We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe everything you read!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't believe everything you read!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 2 nights from 17th January on a Groupon deal paid for by our children as a Christmas present. I'd read the reviews and I admit to being apprehensive about our accommodation.
On arrival I realised immediately that there was nothing to worry about. There is no smell of chlorine anywhere in the hotel, except in the swimming pool! The reception staff were friendly and helpful and our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, modern and well furnished. Every room has a river view. Our 3 course evening meal was lovely, picked from a choice of dishes, well presented and beautifully served. The same can be said of breakfast. The staff we met in the bar area and around the hotel were friendly and polite. The ones we spoke to were knowledgeable of the area and happy to suggest places to go and sites to see. We would highly recommend the Riverside Hotel and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We certainly enjoyed reading your review and thank you for posting it. Thanks for mentioning our staff in your review as well, they appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    405
    176
    59
    27
See reviews for
178
578
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

just spent 3 lovely comfy nights here we travelled by train -it's about 10 mins walk away, same distance to the town centre. check in -quick and easy,our room was huge well decorated and the t.v. was in the right place-facing the beds, loved the headboards with the lights on them, and the towel rail in the loo- must be the hottest ever!. Our deal included B/fast and evening meal which were both very substantial even. meal was presented beautifully by happy young pleasant staff who seemed to be there all the time we were. Beds were the comfiest wev'e had in hotels for ages! hospitality tray included lovely biscuits, our towels were super white and fluffy and were changed every day.--only faults we noticed were the paintwork on the windows is a bit grubby--and the throws on the beds were so faded and totally worn along the seam--wasting the look of the otherwise lovely room, despite that we would love to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We enjoyed reading your review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We particularly enjoyed the bit about our ever present staff! We're in the process of sorting a bit of painting as well, so thanks for letting us know about that too. We certainly hope to see you again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just got back from a groupon 2 nights stay at the riverside.
Firstly it doesn't smell of chlorine anywhere in the hotel like previously stated.
Very fast check in which might suit most, we would of preferred a map and a slight description of what to see etc etc. we arrived slightly early and left our bags and went for a wonder around the beautiful town.
I wanted to disagree with the other not so happy visitors but I have to agree, the rooms need a really good paint, they were stains on the walls near the bin (just looked like a tea bag splash) could of been easily wiped off. Dirty dado rail, piece of metal on the bathroom that must of been from a toilet roll holder was bent and needs removing, broken hair dryer. Bits like that really that needs a few mins attention.
Lovely view, soft bed, good choice of tea and coffee, plenty of wardrobe and draw space, iron and ironing board.
Staff wasn't very chatty, found I was the first to say Good morning etc etc (mostly to the restaurant staff).
The bar staff are more welcoming and chatty.
We didn't use the leisure facilities as they are open to the public and us going on a weekend It was very busy. But this was to be a expected and we didn't mind.
The meal on the first night was beautiful. We had the set 3 courses, which IS the same for all the guests.
We would return and would recommend it. It's a lovely hotel, just needs a little more attention to detail and more info please. Like most people I didn't want to complain during our short visit and don't what to put people off from going.
FAO, hotel staff we were in room 202 if you want to check my findings.

Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debjohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your candour. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and definitely appreciate your constructive comments as they will help us to improve. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and can only hope you notice the improvements if you were to visit again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Boro. England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I ordered the Champagne, Chocolates and Flowers for when we arrived. Unfortunately none of which were provided. I attended the reception to check that the late check out was still available and explained the situation to the receptionist, no apology was given although the late check out was available. After this there was very little communication between ourselves and the hotel. The room seemed dreary at first but during the stay it was apparent it was your typical hotel room. Kendal was excellent and really enjoyed the town but feel the next time we visit I would definitely seek a cheaper compromise.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the river but the windows are not the large enough to appreciate the view wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeetheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We were very sorry that we did not live up to this guest's expectations and that the requested items were not in the room upon arrival. We are normally on the ball with these things and will work to ensure it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic mini-break at the Riverside; Christmas Eve to Boxing Day. The staff were really helpful, friendly and had just the right balance of attentiveness without being pushy. The mulled wine and mince pies on arrival was a nice touch as was the Christmas gift and card in our room. The food was fantastic and we ate like kings. Service was great and the restaurant was spacious and nicely decorated. We managed a walk to the Kendal Castle on Christmas morning (walk routres available from reception) in preparation for massive Christmas lunch! Breakfasts were great with lots of choice on a hot and cold buffet. The hotel and our room were clean but looked a little drab and could do with a facelift; the bedroom windows had condensation inside. I would recommend this hotel as the staff, service and quality of food completely made up for any shortcomings in decor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We love that title as it is exactly what the Christmas meal should be; a feast! Thank you so much for visiting us over Christmas and we couldn't be happier with how things went. Thank you for all of your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,220 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,225 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good location, just a few yards from the centre of Kendal. It is well appointed and has a gym and pool. The food is very good and the service efficient. Most of the bedrooms have great river views. Could do with just a little TLC, but it is clean and good value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review. The chef certainly appreciates your kind words about our food and all of the staff thank you for mentioning them as well. We hope the next time you are looking for a great value break that we will see you again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend with my daughter and first trip away with our dog. Was made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Room was big and very clean. Good views of the river. Good breakfast and lovely swimming pool. Can't wait for our next visit which will be very soon

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyjaneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing