We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little expensive, but lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little expensive, but lovely”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Great location, easy to find, even in the dark :-)

Arrived very late, not a problem at all. Room was lovely, 4 poster bed and a flat screen TV, and all you need for a weekend away. My one little moan. Mould in the bathroom, not very attractive.

Breakfast was superb, all you could want to eat, hot and cold.

Didnt see much of the staff as we were out all the time but what we did see of them they were great.

One regret was not trying the restaraunt. We went into Kendal and there isnt many decent places to eat in the town. The food at the hotel looked incredible.

Thankyou Wifey for my birthday treat x x x

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJoinersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
Dear JoinersUK

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and while we strive to offer the highest level of standards and service it is only through comments such as yours that we can truly gauge the actual standards being offered.

Please be assured that I have taken your comment regarding the mould in the bathroom very seriously and have addressed this with our housekeeping staff.

I truly hope that we can welcome you back to Stonecross Manor Hotel in the future so that you are able to enjoy the fresh local cuisine that we offer in our restaurant.

Many thanks and best regards

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    243
    134
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
414
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a really enjoyable stay in May,in fact we enjoyed it so much we again to stay in August but this time with two of our children.
This stay was even better and I can't praise the staff highly enough for their running of the hotel,everything was A1 from the standard and cleanliness of the rooms to the delicious breakfasts and evening meals.
Our children loved the pool and also found the staff to be very friendly.
We will certainly be going back next year for what I'm sure will another thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2009
Dear Hooper68

Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and that your children enjoyed the pool so much. Thank you for once again posting your review on tripadvisor and everyone is looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kindest Regards

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here for one night on the way to Windermere as we couldn't find a room for just a saturday night in Windermere itself. On arrival, we were treated more as an inconvenience than a guest as we'd arrived at 10am and the person on reception seemed to assume this mean't we wanted to check in. All we wanted to do was leave our bags, which we were able to do. When we did come back to check in, service was better from the person on reception, but no offer of help was made for our bags, and we were shown to the lift which has a lot of graffiti inside it, and is not a great first impression. The room itself was compact, but very clean and nicely furnished. Wallpaper a bit lacklustre in parts, but the hot powerful shower redeemed it. On the whole, quite average. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but at breakfast the next morning, found that hot food was not out at the set time, no plates were ready, and as we were in a rush, had to wait for a good 10 minutes for those to appear. We were never offered any hot drinks and didn't wait to ask as we were in a hurry. When we came to pay the bill, it was completely wrong and had around £50 extra of other peoples' food orders on it, which we were luckily not charged for and the error corrected.
On the whole, the place could be made so much better just by having staff who were smiling, helpful, and organised. The whole place had an air of incompetence which marred the experience. The waitering staff at breakfast were all quite young lads who looked rather lost to say the least!
All in all, not what I'd expect for £110 per night, and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank span474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2009
Dear span474

What a disappointment to read that so many things went wrong with your stay! Please be assured that this is not our normal standard of service and I have addressed the issues that you pointed out with the appropriate staff.

We do normally receive many compliments for the efficiency and friendliness of the team which is why it disappoints me so much that you did not receive their normal high standards on this occasion.

It is such a shame that you did not have the time to advise me or one of my management team upon departure of your experience so that we could rectify the situation for you, but I understand from your response that you were in a hurry.

Please don't let this experience deter you from using Stonecross Manor Hotel in the future and should you wish to consider staying with us again, please make yourself known to me or my management team so that we can personally ensure you experience our normal high standards of friendly service.

Many thanks for your feedback and best wishes. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

From beginning to end we couldnt fault The Stonecrass Manor. We stayed here for our anniversary and The Manor made the occasion even more magical than we could have imagined. I had phoned the Manor the day before to organise a surprise bouquet to be put in the room for my girlfriend and she was ecstatic when she opened the door of our room. Thankyou Stonecross Manor.
When we arrived at the Manor our check in was very easy and the member of staff was very friendly and welcoming. She was very informative and helpful. We stayed in a double room and it had everything we needed. The bathroom was fantastic and the power shower really gets our seal of approval.
Once we had unpacked we went downstairs to the hotel bar and got ourselves a drink. There was a wedding at the Manor that day but we were still made to feel very important and the bar staff were great. We had our drinks in the Manors lovely front garden area as it was such a lovely day and then we ventured into Kendall.
We returned a few hours later and got ready for our evening meal which we had booked earlier in the day. The restaurant was quite busy but had a lovely atmosphere and our meal was simply beautiful. I had the peppered steak which was devine and my girlfriend had the duck which she thouroughly enjoyed. We had the house red which was really nice. The restaurant staff were really friendly and gave excellent service. After our meal we retired to the lobby were we had a few drinks. The wedding was still in full swing but didnt disturb our relaxing evening.
We attended breakfast quite late the next morning but there was still plenty on offer and the standard of the food was very high. We enjoyed a full cooked breakfast with refreshing fruit juices and a lovely pot of tea. We checked out at 11am and with regret we didnt have enough time to enjoy the Manor pool and spa area. We did go and have a look on our way out and it looked very inviting and fun.
Overall we loved our stay at The Stonecross Manor and hope to visit again some day soon. Top Marks Stonecross! Thankyou to all who made our anniversary weekend that bit more special. Andrew and Katie.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esskarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
Dear Andrew and Katie

It was with great pleasure that I read your very complimentary review of your recent stay at Stonecross Manor Hotel.

We do strive to give the best possible service and hopefully exceed our guests expectations at all times, but it is only through feedback from our guests that we can truly gauge the actual level of our delivery. I therefore appreciate very much the time and effort you have put into writing the review, which has been passed on to all of the staff to read.

Once again, thank you very much and I hope that we can welcome you back to Stonecross Manor in the near future. Kind Regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2009

OK. The redeeming factors are that this hotel has very strong showers. It also has a small swimming pool (although changing facilities are meagre, so be prepared to change quickly and stay wet!)

Its failings: staffing levels appaling: service poor and lacklustre throughout - had to ask for additional coffee at breakfast. The receptionist seems to be the jack of all trades - barman, leisure centre attendant etc.

Dinner was appalling: lamb was severely overcooked, roast potatoes strangely soggy and fat laden (deep fried we think) and catering for vegetarians was non existent, In the year 2009 I was offered pasta bake. The only vegetarian option? Come on guys! It was VILE. The desert (sold as home-made) was a plastic, gelatinous horror - if it was home made the chef has some particularly unique skills.

Sorry to say, it was expensive and outdated - good service might have redeemed it, but beyond redemption i think. Sadly i can't rate lower than 1 for service or value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Ginsta

I was terribly disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay with us in May.

Having been previously unaware of your complaint I was further disappointed to realise upon investigation that you had not brought your concerns to our attention during your stay so that we could rectify this at the time. I understand that people do not always find it easy to make a complaint face to face and our reception log, which is used to log guest’s comments at check out does not indicate that you did. However understanding that this can be a problem for people, we also offer other avenues for our guests to comment on their stay, such as our visitors book located at reception and our guest questionnaires which are placed in each bedroom.

We do this because we are committed to offering our guests the best possible experience and take their feedback very seriously, in particul any feedback that may be of a negative nature.

While we strive to give the best possible standards of service and quality of food, we realise that we don’t always get it 100% right and in such rare cases we do endeavour to do our utmost to make it right at the time so that our guests can relax and continue to enjoy the rest of their stay.

The quality of our food is normally of the highest standard and is without exception prepared in our own kitchen. We consistently receive great compliments from our guests about our food as we do for the friendliness and professional efficiency of our staff. It is therefore of extreme concern that you did not receive our normal high standards of food quality and service. I have however reviewed your comments with the appropriate staff and addressed the issues which you have raised. I am also pleased to say that we are now offering a larger range of vegetarian options.

Again, it is such a great pity that you did not bring these issues to our attention at the time so that we could make amends rather than choosing to anonymously advise us through Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

st helens, england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 26th march 09 to 28th march 09. Very smooth check in very polite and pleasant staff at check in. No language problems at all.
The lift a little dated but why change something if it still works perfectly. We had room 207 found this four poster room very comfortable and warm,tea and coffee making facilites in the room were first class they seen to every little detail with even hot chocolate and biscuits in the room as well as the usual tea and coffee sugar and milk sachets. Food was excellent even Black Pudding with the cooked breakfast , We had the evening meal on the 27th march in the hotel and it was excellent , the food was cooked just right my husband ordered a medium rare steak and it was done perfect I had the fillet of salmon and can say i have never tasted salmon so succulent that it melted in your mouth we picked a bottle of rose wine of the wine list at random and it was one of the best rose wines we had tasted. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff . All the staff we encountered we polite and friendly .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear June40

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Stonecross Manor Hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your compliments and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 09. Welcomed by extremely friendly, bubbly Easter European receptionist. We arrived after kitchens had closed and she kindly offered us sandwiches. Only problem was she seemed to be the only member of staff, covering reception, bar and I think she even made the sandwiches. Had the same problem another night when male receptionist was also barman for the night.
The room was well furnished, cosy and clean. Standard of making-up of room was very poor though which was disappointing. (This is the only reason I would not recommend it to a friend which is a shame really because the other staff seemed quite dedicated). There was also loud music playing in a nearby room which might have annoyed some people, although this didn't bother us enough to complain.
The breakfast was very good and the dining room was well staffed.
The hotel is walkable distance to the town - 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank binkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Binkyman

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made in relation to your stay and assure you that we have addressed any issues in regard to staffing. We have also taken particular note of your comments in regard to the cleanliness of your room and addressed this with our housekeeping staff. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing