We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$407
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$101
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveller rating
416
469
197
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
469
197
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverswimming lessonsleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomswimming poolkendal castlecar parklovely hotelself servicetown centregood sizefamily roomevening mealironing boardshort breakbuffet breakfastnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Fantastic value for money. Clean, friendly, excellent service. Wow. Definitely will stay at Riverside Hotel in Kendall again. Lovely clean rooms, bottle of wine waiting. Excellent breakfast which kept us going all day until tea-time. Couldnt fault anything. Sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, jacuzzi, pool and gym were all great and clean. Easy walking distance to town centre. Fabulous place to stay. Most enjoyable. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking River Kent. Fabulous. Ducks swimming along the river.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffordshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

What a fabulous review, thank you very much! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Hopefully it will be soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Good location and nice position and outlook over the river. Hotel not obvious from main road and be careful with your Sat Nav directions as it led me down the one-way street the wrong way.
Stayed on Sunday night with the hotel group special deal. Room and facilities more than acceptable although as others have commented the temperature in room was too hot and not controllable.
Dinner was included and although limited choice the food was extremely good - compliments to the Chef. Breakfast also more than adequate

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogwi01270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riverside, and your comments about the food are great. They will be passed onto the chef and I am sure he will be very pleased. We hope that you stay again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A nice hotel with a great location but the breakfast left a lot to be desired. Self service with plastic lids on the containers most of which were empty when I queued up. I ended up with mushrooms (tinned) and baked beans.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireMarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodation and the beautiful location of the Riverside. However, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with breakfast. As all food is cooked fresh (including the mushrooms, which are certainly not tinned), in busy periods a delay can be experienced in refreshing the buffet. Nevertheless, this has been discussed with the kitchen staff in order to maintain the quality of service that we strive for across the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Excellent all round Service from the Receptionist to the Restaurant staff. One minor quibble is the wait time at the bar. The hotel was fairly quiet so I am presuming the amount of staff was less than usual.
The breakfast was nice but could be improved. A few extras such as croissants, pastries & a couple more items on the full breakfast would make the world of difference. Also Cumberland sausages would be nice considering it is Cumbria! But on the whole it was very nice.
The room was very comfortable with everything you would expect from 3 star accommodation. The freeview TV only picks up about 15 channels but that didn't really bother us.
Two issues that really did bother us were 1) the shower was fixed and quite low. My partner didn't find it a problem but I am quite tall and therefore it was below the height of my head. My partner thought it was quite funny but I didn't quite share her amusement.
2) The bulbs in the bathroom are so hot that with TWO minutes of them being on the whole bathroom was like a sauna. It probably sounds petty complaining about the bulbs but honestly it was not nice. If we were staying in the summer I can only imagine what it would be like.
The bar and lounge area was very nice and comfortable and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The prices were also very reasonable apart from the wine which was a bit on the pricey side.
There is parking in a parking garage next door which is great but if you are arriving late in the day or evening you will be lucky to get a spot. However you can park in the train station just a 2 minute walk away. They have reserved parking spaces for users of the hotel.

The hotel is in a beautiful location next to the Kent river. We saw 2 otters playing around during breakfast which was delightful and quite rare I believe. Out of ALL the bedroom windows you could see the Castle Ruins of one of Kendal's Castles high above the town. All bedrooms are facing the river.
A few reviews on here have said there were problems with noise. Well we didn't have this problem at all. No noise from the river, traffic or other guests. I guess you can have noisy people wherever you stay. It is not the fault of the hotel in my opinion.
We didn't use any of the leisure facilities during our stay so can't really comment on what they are like. The hotel will supply you towels for swimming/the gym if you request them. (50p a towel)

All in all this is a very good hotel in a great location and I think you would be very hard pressed to find somewhere better to stay in Kendal for the price.

Good to Know:
Windermere Village is approximately a 25 minute drive
Bowness is approximately a 19 minute drive
South Lakes Animal Park is approximately a 45 minute drive
Grizedale Forest is approximately a 40 minute drive

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floors have the best views. Try to arrive a bit earlier to get the best parking.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krayziemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you very much for this lovely review of our hotel. Firstly, we would like to say how wonderful it is that you saw the otters! These are quite a rare sight, however their occasional outings are captivating all of us here at the hotel. We are very pleased that overall, you were satisfied with your stay at the Riverside, and that you enjoyed our fantastic views and great lounge area.
We are sorry about the issues you had with your bathroom and your comments have been recorded. We do hope that you stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The reception wasnt manned when we arrived so had to press the bell and wait and wait. The bedroom looked like it had been plastered and left to dry. The wall around the plug socket - the plaster had come away exposing behind it, paper thin walls with constant banging doors, shower leaked all over the bathroom floor.
Nice view of the river. Good location for Kendal town.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and take your comments very seriously. Having investigated your complaint, we are taking immediate action to resolve the issues that you have raised. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused, and hope that you will soon return to allow us to demonstrate the true Riverside experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews