We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It always the little things”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Easy to find right on the side of the river parked outside 1 hour no return. Gated hotel car park next door. Easy check in room on 3 rd floor all going well. Lift not working oops,got to room large and spacious overlooking the river, no 3 pin sockets working back to reception,( fixed within 15 minutes) set up laptop to do some work wi if not working as in the computer can see the hotel wi fi but can,t " Shake hands" . Had a beer in the bar and barman re set the router to no avail. Easy atmosphere in the bar and plenty of activity in the hotel as it doubles as a spa. Did not eat in but had breakfast again pleasant atmosphere with plenty of choice. I slept like a log and apart from the little things ( lift now working) I enjoyed the stay. Excellent location for exploring the lakes and at£75 worth the money. Would stay again and would recommend well done to the management team and staff.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We're happy you enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. Thanks also for mentioning our staff as well. We are sorry the WiFi was temperamental whilst you stayed, but we're working on getting a whole new system installed in the near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Spent three nights here hotel fine and handy for all , no major problems but needs a bit of a makeover to give it a lift room had great river views shame the double gazed windows had condensation trapped between panels. Pool gym sauna great and local pubs all just a short distance away enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Check you can see through the double glazed units lots have condensation trapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your visit. We always work hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit and refurbishment/painting is going on now. We hope if you do visit us again you'll see the differences. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Spent weekend here recently and given the previous reviews was really looking forward to it. However from the initial welcome (or not) at reception. Allocated the wrong room not a good start. Hotel and rooms are tired. Staff very lethargic, receptions don't raise their heads as you come in, postage stamp swimming pool which when we got in no one bothered to tell us was going to be halved by swimming lessons which made it a joke. Had dinner on the first night and from the moment we arrived to leave the dining room we were not given a second to breath ordered meal it came finished taken away main course brought finished taken away sweet menu brought got the impression staff were desperate to get home. So so disappointed

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays_yippee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are very sorry to read this review, not least because our staff are such a credit to the hotel. We are sorry that you did not experience the service we are known for. The hotel and rooms are not tired as we keep them up to date with repainting and maintenance. We do value your feedback and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a deal with Wowcher for £149 for two nights bed & breakfast and dinner on one night. We had to pay £15 per night supplement for a weekend stay so total cost was £179.
Overall we got good value for money, it's a nice hotel internally, room was smart and done out nicely and clean. Location was good with just a small walk into the town centre.
Staff were very helpful and service very good throughout.
The evening meal was excellent, all three courses were very nice and plentiful. Normally the meal would be £25 per head and worth it. Breakfast was also very nice, plenty of choices of cereals, fruit, yoghurt's and hot food, tea/coffee and toast.
There was free use of the sap and gym facilities as well. We never used the gym (which was very popular) but used the spa including the jacuzzi, sauna & steam room. The pool was small but busy so we didn't use that.
There was also free parking right next to the hotel.

Overall a good hotel, very good value for the break but two things I would like to point out that could be improved.
From the outside the hotel looks a bit run down, particularly walking towards the hotel over the bridge from the town. A lick of paint/varnish wouldn't go amiss.
The only other thing was the shower in the bath. I'm only 5' 8" but had to crouch down to get my head under the shower and I was only about 4" away from touching the ceiling in there so anyone 6' or above would really struggle.

Room Tip: We overlooked the river which was a nice view. I would ask about the showers as we had to crouch dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thanks so much for your review and stay. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be such good value. We are also very pleased you enjoyed your meals with us. Regarding the exterior of the hotel; it is in our short-term plan to have this updated and painted. Given the hotels position directly on the river bank it is quite a big job but rest assured it is in the process of being sorted. Thanks again and we hope you'll visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at the Riverside again recently , the hotel is still great value for money , fantastic location , and the staff are extremely helpful , friendly and cant do enough for you,the food is brill , we cant fault the hotel or room was big ,clean plenty towels / tea/coffee/milk etc in the room and if you want more no problem in getting as much as you require from reception , plus the pool / gym / etc are the icing on the cake .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bug700es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We really appreciate you visiting us again and for posting this 5-star review. We also thank you for your kind words about our staff who are certainly worth their weight in gold! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A lovely place to stay which is right on the riverside, with full use of the sauna, steam room and spa etc during your stay and the pool although a little small is great for a dip before dinner. The food was great and the bar is very relaxed. All the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The Hotel is a very short walk from the local shops or if you wanted to explore the lakes more as we did they are just a short drive away.
The only thing I will say is there is a bridge that passes the hotel over the river which can get a little noisy at times as it’s one of the main routes to the shops but if you close your room window it shouldn’t bother you too much. This certainly wouldn’t put us off coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for visiting us and for your lovely review (especially the bit about our staff!). We are pleased you enjoyed the delightfully bustling town of Kendal. We do suggest that the lightest of sleepers may want to avoid the 2 rooms on the road side (although with excellent views towards the ruins of Kendal Castle!), but you are right that it really doesn't bother most people. Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to welcome you back as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Went for romantic time and found hotel lacking in atmosphere.
When we got into our room,paint work was badly marked, bath had black mildew growing round it and in the bedroom there had been an obv leak from above and it had just been painted over.
Resturant is in need of painting and not enough staff.
Management need to spend money on decoration. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wends441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your review and wonderful comments about our staff. You are quite right about the painting, which is why we are busy painting the entire hotel, with less than half to go. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,154 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £84 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing