We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cat show visit”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Room on first floor over looking river good do with a face lift as is very dark and dreary.Pool was o.k but only for a easy swim as it is quit small.Breakfast choice was satisfactory but i arrived at 0730 along with a coach load of tourists. the 1 server on duty was overwhelmed with orders for tea etc.and had difficulty coping. the bar was quite but the service was good and sio was the beer. generally staff were excellent and the location superb and the car parking very handy.PS the cats also enjoyed there stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottishcatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for your review. I hope you enjoyed the cat show and we were pleased to host you and your cats! I'm pleased you enjoyed the service and beer too! Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

Booked this for an overnight stop for business whilst in Cumbria. Turned up at hotel and was given a suite, which was most unexpected. The room overlooked the river and although there was some road noise from the side of the building, it was not annoying.
The staff were excellent and dining in the bar was a solitary act! It was empty which was quite a surprise. The food in the bar was very good, with a varied choice.
Would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UncleBuck_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much for your visit and your superb, 5-star review; it was a pleasure to read. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They turn good stays into great ones with their efficiency and, of course, friendliness! Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just stayed 3 nights at the Riverside. Second time we have stayed although first time was a few years ago. Excellent location for sightseeing but also in ideal position for the town. Park the car in the large free car park and walk to a good choice of shops,bars and restaurants. Our room was the kendal castle suite, and was very good with a lounge area and large bedroom. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant this time but had breakfast which was more than adequate. Very friendly staff, good leisure facilities. Wouldn't hesitate to go back and can't understand some of the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank incompleteangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your review and your return visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the Kendal Castle suite; very comfortable that's for sure! It is a shame we cannot please all the people all the time, but we do use all of the reviews, good or not so good, to help us constantly improve. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel was nice and staff are very helpful. Our room on the ground floor was a little tired but a good size ,but the view from our window of the river right outside made up for this (was told all rooms have a river view).We didnt use the pool but it looked great and a good size but they have a live television screen showing the pool in reception for ALL to see(we didnt see the need for this as you dont wont everyone passing looking at you).Our room didnt get serviced during our stay.The bar has a decking area overlooking the river.Hotel has secure parking just a few metres away.Breakfast is buffet style as much a you like was excellent.We would go back a great base to see the lake district.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for your review, it was an enjoyable read. I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you would consider using us as a base for the Lakes. A brief word on the TV in reception; it is for security purposes; health and safety. Also, guests and people passing aren't standing in reception watching the TV. The camera is placed in such a position that it is far enough back not to be able to see in a detailed fashion. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

me and my hubby have just came back from 2 nights at this hotel and we loved it we will defo be going again..... what a lovely hotel right on the river we enjoyed 2 nights of piece and quiet and we loved sitting out on the balcony in the sun......staff were lovely as well... see you soon xx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Great review thank you. I'm pleased we were able to provide you with an enjoyable break and that even the weather cooperated! See you again soon, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My girlfriend and i Stayed at the riverside 8th-9th july.We had origionally planned to stay in windermere but it was fully booked so decided on kendal.Im so glad we did as windermere was so busy during the day it was great to escape and only a 15 minute drive away.Upon arrival the hotel is situated overlooking the river which was a good start.The receptionist was very friendly with a welcome smile.We were given room 4 which was down a few steps,clean and tidy overlooking the river again.Room was spacious with a nice comfortable bed and a tv on the wall.The area has some great little pubs and restraunts(if you like indian food the mumbai is higly reccomended)5 minutes walk from the hotel.Breakfast time was very good.The staff although very busy were very friendly and welcoming.Lots of choice for breakfast so if you dont like the full english there are cereals or yogurts.We have decided to go back and will be booking this hotel again....Great weekend !!

Room Tip: We stayed below reception level which is practically in the river.Not complaining but will be asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christoff1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are in a great location to be able to visit Windermere, by train, bus or car. Kendal has a bustle about it as well, as you mention, with its great restaurants and shops, etc. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff too, something we are well-known for! I'm also pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and that you will return on your next visit. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had probably the worst experience of dining that we could have ever had! We had not been to the area before and it looked charming by the river. Being new to an area, the rule of thumb, when dining out it is advisable to utilise the larger places on the first night as these tend to have every part of what is an expensive part of your evening delivered correctly and in a professional manner.

We received from our waiter, what amounted to be the rudest, non professional service at all levels we have ever had! with dinner for two people costing over £60 I was expecting something aligning its self to this kind of cost. I was sadly mistaken, rude, non apologetic, not interested, unthoughtful, ignorant and damn right disgraceful! The food was mediocre, but the service from both the bar and the restaurant was a disgrace.

I will never use this restaurant again and will ensure that my-company, my business associates and friends will be informed to avoid this awful truly awful unfriendly place! I was informed that there are 3 in the chain of this hotel, I will certainly make sure we never use any of them in the future for business accommodation or other!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Marcus x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

This was a surprising review to read considering the reviewer spent over 2 hours in the restaurant and bar, ate their entire meal and continued to order things in the bar after their meal. Nothing was brought to the attention of management or staff, only well after the fact was mention made to the receptionist on duty; at which point she apologised.

It is quite clear based on other reviews and from daily interaction with guests that our staff are excellent. They are professional, friendly and experts at offering terrific service.

We will continue to offer the excellent service we are known for and if it happens that someone is dissatisfied and brings it to our attention, we will, of course, do everything we can to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,159 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing