We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to the Lakes”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“First trip to the Lakes”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked a 2-night break with Travelzoo, very happy with both the Riverside Hotel and Travelzoo.

We found the car park relatively easily. The room we had booked was ready prior to check in time which was a nice surprise and an even better surprise was the lovely suite we had been allocated. I had seen a review about one of the other suites on here and was a bit worried at what we would find but it was lovely. We were allocated the Kendal Suite with views of the Castle from the 'lounge' area. This was a totally separate room to the bedroom and each had its own wide screen TV. The bedroom was quite large with a very wide king size bed and the furniture was all in good order with quality curtains and bedding. The bathroom was fine with toiletries provided.

Adequate supplies of tea, coffee etc were provided and replenished daily. Extra quantities could be obtained from reception. The kettle was conveniently situated in a unit with a nearby plug and space for cups - no fumbling about with boiling water!

The road is quite noisy at night when lorries drive past. However, it was a price I was prepared to pay for the lovely facilities we had during the daytime/evening.

Part of the package we bought was a 3 course meal on the first night. The meal itself was fine, I had melon and ham with a sauce which was very tasty and my husband had beetroot and salmon which he said was very good. We both had duck, however, the two pieces of duck differed greatly in quality but we didn't bother to say anything about this at the time as we were preoccupied with other events (mentioned below), Sweets were delicious, sticky toffee pudding and I opted for icecream, not really knowing what to expect. However, it came along in a sundae dish with 3 different flavours - the lemon was to die for - it was delicious.

Our meal was spoilt by a loud drunk cockney and his wife/partner sat at an adjacent table. I could hear explicit details of his bedroom behaviour and her underwear! He was swearing profusely and burping. She was sitting with her head in her hands complaining she couldn't see a thing in front of her and wanted to go back to the room as she felt sick. At this point we moved tables. However, the whole dining room could most of what was being said and I think ruined everyone's dinner. The experience just got worse - I was worried the woman was going to be sick - she kept asking for him to take her up to the room but he just kept telling her to have another drink. When their main course arrived he couldn't even remember what he had ordered. This all put me off my food and I asked the waitress if we could leave the restaurant and come back for our main course but just at that point they got up and left. He must have said 'how nice is this' whilst eating his meain course about 30 times at the top of his voice. He told his partner to eat something but she told him she couldn't even look at it and started wretching. I can understand that it was difficult for the staff in the restaurant to control this sort of thing but it completely spoilt my meal. I have gone into some detail about this in the hope that the idiots who subjected me and all the other people in the dining room to their disgusting behaviour read it and recognise themselves.

Perhaps if there had been some background music in the restaurant it might have helped. The dining room itself was ok, but the bar area has better decor and furniture and is far more modern. The waitresses were very pleasant and friendly, both at dinner and breakfast.

Breakfast was served in the same room as dinner. It was fine if you like a 'full English'. The quality was good and if you don't like bacon, egg etc., there was grapefruit, prunes and orange segments, fruit juices, cereals and toast. You could easily sort yourself out beans on toast or egg on toast. A few nice pastries wouldn't have gone amiss however.

The swimming pool is quite small, the sauna and steamroom were fine. The changing rooms are a bit cramped but to have this at a 3* hotel was a bonus.

The Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. I can see what other people mean when mentioning about the CTV screening of people in the swimming pool but it didn't bother me too much.

The town is just a few minutes' stroll away and we found some lovely shops within the shopping centre and also did the '2 castles walk'. This was an ideal location for a first visit to the Lakes and we will definitely be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Kendal Suite is lovely with a separate lounge but can suffer from traffic noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medsec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for this great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first experience of the Lake District at our hotel, and that you plan to come back in the future. We do apologise for the "disturbance" at dinner, unfortunately this was beyond our control. However, hopefully their headaches the next day served as some kind of retribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    401
    175
    57
    27
See reviews for
174
569
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel through a special offer and were not disappointed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location for walking into town and to the castle ruins. The room was quite dull and generic but clean and spacious. The extra services were reasonably priced (parking was free, tray service for in-room breakfast was cheap, and there was no additional charge for the delivery of newspapers (above the cost of the paper)). There are a few restaurants on the hotel doorstep but we ate in the restaurant the first night and used a special offer from a dining card to get 241 (three course meal is £24.95 per person). The restaurant was quite dismal and in need of brightening up, and a couple of the staff quite formal and miserable, but the food was nice. There was a pool, jacuzzi and leisure facilities which were available free of charge for guests, but we did not use these. We would stay at the hotel again through a special offer but wouldn't pay full price for a room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichRach2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay, including the meal that you had in our restaurant. We hope that you do return to the hotel, and we often have excellent value offers on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Nice 3 star hotel in a very good location for town.
The food was excellent. We ate there both nights.
Staff were very polite and friendly.
Room was clean when we arrived but was not cleaned whilst we were there. The bed was made and clean towels left the day after. Would not have been happy if we had stayed longer than 2 nights as I expect the rooms to be cleaned every day!
Saw people with dogs but nowhere near us which was good.
Would return for a short stay as value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the vew is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkeling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and especially the beautiful views from the top floor. My particular favourite, however, is from the ground floor which is right by the river! We do apologise that housekeeping didn't service your room on the first day. This is not standard practice, and the issue has been raised to avoid it happening again. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently and i can say that it was really good. I would definately stay again. Staff were helpful and polite. Facilities were excellent and breakfast was great. The bar was not very pricey ( £3.20 a pint of lager).

I got a travelzoo deal and can say well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithboy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our great value bar. We often run deals throughout the year, so we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had a great stay here @ the Riverside Hotel. Rooms were very clean considering being dog friendly (did not find a hair at all!!) and although on the small side very comfortable and the views over the river were beautiful. As other guests have stated breakfast on the saturday was very disorganised and had to wait 20mins for food to be refilled sunday morning seemed to be very efficient though.
Staff very easy to talk to and gave very good information about restaurants, places to go and directions around Kendal and surrounding areas.
The Hotel Spa/Gym was well maintained and very nice especially the Pool and Steam Room.
I would definately suggest a trip up to the Castle a very romantic as well wonderful views across Kendal
Will be staying here again hopefully very soon

Room Tip: all rooms look over the River Kent. You can Book a table for the restaurant at the reception desk. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
What a great review, we are so pleased to hear that you had the best holiday ever with us!!
Comments regarding breakfast have been noted, and we are looking at how to improve the service for future guests. We hope that you will return to us in the near future, we will try very hard to surpass your first stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My boyfriend and I visited on March 3rd for 1 night.

We stayed in one of the suites and found the room to be extremely spacious and very clean however this suite is definitely in need of modernisation and a lick of pain (especially the bathroom).

The room contained a 4 posted bed, large living area with dressing table, 42" TV and seats. Some of the furniture could do with updating and the size of the room made it feel quite sparsely furnished.

There was a joining closet area which consisted of 3 large wardrobe spaces and full length mirrors which was an ideal place to get ready. This then lead to the bathroom which was large and consisted of a bath, shower and basin. It was clean however this room has so much potential and would benefit from newer facilities.

On the first evening we could not get any hot water from the shower for quite some time. It was quite small and not very powerful.

We used the swimming pool, spa and steam room. The swimming pool was quite busy at the time and there were lots of young children in the pool area. The facilities were ok at best, but I feel 'leisure facilities' may be a bit of an ambitius claim.

We did not use the gym but equipment looked modern, albeit basic and fairly small.

The bed was very large however not very comfy, and the cusions too hard. I would not recommommd staying in this room for longer than a few days if you value sleep!

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, especially the receptionist. We did not eat here however did enjoy a few drinks in the bar which is very pleasant.

The self serve breakfast was average but this is to be expected from a 'all you can eat' style buffet.

The car park is situated just up the road on the left to the hotel, and is extremely tight when it is full. If you have a large car, such as a 4x4 I would approach with caution as there were clearly paint marks on the wall where people had misjudged just how tight it was! We also found cars were parked taking up 2 spots just so they could get children/babies out of the car, this is quite frustrating seen as though there is only 40 spaces and many of them are taken up by the users of the leisure centre, meaning it is often full to capacity,

Overall we had a pleasant stay, and the hotel lived up to its 3 star rating. If you are looking for a basic hotel with pleasant staff then this is perfect, however the £118.00 room rate seems excessive considering what you actually get. If this was priced about £20-30 cheaper it would be very good value.

There are good links from Kendal to the rest of the Lake District however after staying in Windermere previously and visiting Ambleside, these locations are much more desireable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDHKSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for your honest review of our hotel. We appreciate all customer feedback, and have noted the points that you have made. We do actually have plans to touch up the paintwork in all of the bedrooms in the near future, and we will have a look at the bed in the suite to see how we can improve the comfort. For future reference, if the car park is quite full, we do have an overflow carpark just around the corner for the use of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Riverside, where rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. Hearty breakfasts and a pool to work off the calories with pleasant views. Handy for train and bus stations so the car stayed parked! We look forward to a return visit, hopefully with better weather.

Room Tip: All rooms have river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We really appreciate this lovely review of our hotel, and it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay including the food and leisure facilities. Although we can't promise fantastic weather, we hope that you come back to us in summer and keep your fingers crossed for sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing