We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel itself is located in a great place well within walking distance of Kendal. Parking is good and staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a family room on the ground floor (003) which has great space and is modern and clean.
We used the leisure facilities whilst there which are dated and the pool is much smaller than the pictures suggest. The ladies changing facilities are small and fire damaged and were very busy at the time. I didn't think they were very clean at all.
The pool itself was warm, but there were swimming lessons going on at the time and you felt you couldn't swim at that end (not a big pool anyway) The Jacuzzi was very hot and the chlorine made your eyes water !
The only thing that spoilt our stay was the noise in the evenings / night. The lift was very loud and doors banged constantly so not a relaxing stay at all. When we did sleep, we were woken again within minutes with someone else opening and slamming their door.
We went as a family with an 8 year old and he was so tired and grumpy the following day which spoilt the Sunday. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful.
I would not stay here again as I paid £118 to be kept awake all night but I understand this is not the hotel itself, but the guests. Maybe slow shutting doors on rooms should be considered.

Room Tip: Try for a room on a higher floor away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for staying, although I am sorry you were unable to get a restful night's sleep. A couple of the doors around your room do need attention to stop them slamming, which we will sort. We do appreciate that you enjoyed the location and rated the rooms highly as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    394
    174
    57
    27
See reviews for
172
562
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a reasonably modern hotel by the river, a short walk from Kendal Town Centre. Very friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable. There is also a leisure centre attached with a gym and a pool. It is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
It is great to receive such high praise from someone who clearly is staying in a lot of hotels given the number of reviews you've posted. We thank you for mentioning our hard-working staff, clean accommodation and great location. Hopefully we'll be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I booked a stay at The Riverside Hotel - Kendal for the night of Thursday 20th February 2013.

We found the hotel was well situated next to the river in Kendal offering good views accross it from our
room together with easy access to Kendal.

The reception staff were very pleasant and booking in and out was no issue.

The hotel was generally ok but let itself down on four areas:

1. The hotel is showing its age and a lack of maintenance shows in most of the public areas together with our room. The windows particularly in the restaurant were in need of a major overhall as the paint was peeling off and had signs of rot. Many windows let draughts in.

2. A large glass of wine is classed as 175ml and not 250ml - a point my wife was most upset about - maybe this is personal taste but when you get rid of the kids for a short break a large glass of wine goes down a treat.

3. The water in the swimming pool was quite cool and so reduced the time we spent in the leisure suit. On the plus side the sauna was red hot.

4. A blood stain on one of the bed sheets.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review and tips. We are working on a full painting of the hotel, which will help of course. We used to have 250ml glasses of wine, but found they weren't very popular, thus we changed to 175ml. Perhaps it is time to look at reinstating the 250ml. I do apologise for the issues you had whilst staying with us. We will work to improve on them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, co down
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Decided to book the Riverside for the night due to the location in town/leisure facilities.We parked our car around lunchtime and was able to leave our bags with the reception which was no bother at all. Staff very helpful.Told we would be able to get into our room after 3pm, so myself and daughter when for a shop around Kendal which was only a very short walk away. Got back around 5pm and got our key for the room. My 11 yr old daughter was really looking forward to a swim after all the shopping. Was told the leisure facilities was closed due to a fire in the changing rooms.We were extremely disappointed, and found it difficult to understand how the facilities were going to be closed all weekend (even the gym was out of action).Room was a good size for families and great that we all had a bed.Plenty of tea/coffee facilities in room, but no shower gel provided?? Breakfast next day very good and plenty to eat. When we came back down to our room after breakfast we heard a dog barking and it took us a few minutes to work out where it was coming from.It was from two doors away and the owners were obviously at breakfast and left it in the room. All I can say - if we were having a lie in, we would not have been impressed. It barked and barked and barked, growled, scrapped at the door trying to get out. It certainly would put me off staying at a hotel again which allowed dogs.

Room Tip: make sure you aren't put in a room next door to dog owners.We had room 8 facing the River which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review and stay. I am sorry that the leisure facilities were closed. As mentioned in our response to a previous review, with safety being a primary concern, we felt it prudent to close the facilities to allow the smoke and any airborne chemical residue to completely dissipate before opening back up. I think you'd agree that it would be best to avoid strenuous activity in such an environment. Regarding the dog, this kind of thing is very rare (to be honest we don't get many dogs here) but unfortunate. We do our very best to locate to owners in this uncommon situation and 99 per cent of the time we do and they sort it quickly. I am sorry this was not the case during your stay. We certainly don't hide the fact that we accept dogs and if ever you were to book in again, please let it be known that you would prefer a room not near a dog. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The river view was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice although a little tired. I think this is true of most of the hotel, although I did find it had a certain charm. The leisure suite was nice - it was just a shame we were staying when they had the fire so only used it once! The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your visit and for your review. We are working on painting the entire hotel, so that should help refresh the place. I do apologise about the leisure facilities being out of order. The safety of our guests is paramount in such a situation so I am sure you understand why we had to close it. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights (Mon Tue) and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. A great central location. The room was very comfortable, large and warm the weather was freezing but still had a great time. The prices in the bar were cheaper than the bars in the town, the only problem was the fire was for decoration only.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our staff. we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be good value for money. The fire does kick off heat in the bar, but maybe it is time to look into getting something a bit different. Thanks again and we do hope we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived about 3:30,we were directed to the car park(which is free for guests) just next door, although no access directly into hotel. We were greeted by a warm welcome from the girl on reception.

Our room was on the 4th floor, clean and I think it had just been painted(slight smell of gloss) but it didn't bother us. We ate in the restaurant as it was Valentine's day, food was lovely and all the ladies got a red rose from the hotel, very nice touch!

We did get chance to use the pool,before a small fire had broke out in the ladies changing rooms(hair dryer I believe) we had to be evacuated, but the staff were very professional and handled the situation well.

We would have like to use the pool again, but the gym had to be closed due to the smoke. Overall had a great weekend away,only negative- the windows could do with being replaced.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your valentines stay with us, despite the smoky conditions in the gym on Saturday. Thanks for your comments about our staff who did do a great job under the circumstances. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing