We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel in England”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Terrific hotel: lovely views of the river, including a window you could sit in. Wonderful, friendly staff. Great food. Excellent location. And best of all: the building does not smell like a hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinFamily055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Wow! What an accolade! Thank you for giving us that honour! We hope that you have found some other great hotels on your travels in the UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

My hubby and i stayed here on a 2 night break. Room was nice and clean although a bit small.Great views over the river. good location. Shops only a few minutes away.Staff very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate Donnelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Beautiful building, and great recently refurbished rooms, with lovely modern bathrooms. Didn't sleep great because the bed was incredibly hot. Service at reception was appalling... there was very often no one there. The first impressions from the lobby are very poor. Nice pool and jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna. Lovely terrace by the bar overlooking the river - perfect on a nice warm summer's evening.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Thank you for your review, and for your compliments about our new rooms. We are really sorry about the heat problem, the hotel does not have air conditioning so when the temperature does rise above 25 (on the rare occasions in the Lake District) it is a problem for us, but this is not usually a common occurrence. I am glad that you got to enjoy our new balcony looking over the River which is perfect for the weather is more comfortable to sit outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 14th July set on the riverside, with a unique history.
We were allocated a spacious twin room [incl one double bed] on the 2nd floor, overlooking the river. The room was very clean as was the lovely modern ensuite.
Unfortunately the room was stifling so I went down to reception [the room telephone did not work] and asked if I could have a table fan and was told 'Yes'.[the hotel is not airconditioned]
After 2 or 3 requests was told there were none left!
Dinner in the restaurant was dissapointing, limited menu, and could not believe it when told they had no white wine!!
The next night we ate in the bar with a good and varied menu and white wine! However the buffet breakfast was good but the hot breakfast was spoiled by cold plates, apparently the hot plate machine had not worked for sometime.
The skeleton staff, who worked extremely hard, were friendly and helpful, especially the lovely manager and Eve in the restaurant, who is an asset to this hotel.
Friends of ours had a nearby room [with a fan!] and none of us could fault the lovely rooms apart from the fact the room safe was virtually on the floor on the bottom shelf.
Very awkward to access!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limetree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. We are really pleased that you liked our newly refurbished rooms but we are very sorry it was too hot for you. I have passed on your comments to Eva regarding her service she is very pleased to get such great personal feedback and thanks you.
The fact that we had no white wine in the restaurant is puzzling and something that will be looked into, as we have a brilliant large organic wine menu which should be available at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed her for one night only (thankfully) returning from holiday. The room I was shown was not a King Size as ordered,. The choices I was offered were not much better but we did eventually manage to get a twin room with king size beds. Sadly however the room was near two doors that banged on a regular basis. The evening meal was limited and moderate value. The cooked breakfast was cold. I pointed this out to the staff and nothing was done. I would suggest if you have booked in to this hotel check your room before leaving reception otherwise avoid it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Random_guest_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

I am sorry that the room you requested was not provided, I have spoken to Reception and this should not happen again. The hotel is usually very quiet due to its rooms facing onto the River Kent, but it is sometimes the case, like all hotels, that we do get the odd noisy guest in which cannot be avoided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

6 lads on a weekend golfing break. Rooms were clean, well presented and recently renovated. The bar area is nice, and the breakfast was pretty good. The pool and gym are decent enough for a small hotel - all in all it was just what we were after. There were no negative comments from anyone in the group and we'd definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irvtheswerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Thank you for your great comments, and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed hear for one night, extremely pleased with the room was very clean and comfortable and modern, better than expected. Food was excellent, The 3 course meal was top class. Breakfast had a wide variety of choice. helpful and friendly staff. Great location for Lake Windermere only fifteen minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have passed your lovely comments about the food on to the chefs. We hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,156 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing