We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I would like to say that we have just returned from an excellent three day break at the Riverside. Cannot fault anything at all.The room we stayed in was a great size, and was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was really modern bright and clean. Service,rooms, staff and fab breakfast all made the stay so good. The facilities were great, we used the pool and spa which were free to guests, we didn't even have to take towels they were provided by the hotel,changing rooms even had hairdryers and straightners for guests to use, the pool was lovely and warm and the jacuzzi was so good its a must for anyone visiting the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
What a brilliant review, thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really appreciate your great comments. We hope to see you at the Riverside Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    402
    176
    58
    27
See reviews for
175
574
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

It's ok, on arrival was was really impressed with how the hotel presents itself. Reception staff was not very welcoming but she may have just been having a bad day. The room was nice, clean but basic. The view was great looking out onto the river. The pool area was great, perfect in fact and the gym staff were brilliant. The bar staff were great, however the bar lacks atmosphere and not really a place to stop and have a night of socialising. We did infact book for 1 night, but due to its location we continued for another night. (so not a bad hotel at all) the breakfast was great but seriously disorganised with not a free table to sit at due to previous diners plates. In a nut shell, I'd book again, just would be nice if the Hotel reception staff were more welcoming and train the breakfast staff to work instead of scoffing sausages where they think we couldn't see them!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEX W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location enough to stay with us for an extra night. Having spoken to the receptionist who checked you in, I can pass on her apologies. She is exceptionally professional and normally very friendly, so we are surprised to hear that this was not your experience. We appreciate your comments and hope that you return to the Riverside Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

upon arrival it looks pretty. When we checked in we saw shabby (not in chic sense of the word) chairs and tatty, dirty looking cushions.

Our room was dingy with double glazing that sorely needs replacing which hindered our view. The walls were marked and the only modern part was the wall mounted tv. Our, clean, bed had pubic hair on it and the bath was none too clean either.

The restaurant had a VERY disappointing menu and when we peeped in, the restaurant itself was fairly shabby.

Housekeeping made the beds and did a general tidy, but forgot to wipe up the spill of tea made that morning.....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaithwaite127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
We are very disappointed by this review, as none of the issues were raised during your stay with us. We do not agree that your room was dirty, as housekeeping clean to a very high standard daily, however if this had been the case, we would have happily asked housekeeping to revisit your room, had we known.
The hotel is most certainly not shabby or dingy, as the majority was refurbished last year, therefore we do not accept these comments as accurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We went to this hotel as a group of six for 2 nights. When we entered and checked in we found out that the two rooms we booked were on different floors even though we had booked as a group. Also, one of the rooms was on the ground floor when we specifically asked for upper floors when booking. Management wasn't helpful at all as when we asked if we could change the ground floor room to.a third floor room we were told it would not be possible although the room next door was unoccupied until that evening. Over all I would not recommend a stay at the Riverside Hotel unless you don't mind having a stressful holiday.

Room Tip: Specifically ask to be put on the same floor if travelling as groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
We are very disappointed to read this review, as we do not feel the situation deserves such a poor rating. Your booking through Expedia never mentioned any specific room requirements, and as such when you arrived at our hotel, we were unfortunately unable to accommodate this. We always try our best to accommodate guest needs, but when the hotel is full (as it was during your stay) this is not always possible. We do apologise for the inconvenience, but we strongly disagree that a stay at our hotel is a stressful experience, and we regularly receive feedback stating otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Staff fantastic again. In fact staff going over and above what was expected; friendly, professional and courteous.

Due to a recent addition to the family unit we required a family room on this occasion. Nice big room, recently refurbished with all that you need.

Breakfast a plenty, the thickest bacon ever and the tastiest sausages!

Evening meal was cooked to perfection, good choice of dishes and wines.

Location, a great base for south Lakes or venturing to the fells.

Yet again for the second visit in just over a year, the Riverside delivered. From the moment we walked in where we were greeted with a smile to the minute we left (which at the time of writing we hadn't) we couldn't have asked for more. Yes, fair enough not a swanky, 5 star hotel but what they do, they do it well.

Looking forward to visit number three.......

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmaandchrisbingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Gemma and Chris, thank you so much for this great review. We are delighted to hear how much you and baby enjoyed your stay and we hope that next time we see you, we will be helping you with wedding plans! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We recently stayed with a tour group for 3 nights to explore the Lake District. The location was excellent and rooms were a good size but decor needs updating. Yhe staff were very helpful and friendly ezpecially in the dining room. All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: any room above ground level has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and for your lovely comments about our staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked for a three night stay with evening meals for two evenings. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean but the decoration was a little on the tired side with failed double glazed units spoiling what would have been a lovely view. However, the staff were very friendly and efficient and the food could not be faulted. Free car parking is an added bonus as Kendal can be a difficult place to park.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bridge will be quieter and less noise from the early morning gulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your lovely comments about our food and service. Next time you come to stay, let us know that you would like a room away from the bridge and we will try our best to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing