We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room, modern bathroom & comfortable bed but otherwise a bit shabby”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good size room, modern bathroom & comfortable bed but otherwise a bit shabby”
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The bedroom was very large and spacious and the bed really comfortable but the wardrobes, draws, carpet and decor looked shabby and old fashioned. The en-suite however looked new and had 'Roca' and 'Grohe' fittings - perhaps they are in the process of updating ? The breakfast was above average but was once again let down by tired and old fashioned furniture. The gym was well equipped - we did try to use the pool but it was being used for children's swimming lessons which was a shame and there were only two chairs around the pool - both being used by the parents of those having swimming lessons! Overall all glad we only stopped one night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    402
    176
    58
    27
See reviews for
175
573
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
halifax
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

overpriced food in a rather dull restaurant. Old fashioned hotel. Said they were disabled friendly but absolutely dreadful for anyone elderly or in a wheelchair. Great swimming facilities but nowhere to change if you needed accessible facilities. Ramp was dangerous and they had old fashioned chair lifts up and down the stairs to the "accessible" bedroom.
Find somewhere else to stay if you can.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Stayed at the riverside for special 1 night away birthday trip. Leisure faclities were excellent and reception staff good. Rooms very hot, poor ventalation and not very clean. OLd beds and fixtures. Dinning room was un welcoming at breakfast time, tables and chairs very old and in poor state of repair. The staff were unhelpful and we had to ask several times for tea/coffee and toast.

We thought it was very expensive for 1 nights stay in a hotel that was in need of money spending on it to bring it back to the good standard it once was

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIC9002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
This review is out of date, as all the rooms and bathrooms have been totally refurbished. Please see the photos for pictures of how the rooms now look. They are fabulous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at this Hotel in March and had a great time. The food was lovely and there was plenty of choice, the staff couldn't do enough for you especially as I have lots of food allergies!!! The room was lovely with a new bathroom and overlooked the river. It was nice and quiet. The pool area was nice and the water was warm and the steam room was good - just what you need after a long walk!!

My only gripe was that the Restaurant could do with some modernisation but breakfast was nice and there was plenty!! Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Excellent value for money and very close to Kendal Town Centre.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValkenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed at this hotel for our 2nd anniversary and really enjoyed our stay.
The hotel itself is really nice, but the rooms and restaurant are looking a bit shabby, like they could do with a few licks of paint here and there. The food was really, really good. We paid £99 each for 3 nights b+b and 2 evening meals, and weren't expecting the food to be of this quality! Everything tasted lovely, and looked like alot of effort had been put into the presentation, too. Drinks were very reasonable, too, and there was alot of choice for breakfast.
The bar is lovely, drinks are reasonable in there too, and its a nice place to sit after an evening meal. They also have games and cards you can borrow, which was a nice touch.
The room was comfortable and clean, although had no hot water and barely any heating! This didn't pose a problem for us though, as we used the swimming pool each day and showered there instead. The room wasn't especially cold, but we did need to keep our jumpers on! All in all, i'm sure this could have been sorted out if we had asked, but like i said, it didn't pose a problem for us!
The pool area is excellent and very clean. We used the facilities every day of our stay.
The hotel itself is in a good spot, and it only takes 5-10 mins to walk into town. We went to an Indian restaurant called Mumbai which was really good...cross the bridge and keep going, its on the right on the way into town.
The staff seemed lovely, especially those in the restaurant and bar, and were always willing to help.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return. The hotel is part of a small chain and we stayed in the 'Newby Bridge' hotel last year, which was very similar although seemed more of a country hotel, rather than a town hotel, which this is. For £198 for an entire weekend away, this hotel just hit the spot!
Hope this review helps, and if you are worried about it being cold, just take an extra jumper!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkGroove2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 12 Feb to 15 Feb. On booking we asked for a four poster but was told by the receptionist that one of the double rooms was nicer with a better view and better bathroom, this was not the case. On arrival we were given a room 001 on lower floor, room was very small and tiny bathroom, I went back to reception and asked if all rooms were this small and was given 2 keys to check out other rooms on 3rd floor. Both were family rooms with a double and single bed in and were identical, much bigger room and bathroom. We did ask if we could pay for an upgrade but was told there were none available. We chose room 306, unfortunately the double bed slanted down on the left so we ended up sleeping in separate beds, don't know what we would have done if the separate bed had not been there. Hotel was very warm and hot water boiling surprised other reviews say hotel is cold and no hot water but central heating does make a racket. The meals were very nice and the bar area very modern. the swimming pool, gym and sauna looked great but i did not use them my husband did. The bar prices for drinks were reasonable but food prices looked expensive. The staff in the restaurant were foreign and one young girl who had only recently started looked very nervous and hardly smiled. We paid £236 for this break which I felt was very good for 3 nights b&b and 2 nights 3 course evening meal, one night which was Valentines evening. Overall I thought good value for money with minor hiccups. The location was perfect just a few minutes walk to shops pubs and restaurants. I would recommend the Wambamboo chinese restaurant excellent value for money and decent size portions of food. Aslo the White Hart pub (which is up a small alleyway) did excellent food decent portions presented beautifully and reasonably priced. I would recommend this Hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2009

HAD my daughters wedding here the front of house staff, were very good the bar staff the waitress were spot on ,the food was very good and plenty of it ,the bed rooms were good the Price was very very good you could not fault the place

  • Liked — plenty of room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigugly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing