We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic/outdated - depends how you look at it ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rustic/outdated - depends how you look at it ...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

booked through TravelZoo for my mum as a birthday present. for £95 for a stay with a Queen 4 poster bed, dinner and high tea - it was a good buy! in a GORGEOUS area, with views for miles, especially if you have a front facing room, which we did. it is very rustic, which some people can view as old & outdated. the floors & beds are quite creaky but it all adds to the feel of the place. room was HUGE & bathroom was big enough. bathroom could've done with new shower curtain/regrouting but i hardly noticed it without closer inspection. the service at dinner with a little OVER-zealous (this coming from a waitress of 5 years - 2 of which has been at a 4* chain hotel) but he was trying very hard & seemed to be only him with a fair few tables. breakfast was nice in the morning, good yummy food/selection, but the waitress was too busy chatting in the back to sit us down/acknowledge us quickly (you can see through to the kitchen from the door) & she gave us the wrong hot drinks in the end! she was polite though. it was very easy to find on the SatNav & i was made aware that the leisure facilities had recently been refurbed, but unfortunately we didnt have time to look. the hotel as a whole would benefit from this same refurb as it is a little outdated, but DO NOT LOSE THE RUSTIC AUTHENTIC HOMELY FEEL!

Room Tip: get one front facing - ours was just above the front entrance. views of the mountains are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaraLoganCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    246
    134
    51
    45
See reviews for
74
415
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My partner & I booked Stonecross for 2 nights at the last minute through Superbreak. It is well situated for visiting Kendal & the surrounding areas, on a main road although there is no road noise. The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful throughout our stay. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was delicious. Breakfast also went down well, especially with my partner! Our room was nice, with a king size four poster bed which was more comfy than we anticipated. Fantastic powerful shower. The pool area is clean, with a small pool, lovely jacuzzi & small steam
room. The massage jets in the pool are very powerful & hit the spot on tired shoulders! The only real fault we could find is that the rooms could do with a lick of paint & some tlc. We would definitely visit Stonecross again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MissD2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stonecross Manor had so much going for it when I booked the hotel. We stayed for one night and were dealt with fine at arrival and went up to our room. The hotel appears to be in need of an overhaul, with quite dated decor and furnishings, and a musty smell around the place. The bathroom appeared a little unclean as well.

Being quite tired from a long day travelling we decided to go to the bar for something to eat instead of having to go in to town. I love steak and have never left the best part of a steak before on my plate, but left this one - there was a sour taste to it and although it was cooked fine I wasn't happy to eat it. I said to the waitress that I believed the steak was "on the turn" and she apologised and said she'd tell the chef, but never came back with any explanation and I still paid for the full meal. I wasn't offered a discount or anything.

Once in bed at night, it turned out there was a huge gap under the door and the light from the hallway shone under the door the entire night meaning not the best sleep. I can't say I was overly impressed by the breakfast either.

On leaving I expected the receptionist to ask how our stay was but just charged me the extra for the meal and sent us on our way.

This hotel really could have so much going for it but is quite disappointing. I've paid less for a hotel when I've had better service, a cleaner room and a better sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

LANCASHIRE
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from a night away with my husband. Hotel is lovely. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. We had a fantastic view from our room and would stay again. Location is great for kendal although we thought it is to far to walk into the center but taxi only 4 pound. We didnt use the restaurant only for breakfast which was good. Buffet style. We used the pool which was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEX08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The words that come to mind is Faulty Towers!
We paid for a four poster bed room to celebrate my 50th birthday.
On arrival the hotel looks lovely from the outside but is actually really shabby inside.
The carpets are dirty, the stairs have loose carpet which is a trip hazard.
The hallways are marked and crybaby looking.
The door to the room had not even been painted, it just had undercoat on it and was dirty and marked.
The furniture in the room was chipped, marked and very Shabby.
The toilet when flushed made a loud noise.
Tiles cracked in bathroom.
Towels old and tatty.
Windows hard to open and in need of painting, walls marked and dirty Etc.
At this point we thought it was only for one night, we would use the facilities and leave early.
Off to the pool for some relaxation.
We had to get towels from reception, they had none, we had to wait for the receptionist to find some, she didn't sign us in because we had waited long enough. We went into the pool area which on first impressions looked lovely, there is very little changing facilities. Once changed we headed for the pool which was stone cold, the walls of the pool were that dirty I could write my name in the dirt, we then went in the Hot tub which once again was cold and had a good six inches of crime around the edge- I would have expected the receptionist to warn us that the pool was cold, It did not happen?

Breakfast was basic and we had to ask for everything, I'm still waiting for toast.

Terrible hotel would not recommend it at all.
The room cost £144.00 for B&B for one night, I refused to pay the full amount and Paid £75.00 - I still feel this is far too much for the quality received.

This hotel has 3AA starts - I think this need reassessing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington Cheshire.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are courteous and pleasant and the accomodation is fine, we stayed in room 214, it's worth asking for. If I have one gripe about the hotel it is the restaurant, this a lovely restaurant surrounded by chimneys on a busy main road with about thirty covers and there were six to ten people in the restaurant both nights that we were there. If that were one of my restaurants there would be at least a four week waiting list. The food was at best mediocre, to much sauce and frozen chips masqueraing as chunky chips, six to ten people on a weekend evening and the chefs have to serve ready made frozen chips? The restaurant should be a MAJOR earner for the hotel but it will never be until someone takes control of the kitchen.

Room Tip: Need to be quite fit if you are staying here to visit Kendal, it is really on the outskirts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmurphypsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel and I cannot praise it enough, the food is of the highest standard and the staff are beyond belief in the way they carry out their duties added to this very comfortable beds (we stayed in room 101) that has a fantastic view. This was definitely the most pleasurable and relaxing break we have had for a long time and we look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Room 101 nice sized twin room on the 1st floor next to lift with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing