some of the reviews say then hotel is looking a bit tired, which I agree with, although I found it clean and tidy.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food reasonable and the pool area probably the best part of the hotel, although the towels provided weren't the best.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

looked lovely from the from but once inside this hotel is showing its age , really needs a good make over with wall paper hanging off wals and even a cigarette holder in the toilets , the room its self was very dated with shabby wall paper and mouldy tiles , then the night receptionist who was tallying up bar recipts at the bar was very rude , i asked for some lemonaide in a drink to be ignored i then asked again to be told " i heard you the first time " not the attitude to have for customers , the only good thing about this place was the food , i for one would not go back it was batreable with the decor but the total ignorance of that woman gave the whole weekend a bad taiste , best avoided , there must be better hotel in kendal

Room Tip: try a different hotel if you like a nice hotel this is NOT it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing trip away together, and the pictures of this hotel looked really nice so we booked a room for two nights. The photographs are very deceptive as it is right on a main road with views of nothing but the car park, and the decor is old fashioned and tired. We arrived in our room to find it hadn't been cleaned and were welcomed by a blocked toilet full of poo which made the room smell like a sewage plant rather than a hotel.
After being transferred to a semi-satisfactory new room, we discovered we were lacking in the towel department, ie 1 between 2... exhausting! The next morning we were misinformed about the breakfast times which led to us arriving at a deserted breakfast room.
We were offered an apology and a late microwaved solitude breakfast.
The worst thing about all of this was that the staff seemed to lack concern and contrition for what was a very bad experience. No discount was offered either, which meant the whole experience was very very disappointing.
DON'T waste your money here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed with this hotel . Looked very nice from the outside and we were not disappointed on going inside.Lovely reception, restaurant and bar area. Our room 112 was lovely with a four poster bed which was very comfortable. Very nice bathroom with toiletries supplied, tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits replenished each day. The indoor pool area was fantastic, heated pool, steam room and Jacuzzi - pool towels also supplied. The staff were very helpful especially on reception. We had evening meal one night and this was of very good quality and lovely presented. The bar area was very quiet though . Breakfast was very good, buffet style with a good variety of cereals, fruit and yoghurt and also freshly cooked bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc . I cant understand the negative comments on here about this hotel as it is really good value for money and although it is classed as a 3 star hotel I would say 4 star would be more appropriate. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
489 reviews
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing