We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend in a lovely hotel”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have just returned today from a wonderful weekend at the Riverside hotel. We arrived a bit stressed by our Sat Nav directions and struggled finding the car park but this was soon forgotton. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and given directions to our room -205. The room was okay it not a little cramped, especially the bathroom and were a little disappointed to read other reviews were people had been given suites for the same price. We cannot complain too much though as it was still excellent value for money. We had the evening meal on the first night which was very good, as was breakfast each morning. The leisure facilites are brilliant for a 3 star hotel and it is very handy for the centre of Kendal and access to the lakes. Thank you so much Riverside Hotel for a truly wonderful weekend especially the blonde waitress who always had a lovely smile and made us feel very welcome. We will definetely be back...............

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if booking a deal they are very spacious and no extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
What a great review, thank you very much! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be good value for money. Our staff really appreciate your lovely comments and hope that you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    415
    179
    59
    27
See reviews for
187
585
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Riverside Hotel is smack in the middle of Kendal. As the name suggests it is overlooking the river. Everywhere is an easy drive to The Lakes - particularly Lake Windermere. The Hotel carpark is very private and is integral, alongside, the hotel. There is a swimming pool and gym club which is also part of the hotel. The hotel is deceptively large- but cosy. The same goes for the rooms. I would put everything on a par with Premier Inns - but with some extra 'ticks'. The Breakfasts were excellent and plentyful. I asked for a steak (medium-to-rare) on the first night and the Chef got it 'just right'. This is always a good test for cuisine. The Dining room was well laid out, overlooking the river - but...this was a good example of how not to light a dining room! ALL the lamps were bare fluorescent lamps (somebody has taken carbon emissions to it's enth degree without consideration for any ambience). Bathrooms were extremely clean and spacious. Nice large wall mounted televisions in the room. Minor errors from the foreign staff: I asked for a large whisky and received a single (what is a large they asked?). Twice they got the morning newspapers wrong - no matter, otherwise no complaints from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for this great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the food was to your liking. We really appreciate the extra ticks, as we work very hard to give a more personal service than is received at a Premier Inn or the like. Your suggestion regarding the restaurant has been noted, we do apologise for the mix up with the drink. The waitress who served you is very new and training is our priority at the moment. We hope that you come and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Parking may have been a slight issue on arrival but after that there was little to be negative about.
There is a ground floor covered car park 100 yards up from the hotel entrance which was not clearly identified however once located it was handy. There was not a great deal of spaces and apparently there was an overspill car park 5 mins away. We never needed to use that thankfully.
Once inside the welcome was good with a nice open reception area. Check in was very quick and soon enough we had our key and were on our way. Unfortunately the lift to our room was down 4-5 steps and so not as accessible as we might have liked with heavy luggage.
A short walk from the lift and we were at the room. We had book a suite as it had been priced exactly the same as a normal room so we went for it and we were overwhelmed by it. The suite was as big as a small flat with a large open lounge bedroom. There was a large dressing area with wardrobes leading to a huge bathroom with shower and bath. We were very impressed.
We stayed for just a couple of nights and had dinner, bed and breakfast. Again, we were impressed with the standard of food in the restaurant. It was clearly top quality food with speedy service at dinner. Breakfast service was a little disappointing as we missed out on tea and toast on the 1st morning as it was busy and staff weren't controlling people coming in however on the 2nd morning it was a good breakfast.
With the room comes free use of the leisure facilities including gym, pool, sauna etc. This was a good area and we used the pool and steam room which was really nice in the morning.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. Food was good, facilities were good and the room was lovely.
One suggestion I would make to the hotel is that the rooms require upgrading. As much as the decor was nice it was certainly outdated and needed some serious upgrading and updating. For the price paid though it was fantastic!!

Room Tip: The suite are lovely and big and when at same price as a normal room they are the way forward
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our classic Bellingham Suite. This room is of a more traditional style than our others, hence your comments regarding it needing updating. Our Kendal Castle suite has more modern decor, as do all of our standard double and family rooms. We really appreciate your great comments about our food and we do hope that you return to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed for the weekend on a special offer two nights bed and breakfast and a meal on the Sat night . The rooms were very clean and of a good standard although our room had only a small double bed (room number 1) our friends (room number 2) had a very large kingsize just as well realy as at 6 foot 4 there is no way they would have been able to sleep well. The evening meal was excellent. The staff were very helpfull and the breakfast a great selection and good quality.
We realy enjoyed the weekend and would book again .
Great location and great value!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnLilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
What a fab review, thank you very much. We are really happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a number of kingsize beds in the hotel which are available on request for customers who prefer a larger bed. Keep an eye out on our website for more great value deals. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tywyn
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I had two very enjoyable days/nights here in Kendal the hotel was very comfortable and the meal on the first night which was inclusive of the offer was also very tasty. The leisure facilities were great although the pool a little on the small side if you wanted to have a proper swim. The jacuzzi however was fantastic and we made full use of unwinding there after a long day exploring the local area. Breakfast was help yourself and the food was tasty and hot, the bacon was delicious! I recommend this hotel as it is also very near to the town if you want to do some shopping. One small tip, don't forget your coupon for the carpark from reception you need this to get out of the carpark and the girls on the desk don't seem to tell you this, they just leave them for you to pick up!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and the food that we served you at both dinner and breakfast. We hope that you return to visit the Riverside again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked a 2-night break with Travelzoo, very happy with both the Riverside Hotel and Travelzoo.

We found the car park relatively easily. The room we had booked was ready prior to check in time which was a nice surprise and an even better surprise was the lovely suite we had been allocated. I had seen a review about one of the other suites on here and was a bit worried at what we would find but it was lovely. We were allocated the Kendal Suite with views of the Castle from the 'lounge' area. This was a totally separate room to the bedroom and each had its own wide screen TV. The bedroom was quite large with a very wide king size bed and the furniture was all in good order with quality curtains and bedding. The bathroom was fine with toiletries provided.

Adequate supplies of tea, coffee etc were provided and replenished daily. Extra quantities could be obtained from reception. The kettle was conveniently situated in a unit with a nearby plug and space for cups - no fumbling about with boiling water!

The road is quite noisy at night when lorries drive past. However, it was a price I was prepared to pay for the lovely facilities we had during the daytime/evening.

Part of the package we bought was a 3 course meal on the first night. The meal itself was fine, I had melon and ham with a sauce which was very tasty and my husband had beetroot and salmon which he said was very good. We both had duck, however, the two pieces of duck differed greatly in quality but we didn't bother to say anything about this at the time as we were preoccupied with other events (mentioned below), Sweets were delicious, sticky toffee pudding and I opted for icecream, not really knowing what to expect. However, it came along in a sundae dish with 3 different flavours - the lemon was to die for - it was delicious.

Our meal was spoilt by a loud drunk cockney and his wife/partner sat at an adjacent table. I could hear explicit details of his bedroom behaviour and her underwear! He was swearing profusely and burping. She was sitting with her head in her hands complaining she couldn't see a thing in front of her and wanted to go back to the room as she felt sick. At this point we moved tables. However, the whole dining room could most of what was being said and I think ruined everyone's dinner. The experience just got worse - I was worried the woman was going to be sick - she kept asking for him to take her up to the room but he just kept telling her to have another drink. When their main course arrived he couldn't even remember what he had ordered. This all put me off my food and I asked the waitress if we could leave the restaurant and come back for our main course but just at that point they got up and left. He must have said 'how nice is this' whilst eating his meain course about 30 times at the top of his voice. He told his partner to eat something but she told him she couldn't even look at it and started wretching. I can understand that it was difficult for the staff in the restaurant to control this sort of thing but it completely spoilt my meal. I have gone into some detail about this in the hope that the idiots who subjected me and all the other people in the dining room to their disgusting behaviour read it and recognise themselves.

Perhaps if there had been some background music in the restaurant it might have helped. The dining room itself was ok, but the bar area has better decor and furniture and is far more modern. The waitresses were very pleasant and friendly, both at dinner and breakfast.

Breakfast was served in the same room as dinner. It was fine if you like a 'full English'. The quality was good and if you don't like bacon, egg etc., there was grapefruit, prunes and orange segments, fruit juices, cereals and toast. You could easily sort yourself out beans on toast or egg on toast. A few nice pastries wouldn't have gone amiss however.

The swimming pool is quite small, the sauna and steamroom were fine. The changing rooms are a bit cramped but to have this at a 3* hotel was a bonus.

The Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. I can see what other people mean when mentioning about the CTV screening of people in the swimming pool but it didn't bother me too much.

The town is just a few minutes' stroll away and we found some lovely shops within the shopping centre and also did the '2 castles walk'. This was an ideal location for a first visit to the Lakes and we will definitely be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Kendal Suite is lovely with a separate lounge but can suffer from traffic noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medsec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for this great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first experience of the Lake District at our hotel, and that you plan to come back in the future. We do apologise for the "disturbance" at dinner, unfortunately this was beyond our control. However, hopefully their headaches the next day served as some kind of retribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel through a special offer and were not disappointed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location for walking into town and to the castle ruins. The room was quite dull and generic but clean and spacious. The extra services were reasonably priced (parking was free, tray service for in-room breakfast was cheap, and there was no additional charge for the delivery of newspapers (above the cost of the paper)). There are a few restaurants on the hotel doorstep but we ate in the restaurant the first night and used a special offer from a dining card to get 241 (three course meal is £24.95 per person). The restaurant was quite dismal and in need of brightening up, and a couple of the staff quite formal and miserable, but the food was nice. There was a pool, jacuzzi and leisure facilities which were available free of charge for guests, but we did not use these. We would stay at the hotel again through a special offer but wouldn't pay full price for a room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichRach2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay, including the meal that you had in our restaurant. We hope that you do return to the hotel, and we often have excellent value offers on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing