We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel is centrally sited by the river so easy walking in and around Kendal with some fan Indians nearby.
Reception staff were helpful if a little disorganised - gave us 2 times for our room to be ready both were wrong, still not ready by 3.30m so left bags and went out.
Bar has a balcony looking out on the river, very nice and breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. Our room was clean and had all the equipment you would expect.

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the river, arrive early and you will wait for a room so be prepared to drop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy you had a nice stay, even if it got off to a slightly rocky start. For reference, check-in is at 3pm and we apologise that you had to wait until 3:30 to fully check-in. The balcony is a great spot to catch some sun and enjoy a drink. We hope to see you again, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place do lovely fresh toasted sandwiches an Panini's. The staff are very helpful and willing to go the extra mile, even making things for you that's aren't exactly on the menu - such as your own combination of sandwich fillings.

Also if you head to the back of the bar area there's a patio that can be accessed that looks over the river. Beautiful view on a sunny day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for stopping by for lunch. We are delighted at your comments about our lunch and you are right about the patio overlooking the river; it is an absolute sun trap! We are very accommodating when it comes to your food choices, so if there is ever anything you want just let us know! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and my family stayed here for two nights and overall it was a pleasant experience. Staff were friendly and made your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The location was marvellous ( a good base for Kendal town) The food was very tasty and there was a wide choice of food. One thing I would say is that the hotel advertises they have Wifi across the hotel; we were in room 110 and there was no Wifi! We had to go down to reception if we wanted Wifi. Despite this it was an enjoyable stay and The Riverside will sure be visited again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngfamily8697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and 5-star rating. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and all of the staff thank you for your wonderful comments. Thank you for your review of our food as well. A new hotel-wide WiFi system was actually being installed during your stay, although we were told there would be little to no downtime. We apologise that there was for your room. As the new system is up and running now, you're next visit will be without any WiFi problems at all! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, myself, my husband and two of our children 12 and 9.
After reading the reviews which were mostly really good, I felt a little disappointed. The Hotel to us seemed quite dated although I think it is currently undergoing updating and redecoration. Our rooms were very large and spacious, the bathrooms clean but a mix of new and old and a bit tatty in places, it's like they are trying to update on a budget. The breakfast was ok , but average quality and very little choice of fruit, tinned grapefruit only was on offer. Perhaps we were expecting too much.
We have stayed in lots of different UK hotels so compared with those this one was pretty average overall. Having said that the staff were all very friendly and helpful and service was great.
Kendal itself is a little bleak and I would recommend if coming from the South, travelling a little further into the lakes to stay. A good base though as very easy to jump in the car and get to different areas of the lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saraSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are, of course, sorry that you were a bit disappointed with your stay. We appreciate you letting us know the areas you feel we can improve, which is helpful. We also thank you for your comments about our staff and are happy to have been able to offer terrific service. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had one night here after a concert at The Brewery Arts Centre. We had Room 203 and were immediately surprised by it's large size. One double bed and a single. The double was a standard and consequently quite small but we persevered as we had dumped our stuff on the single. More than enough complimentary stuff on the tea tray. The bathroom was clean if just a bit 'tatty'. Some mould growth on the tiles and the bath side was broken. The chipboard units around the sink are aged and cracked but don't let this put you off as everything worked to a good standard. The breakfast offered was both a hot and cold buffet and completely self service. Fairly standard, it was OK. I used the steam room which wasn't great at first as it didn't create enough steam until a regular showed me how to 'tickle' the thermostat with a bottle of water, then it worked fine. Real ale as well in the bar from Hawkshead. Happy days. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank garstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Very enjoyable review, thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are happy you would stay with us again. Thank you for letting us know about the little niggles as well; always helpful. We'll see you again hopefully!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked this relatively last minute and predominantly because of the fact that the hotel is dog friendly.
The staff are all gracious and welcoming and there is a sense of professional and appropriate warmth from all that are interacted with.
Very much enjoyed it and will be staying there again next time we are in Kendal.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jai_namaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Lovely review thank you. We appreciate the 5-star rating as well as your wonderful comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We found the location excellent - easy to explore the many attributes of Kendal and private parking was a definite plus. We were disappointed with our main courses - the duck was dry, tough infact the worst I have had and the pork was also dry and not very nice - however the rest of the meal was nice, as was our fish and chips in the bar on the following night. My scone was also lovely.
I would change the valances on the beds as these were grubby and trailed on floor, however I believe it is type of Valance that is the problem. A little more attention required to dusty areas ie large window on steps overlooking River definitely needed some tlc!
We had a Groupon Deal and therefore this was definitely value for money. The staff, without exception were lovely, very helpful and courteous. The spa facilities were great, for a hotel of its size more than I expected. We would stay here again if visiting Kendall.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for giving us a frank and honest review; all feedback is great appreciated – positive or negative. I have passed on your comments regarding the evening meal to our Kitchen team. I am very pleased to read that our staff gave you a warm welcome; we pride ourselves on excellent service through out. Please keep a look out on Groupon or on our own website for more great deals throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £81 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing