We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Having spent one night at the Riverside Hotel on our way back home, my husband and I found the Riverside to be a relaxing stop. We were checked into our room efficiently, which was clean and comfortable. We decided to dine in the restaurant as we had had a long journey, our table like the bedroom looked onto the River Kent, the staff were friendly and prompt in taking our order. After a comforable night and an easy check out, left us refreshed to continue our journey. I would stay at this Hotel again if ever we decided to tour the South Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfellowdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

We have just returned from a two-night stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a reasonable location but is very shabby and the service is barely acceptable.
Rooms were very old-fashioned, the breakfast was pretty awful self-service with all food items constantly running out and the cuisine bad to mediocre. I wouldn't recommend this hotel! To add insult to injury I discovered they had overcharged me by over £200!

In addition when returning the hotel on Saturday evening the bar was closed at 11.00pm! All in all not a pleasant experience! I did not try the Spa so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

This review is out of date, as all the rooms and bathrooms have been totally refurbished. Please see the photos for pictures of how the rooms now look. They are fabulous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed one night 11/7/09, definitely overpriced, restaurant food well presented but wouldn't fill a sparrow, very small portions considering it was £22/head it was poor.
Rooms were clean and comfortable,but found to our horror my husband and I awoke to 22 flea bites,and other residents children running up and down the corridor knocking on all doors early in the morning.We spoke to the receptionist about the bites,and got the impression it had occurred previously judging by her unsurprised reaction.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lummys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

We are appalled by this review. The hotel does not have or ever has had fleas. We take our housekeeping very seriously and as such this would not be able to happen. This complaint was not reported to reception, if it had, it would have been reported to our general manager immediately. We are most upset by this comment and do not feel that it is genuine. In regards to the comments about the children in the corridor; had it been reported to reception they would have spoken to the family in question.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Where to start ? I was staying at this hotel with my wife for one night. The room was very tired and needed some updating .It was nowhere near the standard you come to expect for £100 a night accommodation. I have always been of the opinion you get what you pay for but in this case sadly not. The only good thing was the pool area, which was very relaxing, and not a lot of people using it. In the morning we went for breakfast, when we entered the restaurant we were not greeted and found our own table. After ten minutes we had to ask for coffee, which was brought to the table without any milk. We asked the member of staff for the milk, which to our amazement she took a jug off two tables and created one full one from the two and gave it to us. (If this is what they think is acceptable what else were they doing in the kitchen??) The food was poor, looked like everything had been deep-fried and had been out for quite a while as it was dried out. I will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WATSON3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

This review is out of date, as all the rooms and bathrooms have been totally refurbished. Please see the photos for pictures of how the rooms now look. They are fabulous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The bedroom was very large and spacious and the bed really comfortable but the wardrobes, draws, carpet and decor looked shabby and old fashioned. The en-suite however looked new and had 'Roca' and 'Grohe' fittings - perhaps they are in the process of updating ? The breakfast was above average but was once again let down by tired and old fashioned furniture. The gym was well equipped - we did try to use the pool but it was being used for children's swimming lessons which was a shame and there were only two chairs around the pool - both being used by the parents of those having swimming lessons! Overall all glad we only stopped one night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

overpriced food in a rather dull restaurant. Old fashioned hotel. Said they were disabled friendly but absolutely dreadful for anyone elderly or in a wheelchair. Great swimming facilities but nowhere to change if you needed accessible facilities. Ramp was dangerous and they had old fashioned chair lifts up and down the stairs to the "accessible" bedroom.
Find somewhere else to stay if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Stayed at the riverside for special 1 night away birthday trip. Leisure faclities were excellent and reception staff good. Rooms very hot, poor ventalation and not very clean. OLd beds and fixtures. Dinning room was un welcoming at breakfast time, tables and chairs very old and in poor state of repair. The staff were unhelpful and we had to ask several times for tea/coffee and toast.

We thought it was very expensive for 1 nights stay in a hotel that was in need of money spending on it to bring it back to the good standard it once was

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIC9002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

This review is out of date, as all the rooms and bathrooms have been totally refurbished. Please see the photos for pictures of how the rooms now look. They are fabulous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,158 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing