We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and excellent view over the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely location and excellent view over the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel had a lovely room, nicely decorated and a nice view over the river. The location was very close to the town centre. The gym and pool were excellent and much better than you would expect in a hotel of this size. The only downside was a rather formulaic, cafeteria styled breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cervelo_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and that you were able to enjoy our great leisure facilities. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our breakfast selection, as this is normally an area in which we get great feedback. The buffet style of breakfast that we offer is the most efficient way to serve such large numbers, however we are more than happy to offer variations to the breakfast on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    394
    174
    57
    27
See reviews for
172
562
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Breakfast and evening meals were top notch and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for! Enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room and also joined in on a splash aerobics session f.o.c. Free secure off-road car parking next to the hotel was very useful. Good location of the hotel, a 5 minute walk into the town centre (Lakeland musuem around the corner is well worth a visit - free entry and it has a Dodo!). Staff helpful and friendly, we will definitely return again for another break.

Room Tip: The junior suite we stayed in (Kendal castle suite) was excellent value for money (same price as a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muppet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the Riverside Hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit, and I am sure that the chef will be very pleased to hear your description of his sticky toffee pudding! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

A group of us has just got back from celebrating a 40th birthday at this hotel.

What can we say? From start to end this place was just perfect.

The staff are friendly, personal and polite, and more importantly actually remember who you are.

The best thing about this hotel HAS to be the food. We all agreed that the evening meals (we stopped 4 nights) were the best hotel food we had ever tasted. The table d'hote menu is priced at £25 for non-residents. After eating it you wouldn't grumble at this price tag. Considering this is included in the room rate (along with breakfast - which was also damn good) it actually makes this hotel fantastic value for money.

All rooms face the river so fantastic views are guaranteed. The health and fitness club is popular with non-residents, this gives an indication that the facilities are all top notch. The bar area is bright, spacious and has the added bonus of a terrace that also faces the river.

Great hotel that made a special birthday even more special.

We will be back.

Darren, Ivan, Michael & Christine (+7 others)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04647289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations with us and that we were able to contribute to this special occasion. We agree that our dinner, bed and breakfast rates are great value, and it is great to see how much they are appreciated by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon, possibly for your next birthday celebration?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed Friday to Sunday in mid November and found this hotel to be very nice indeed.
Check in was fast and the receptionist was freindly and helpful.The hotel is a converted mill
warehouse i believe and it's historical design is obvious when you walk through it's corridors.
The room was large, river view ,comfy beds, power shower, tea,coffee, biscuits etc etc. Our in room safe was repaired immediately after reporting it locked but our faulty phone was not repaired at all.The wifi signal was good but we could not gain access to the internet.[didn't bother about it] For the price we payed i would say that the value was very good indeed as was the evening meal on the Friday night and full english breakfast both mornings.Almost forgot to mention the gym and swimming pool which we didn't use - looked good.
If your looking for a lake district area based hotel i don't think that you will be disapointed with this hotel .

Room Tip: Third floor room with river view is nice,check that your in-room safe is fixed to the wall or floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougieboy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Riverside Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food was to your satisfaction. Our talented chefs work very hard to provide our guests with excellent quality food and they are always glad to hear that it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have just got back from a weekend at this lovely hotel. We arrived very early and were allowed to park our car in the covered car park and check in later. Thank goodness my husband was driving as due to 2 selfish cars parking where they shouldn't have it was very tight to get around. We arrived back at the hotel at 3pm to check in but our room wasn't ready untul 3.30pm however the very friendly receptionist offered us a drink while we waited and aplogised. We stayed in the Kendal Castle suite that was very modern and clean and had lovely views. However the downside was that it was just above the very busy road over the bridge that a group of youths were hanging around until after 2am the first night so we didn't sleep but ear plugs the next night sorted that problem out. We had pre-booked dinner at the hotel but I wouldn't again I'd just have a meal from the regular menu as the food is good but there is only one choice for vegetarians and I wasn't able to eat it the first night as it was too spicy. The waiter service in the restaurant on the Friday night wasn't anywhere near as good as the Saturday night as the waitress then was so friendly and made you feel so welcome. We used the bar a lot (lunch on the Friday was scrummy!) and the lady working on the bar was really friendly and always had a smile as did the receptionists. We were a bit gutted that as we booked in advance we paid almost double the price for our weekend compared to another couple so if we stay again we'll get a late deal and ask for a room away from the road. But overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePotters06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that our staff provided you with the excellent service that we aim for, and I am sure they will be pleased with your lovely comments. We appreciate the feedback that you have given about the vegetarian option on our restaurant menu, this issue has been flagged up with our chef to avoid such disappointment in future. However, we are glad that you were able to enjoy our delicious bar food. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Nice hotel in centre of town, Revamped rooms, decent bathroom, clean. Receptionist very welcoming. Good leisure centre and gym. Car parking available next door FOC if you are staying. Enjoyed breakfast. Would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kivapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food and service that we provide and we do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here on the night of the 12th November.

Our room was absolutely spotless and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and even let us into our room before the 'official' time.
The facilities in the room were of very good quality, tea making, good digital TV, plenty of room, good soft towels, the shower produced plenty of hot water (not the classic English dribble), the bedding spotless and crisp. We had a good view of the river too.

On the Saturday night it was the 75th Anniversary of our climbing and caving club (this is my personal review by the way). There were about 130 of us dining. The food provided was to a very high standard. The waiting staff were very efficient and very patient with those of us that had forgotten what we'd ordered months previously.

The gym and pool was a nice surprise, whilst these facilities are not that of a mega-franchise they are perfect for the hotel and are very clean and offer a good quality facility.

My wife and I will be staying here again in the future so we can explore the Southern Lakes knowing we'll be back to come back to somewhere comfortable, warm and have a good meal. Forget the tents !!

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel have a view of the river and all rooms have recently gone through refurb so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arny_Sacknusem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for this fantastic review of our hotel. We very much enjoyed having the 130 of you dining with us, and we are glad to hear that the evening was to your satisfaction as well. We agree that the tents should be forgotten and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Lake District adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing