We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit now and already planning the 4th!!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really!!

Another weekend break with the toddler and dogs and yet again the Riverside delivered.

Friendly, hospitable, value for money and still one of the best breakfasts around.

This visit has reaffirmed our plans to hold our reception there, just need to get planning now!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank gemmaandchrisbingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

It was so lovely to see you again and to read another one of your lovely reviews. Thank you also for your 5-star rating too. If you need any help with your planning, don't hesitate to ring up! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just stayed here for a long weekend, fantastic location in the town and also near the railway station. Very friendly staff, lovely big rooms and very comfortable. The breakfasts were really nice, top quality food. Lovely bar area which was very relaxing after long day out exploring. We stayed through Groupon which included 2 nights stay plus breakfast and dinner on one night. We had a look at the dinner menu and looked really appealing and a variety of choices. However when we went into the restaurant we were given a separate set menu which would have cost £24.99 for two courses plus extra if we had a sweet. The presentation was exceptional however the food wasn't. I ordered spinach cannoloni and when it arrived it had obviously been microwaved, burnt round the edges and extremely hot. It was very dry and no sauce with it. I asked the waitress if there were any bechamel sauce as the pasta was so bland to accompany the dish and she did not know what I meant and offered a fish sauce or a tomato one, in the end as I could not eat it I asked for a fish sauce but it was not very nice. I am mentioning this issue as I think it is such a shame that after everything else that it going for in this hotel to serve microwaved food and also that we did not have a choice from the menu we saw earlier which is obviously not for Groupon customers! Please have a look at this issue and try and change it for your lovely hotel. Apart from this "let down" had an enjoyable stay. Would we stay again? Yes if they change the dinner menu!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnsleyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for your review and nice comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If I may offer a comment or two about the issue at dinner; there is only one set menu for the restaurant. We do not have a separate one for different offers. You must have viewed our bar menu which has a larger selection and is more informal than the restaurant menu. I apologise that you did not enjoy the meal but can assure you that the food is prepared fresh and not microwaved! We do hope you would give us another chance to prove that our food is expertly prepared and delicious. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner and dog. The room was nice and spacious and clean. The food in the restaurant was beautiful, the best steak I have had in a while! The breakfast was also great! Staff were helpful and had a really good stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte_louise92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for your 5-star rating and nice review. Your comments let us know we are doing a good job and we will continue to work hard to ensure all guests are well looked after. We are pleased you had a nice stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great location . Comfortable rooms, great nights sleep and friendly staff. Can't fault it. Tripadvisor is annoying me by asking for a longer review ...No.......................................I haven't time to write more and I only wanted to thank the hotel. I won't review again. But hotel is good. I got a deal on the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We don't mind short and sweet ones! We do hope if you are ever up our way again that we will be seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I literally had to specify with the woman on reception that while i accepted there was wifi in the room I wondered if she could put me in a room where it worked. She couldn't guarantee this, but would move me to a room in the middle of a floor closer to a router and said no one else had complained and it wasn't her fault. Always love that, as though one thinks she is responsible for installing the thing. However, she has been put in charge of looking after customers so 'its not my fault' isn't terribly helpful.

on entering the hotel you are met with the scent of chlorine from the 'spa' (leisure centre) in the basement. The rooms are shabby, not that clean - you don't feel like you really want your skin touching the sheets, and the extractor fans in the bathrooms are noisy and take about 20 minutes to turn off after you switch the light out.

My colleague was bitten in the night in his room where the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't cut out all night.

The breakfast is fine, but i kept having bits of my breakfast taken away while was still using them, which was quite annoying. unfinished Alpen and the plate i was eating off before i got to my second slice of toast, which arguably i shouldn't have been eating!

I would not recommend this hotel. In fact I would recommend not staying here. It is like the Britas Empire, only its not funny.

Room Tip: you want to make sure you are in the middle of a floor as that is where the wireless router is. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

This review was very disappointing, not least because it completely misrepresents the hotel! There is certainly no chlorine smell from the leisure centre as the pool isn't anywhere near the hotel entrance. Also, the leisure centre isn't in the basement, but on the ground floor. The hotel is cleaned regularly, and the WiFi is working fine. Many times a simple restart of the guests' device sort out any connectivity issues (especially with Apple products for some reason). Finally, other than the WiFi, nothing was brought to the attention of staff and upon checkout no one made any complaints. It is hard to make things better when nothing is said. That is the way sometimes, but we will continue working hard to keep guests happy, and if anything does go wrong, just let us know and we will do our best to fix it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is situated just a short stroll into the high street of Kendal, with its many shops, restaurants and bars. Parking is secure and undercover. The rooms overlook the river but the way the windows are situated you have to sit up on window ledge for the view! room clean and tea/coffee etc. replaced daily.
breakfast was okay, adequate but have had much more choice in other hotels. still for the price it is a good choice and I would certainly book again. It also allows dogs in rooms and bar, many of the pubs in Kendal also allow dogs and will even offer a water bowl.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayjayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your visit and nice review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your nice comments. We hope to warmly welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is good for the pool and leisure facilities and its location. but sadly that's where it stops.

The family room we stayed in was a nice size, (308) but the view of river is let down by condensation between the panes of glass and the draft coming in the the closed??? windows.

The service in the restaurant was poor it was cold, we were left waiting a long time for our food, never got asked if we wanted a drink and when the food arrived it was bland and not very warm

Also the choice on the over priced menu was very limited

For the money you could do far better

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We did not enjoy reading this review at all, as we find we are very competitively priced, and generally better priced than similar hotels in the area. We were obviously not the hotel for you, but we thank you for your feedback nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,158 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing