We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dissapointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, myself, my husband and two of our children 12 and 9.
After reading the reviews which were mostly really good, I felt a little disappointed. The Hotel to us seemed quite dated although I think it is currently undergoing updating and redecoration. Our rooms were very large and spacious, the bathrooms clean but a mix of new and old and a bit tatty in places, it's like they are trying to update on a budget. The breakfast was ok , but average quality and very little choice of fruit, tinned grapefruit only was on offer. Perhaps we were expecting too much.
We have stayed in lots of different UK hotels so compared with those this one was pretty average overall. Having said that the staff were all very friendly and helpful and service was great.
Kendal itself is a little bleak and I would recommend if coming from the South, travelling a little further into the lakes to stay. A good base though as very easy to jump in the car and get to different areas of the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saraSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are, of course, sorry that you were a bit disappointed with your stay. We appreciate you letting us know the areas you feel we can improve, which is helpful. We also thank you for your comments about our staff and are happy to have been able to offer terrific service. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    386
    172
    57
    27
See reviews for
168
553
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had one night here after a concert at The Brewery Arts Centre. We had Room 203 and were immediately surprised by it's large size. One double bed and a single. The double was a standard and consequently quite small but we persevered as we had dumped our stuff on the single. More than enough complimentary stuff on the tea tray. The bathroom was clean if just a bit 'tatty'. Some mould growth on the tiles and the bath side was broken. The chipboard units around the sink are aged and cracked but don't let this put you off as everything worked to a good standard. The breakfast offered was both a hot and cold buffet and completely self service. Fairly standard, it was OK. I used the steam room which wasn't great at first as it didn't create enough steam until a regular showed me how to 'tickle' the thermostat with a bottle of water, then it worked fine. Real ale as well in the bar from Hawkshead. Happy days. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Very enjoyable review, thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are happy you would stay with us again. Thank you for letting us know about the little niggles as well; always helpful. We'll see you again hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked this relatively last minute and predominantly because of the fact that the hotel is dog friendly.
The staff are all gracious and welcoming and there is a sense of professional and appropriate warmth from all that are interacted with.
Very much enjoyed it and will be staying there again next time we are in Kendal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jai_namaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Lovely review thank you. We appreciate the 5-star rating as well as your wonderful comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We found the location excellent - easy to explore the many attributes of Kendal and private parking was a definite plus. We were disappointed with our main courses - the duck was dry, tough infact the worst I have had and the pork was also dry and not very nice - however the rest of the meal was nice, as was our fish and chips in the bar on the following night. My scone was also lovely.
I would change the valances on the beds as these were grubby and trailed on floor, however I believe it is type of Valance that is the problem. A little more attention required to dusty areas ie large window on steps overlooking River definitely needed some tlc!
We had a Groupon Deal and therefore this was definitely value for money. The staff, without exception were lovely, very helpful and courteous. The spa facilities were great, for a hotel of its size more than I expected. We would stay here again if visiting Kendall.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for giving us a frank and honest review; all feedback is great appreciated – positive or negative. I have passed on your comments regarding the evening meal to our Kitchen team. I am very pleased to read that our staff gave you a warm welcome; we pride ourselves on excellent service through out. Please keep a look out on Groupon or on our own website for more great deals throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely hotel in great location, close to Windermere. Lovely views over the river. Room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Good food if a little pricey in the restaurant. Nice Spa and gym but pool is a little small and had children's swimming lessons (1 child not a group) , looks like they had a fire in ladies changing room which was under repair. However overall a really nice place to stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time to recommend us to fellow trip advisors. I am pleased to tell you that the ladies changing area in the gym has now been fixed and looking great again. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Kendal is a good staging point for exploring Lake District ( was what we initially felt ). Better option is to stay at Winderemere OR if you are looking for awesome views of the lakes then best is to stay at the Cottages on the lake. 20 Miles from Kendal into the Wastwater is where you should head to and stay. Keswick town is also excellent should you want to be closer to the fab drives and also need some sort of habitation. I would go straight to the lakes and stay in a self catering cottage next time.

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms overlooking the river but don't expect river views from the rooms as windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udaypilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We appreciate your review of Kendal and its location relative to various points of interest in the Lakes. Many will find it helpful and we agree, it does depend on what someone is looking for. We are in a bustling market town, but not so far that you cannot take advantage of everything the Lake District has to offer. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here recently with family. Room on ground floor, couldn't see the lake for condensation covering Windows, paint peeling, stains all over walls a completely soulless room. We were put next door to 3 young lads on a boozy weekend with a connecting door to their room & u cud here everything not great at 2am with a little one. Spa dated and tiny! Breakfast was average. In a nutshell stay somewhere else if u can - its not the worst but it's not the best. It was not worth £140 that we paid! Won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We would have to disagree with this review's title. We are a fantastic place to visit at the foot of the Lake District. If staff had been made aware, we would have gladly sorted out any problems raised. Unfortunately, no mention was made of any of these issues. If the neighbours were noisy, we could have found another room, no problem. We are just about finished a complete repaint of the hotel's interior; unfortunately this room is next on the list and wasn't done before these guests stayed. We aren't sure what "dated" means for a spa, but for a hotel of our size in a small market town it is actually perfect. We are sorry we weren't the hotel for these guests, but wish we would have been made aware whilst they were staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing