We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely weekend”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I Booked this hotel on Friday evening and was lucky to secure an Executive Room for £150. We arrived on Saturday at 12.00. The Receptionist was friendly enough and told us where to park which was just at the side of the hotel and large enough so as not to have to worry about parking costs during our stay. Our roon was SPOTLESS very upto date and everything matched. Bathroom lovely good selection of toiletries and towels and once again SPOTLESS. We had Dinner on the first night which did prove quite expensive £60 without the wine. Starter yum Main course not so good but dessert lovely. The room was lovely and warm during our stay and the television new and upto date. Breakfast the next morning was fab and we both enjoyed it very much and i dont usually eat breakfast. We went out for the day and due to bad weather decided to eat in the hotel on room service once again wasnt to keen on the main course. But we enjoyed a lovely weekend there. We experienced a problem on leaving as i was told i owed a further £35 for our stay which took the room upto £185 it original price but i showed thr Receptionist my voucher and she just said ok. The waitresses were very good but I did think Receptionists were a little unfriendly. But i would stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the River which is lovely at night as it is well lit. Very Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disappointed17358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

With a username like Disappointed, I was concerned about your review! I am pleased that we did not disappoint you and that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise that you did not enjoy your main course, usually the chef is spot on and we get so many lovely comments about our food that this must have been a one-off. We are also pleased you enjoyed the accommodation and views over the river Kent, they are nice at night! Thanks again and we do hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

A really unloved and uncared for hotel. Nothing to welcome guests to the hotel and a receptionist who just went through the motions. Bedroom was drab and miserable with light bulbs missing and a broken telephone and toilet roll holder. The under rim of the toilet bowl which was reflected in the bathroom mirror was disgusting. The next morning, in order to find out what time breakfast was served, I had to telephone the hotel from my mobile phone as the phone in the bedroom was not working. After three telephone calls, the same unwelcoming receptionist from the night before answered, obviously with a mouth full of food, informing me that breakfast was finished . A dreadful, dreadful hotel which needs to quickly address its management problems

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

We were very disappointed to read this review. Obviously, we want to apologise that the reviewer did not enjoy their stay with us. Perhaps a few clarifying points from our perspective are in order. Had we known the phone was defective, we would have gladly replaced it. Also, every guest upon check-in is given the opening times for all of our facilities (breakfast, bar, leisure) in a little booklet with their key. Obviously, this may not have been the case for which we do apologise. We will definitely speak with our front of house staff to ensure everyone fully understands their roles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

we stayed on 10th november. Rooms are of good size and breakfast was good. Reception staff very pleasant and seek to be helpful. Unfortunately when we stayed there was no heating in room. It transpired there was a boiler problem which affected more than just our room. Staff claimed they were not aware of problem which could not be rectified until following Monday. Receptionist tried to be helpful and gave us opportunity to stay in alternative rooms; one of which was also without heating.

Potentially this a very good hotel but there is a complete absence of management; ;of anyone with the ability to make a decision when a problem arises.In our view hotel should have been aware of heating problem and should have been able to deal with it more quickly

We were very disappointed with this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your review. The knob on the radiator in your first room did malfunction, it turns out it was not a boiler problem. Regardless, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by this. The problem has been dealt with. In any event, I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. If you can be persuaded to give us a second chance on your next visit to the Lakes, I can assure you that we will give you our best available rate. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

the room was spacious with clean bedding but plenty of cobwebs around the window, which was open a little and would not shut. Windows looked out onto the river, and were in need of a good outside cleaning, but with the river immediately outside I presume that is not an easy task. It was ok generally for a 3 star. Upside was that it did have an indoor pool. Downside was it was smaller than it looks on hotel pics, and the life guard was constantly barking out orders to the ever present children that he was giving swimming lessons to. This makes the hotel pool anything but the relaxing place expected in the evenings. If the hotel is going to charge for pool facilities and advertise them, then they should also make it clear that it is not just used by hotel guests. The breakfast was ok, although we are not fans of a buffet hot breakfast (even little chefs serve you at the table). It does not provide a relaxing ambiance with people milling around, up and down several times refetching items that were missing from the buffet. Then again up and down waiting for the filter coffee to refill. Not good for those with small children, the older customers, the infirm or those with mobility problems. I expected the porridge to be better this close to Scotland. We ate in the bar in the evening as the upstairs restaurant was a 3 course menu with little choice, especially for those with children. The adult bar meals were reasonable enough but the child pasta meal was tiny. Portioned for a toddler rather than for a child. We found our nine year old needed a dessert not to be hungry, and yet she is not a particularly large eater. This put the cost up so she might as well had an adult meal. Overall it is what it is - a clean adequate 3 star with a good central location. More for a short break than for a full holiday.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a good size and are groundfloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thanks for your review and nice photos as well. I appreciate your constructive comments as we are always looking at ways we can improve our guest's experience with us. Overall, i am happy you enjoyed your stay and our location. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed here for two nights whilst visiting family. We only ate in the bar for our lunch/dinner so didn't get to try out the restaurant until breakfast where we were seen to efficiently with regards to tea and toast, but I am not keen on a buffet breakfast (the sausages were good, though!).
I have an eighteen month old little boy, and we asked for a cot in the room which was seen to on arrival. We came back after an outing to a cot with a sheet, but no blankets? We did enquire at the desk to be told the hotel does not have any- which confused us as to what I was meant to cover him with- a towel? I really do suggest that the hotel pick up on this, as it should be common sense to offer.
Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay and will visit again (with the hope my son has bedding!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely review. The sausages at breakfast are lovely and receive an inordinate amount of praise for a simple sausage! Regarding the bedding for the cot, over the years we have found that parents prefer to use their own bedding. However, we do have a few spare blankets that certainly should have been provided to you. For this I apologise and will ensure on your next visit that you have all of the cot bedding you need! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

An excellent location with good free parking. We stayed for a Fri/Sat night break with the first night meal included. The meal was a nice hotel meal, with a good buffet hot/cold breakfast. Dogs are allowed in the rooms & in the bar area, with a nice riverside walk just out of the front door. There is no charge for dogs, or for using the leisure facilities. Excellent views from the bedrooms & dining/breakfast room over the River Kent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubhank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thanks for your great review! How great that you could take advantage of our offer and that you and your dog had an enjoyable break. We are in a great location for river walks and general exploring of Kendal or Lake District and I hope the next time you visit you will stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for just one night at the end of September. Once we had negotiated the confusing one-way system we were able to park the car in the hotels own secure car park. We had a really spacious room with a double and a single bed on the 4th floor overlooking the River Kent. The only downside was the slight smell of damp plaster and water stains on the ceiling where there had been or was a water leak. The buffet breakfast was good and the bar area was laid out with sofas and soft chairs to make it a very relaxing place. The reception staff were very helpful and overall we had a very pleasant but short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazzak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thanks for your review and for the photos you took as well! We all couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £81 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing