We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My wife and i found this hotel to be good value we had a room looking out over the river,it was clean and confortable.Tthe food in the hotel was to a good standard.The staff were very helpfull.The service in the dining room was a bit slow but okay.There is a nice heated pool in hotel which you can use and a gym .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of the hotel. We hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel for one night on the 16th August in a Family room. The room was lovely and over looked the river. The room had a double and single bed and was very spacious with a beautiful large bathroom. Everything was very clean and the decor was modern and tasteful with lovely furniture. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen was crisp and white. Also in the room was a large flat screen TV and plenty of Tea, Coffee and Horlicks with biscuits. There was good internet access in the room. The staff were very welcoming and all though we didn't have time to use them the leisure facilities were very good. Breakfast in the morning was between 7am and 9.30am and was a buffet style which was plentiful with a good selection of cooked and continental and there was plenty of tables in the dining room which over looked the river. There was very little noise in the hotel or from outside which helped with sleeping.Car Parking was very good it is their own private underground car park with plenty of spaces. This is a lovely Hotel and I would highly recommend it and Kendal is a great location with Windermere and Ambleside near by.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junctionmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Thank you for writing such a brilliant review for our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed being in Kendal. Hope that on your next stay you get a chance to enjoy the great leisure facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here overnight on route to visit family. Room was well fitted, comfortable and clean. We stayed in a large double and a family room. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Small pool which keeps children happy. Also sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym for adults.Nice bar/lounge and balcony overlooking river. Bar food was fine but a bit limited for vegeterians. Breakfast was good and included in price. Very good location for town as everything is nearby. Plenty of nice restaurants/bistros near by. Not a destination hotel but very pleasant if you are in the area. Only drawback is for those with pushchairs as there are a few stairs here and there. Staff were very happy to help though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Riverside Hotel. Thank you for you great comments about the staff team, they work hard to provide a friendly efficient service and its always fantastic when they receive comments like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have just spent three days at the Riverside Hotel and we really could not fault it at all. Despite the mixed weather we really enjoyed our first stay in the lakes. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, our rooms were brilliant, large and comfortable with flat screen tvs, nice bathrooms and a brilliant choice of free beverages, not just the usual tea and coffee. The staff are so friendly and the chef is really to be complimented on his meals - we had a different choice each night and enjoyed every one. The large bar/lounge area is nice to relax in after dinner or for afternoon tea. All in all, probably the nicest hotel we have stayed in and hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Good size room and a great location with under cover parking. Staff were helpful and friendly. An extra pair of hands behind the bar would not have gone a miss. Check in was slow with the rooms not ready on time but they did switch us and tried to help best they could. Breakfast was perfect, plenty of choice and good quality. Pool area was clean and good for a dip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Thank you for your great comments and about the hotel, but I am sorry that the service was not up to the standard which it should have been.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Arrived at this hotel for a wedding this past weekend. Despite phoning for a travel cot six days before arrival and being told that one would be set it up it was not and had to wait over five hours for this to be done,meaning we had to keep our little boy up until such time as it was done. Went for a meal in the hotel on the friday night as part of a prebooked dinner at £20 a head and was very very dissapointed by what was served as veggie "stir fry" it was absolutely appauling if this had been served to those eating meat it would have been met with no end of complaints. Despite the food not being touched staff never asked why. Also upon a family member checking the al a carte menu the next day we actually paid more than what was stated on that for what can only be described as slop! The room was also hotter than the sun! We barely slept for two nights and upon asking for a fan we were told by staff that they would try and get one and would phone to let us know what was happening (as we would have purchased one). No call ever came. We were just so bitterly disappointed with this hotel having paid almost £100 per night for the room and breakfast( which again was geared mainly towards meat eaters), We never had anyone come and empty the bin either which was a wee bit of a nightmare as we had all the wee mans nappies and milk cartons which needed getting rid off. We also had to humf the pram up and down stairs as the lift was down a set of stairs it just all and all was unpleasant and we couldn't leave fast enough in the morning! On a more positive note, the rooms were nice and had lovely river views.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny_sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

We are really sorry that your stay was not all it should have been for you. The hotel takes its food very seriously and I am very shocked and surprised that the food was such a let down for you. I am slightly confused by your comment about an A La Carte Menu though as we do not have one of these? We have a three course Table D’Hote but this is charged at £22.50 which is more than the £20 you paid? The hotel does not have air conditioning and on the rare occurrence that the hotel is too hot for guests our staff do try very hard to get fans to everyone that has asked, I am very sorry that this has not happened on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Terrific hotel: lovely views of the river, including a window you could sit in. Wonderful, friendly staff. Great food. Excellent location. And best of all: the building does not smell like a hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinFamily055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Wow! What an accolade! Thank you for giving us that honour! We hope that you have found some other great hotels on your travels in the UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,158 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing