We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic afternoon tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Kendal
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent the afternoon at the hotel enjoying afternoon tea. Fabulous range of sandwiches and cakes. We weren't able to finish it all so the staff kindly offered to wrap up what we couldn't manage And we got to take it home. Lovely relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahbananalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    240
    131
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
408
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Me and my partner recently stayed in this hotel as a birthday present from my mum. The rooms were in desperate need of updating, as the furniture was very shabby and worn and we actually requested to be moved from our original room as the window and wardrobe were broken, there was mould around the bath and the bin hadn't been emptied. The man who met us on arrival at reception was quite rude and not very pleasant, but the rest of the staff were polite and friendly. The food was excellent and definitely made up for the poor standard of accommodation. You would also think judging by the pictures on the website that the hotel stood alone in a quiet location, when in fact it is stood on a main road in the middle of a housing estate with poor views! Disappointing stay overall. The sooner they open a premier inn the better!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Henderson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed the night of our golden wedding party , with family from America. The rooms are spacious very clean & bath room spotless. Staff very friendly & cannot do enough for you . Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice. We had a wonderful time .

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vfwoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal cumbria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just celebrated my 70th birthday with a family meal.It was excellent the portions are a good size, I had lamb which wS beautifully cooked it came with loads of different vegs. We were a group of 10 and everyone enjoyed it, It is exceptional value at 2 courses for £10.25. The only thing I could mention which was strange was that we were served coffee in cups with no saucers. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I have just had a two night stay in this hotel. We had a lovely stay hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. We were particularly impressed with the spa area pool, jacuzzi and steam room were very nice and modern. We also paid for a massage each which was amazing the masseuse Jenny was brilliant and would highly recommend her. The only slight criticism I have was we stayed in a 4 poster bed which was uncomfortable and also very noisy, It creaked every time myself or my husband turned over which resulted in waking us both up quite a lot but apart from that we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerdy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well that was a good stay for us veggies, staff brilliant, so helpful and friendly, the rooms clean, the whole experience needs to be repeated.

My evening meal was ample and really tasty, as is very often the case it didn't leave me needing to go and make a sandwich afterwards, breakfast was as good, finding me a couple of veggie sausages to go with what was already a really good breakfast..

Veggies go there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to Scotland taking advantage of a Travelzoo offer. We cannot really fault any area of our stay; all the staff from reception through to the bar/restaurant were all friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The pool was lovely and warm. The restaurant had an interesting menu and the food looked and tasted superb including the veggie option. Breakfast was a real treat with very efficient service despite it being really busy and when we said one of us was a vegetarian immediately offered some veggie sausages. I would highly recommend this hotel and if we are ever in the area again would happily stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,064 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing