We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stolen clothes spoils trip.”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The rooms were very clean and spacious. The food was good but the wine was expensive.
The spa was good except the security. The staff at the spa did not have locks for the lockers and did not offer any alternative security. We had some clothing stolen as the spa is also a private gym club open to paying members from the public. The hotel staff were quite apathetic about the theft even up to director level, who advised we call the police.
The fire escapes were used as storage facilities for all sorts of things including mattresses, vacuum cleaners, stacks of towels and sheets, boxes,etc. Not safe at all.
If you are going to use this hotel check your escape route carfully.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheParaisoPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

We are very sorry that you had these problems in our leisure club - we did investigate the matter and get the police involved. I now believe that the clothing has been returned and it was taken by a club member by mistake. Locks are available from the leisure club reception and this is clearly noted on posters in the changing rooms. We hope that now that clothing has been returned and the matter resolved you will look back on your stay with us as a much more pleasurable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

We booked a short break offer and were very happy with the hotel. The food was good and I thought the room was outstanding. Even the TV was a quality Phillips LCD. It was very warm in the room. We kept the window open all the time although it was cold outside. I'm sure they could get the heating bill down a bit. Low energy bulbs which are everywhere now were supplemented by led reading lamps over the bed. This was welcome because we read a lot. Comfortable chairs were provided in the room too. The pool and facilities were of a very high standard. The hotel has an inside car park with additional parking by the station. The Riverside location next to a bridge is pleasant and Kendal has more to offer than most of the nearby towns. The Lakeland Kitchen headquarters are well worth a visit. The K Shopping Centre in Kendal is poor but the town has plenty of interesting shops. The Riverside Hotel is a good base for visiting the various lakeside locations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank your very much for high recommendation! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and it’s great to receive such positive feedback. We have invested a lot in the quality aspect of the new rooms, to ensure that our rooms exceed our guest’s standards and expectations. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Spent a Saturday night here before running a ski course at the nearby dry ski slope. Staff very friendly, everything works and difficult to find fault in anything. The bed was more comfortable than many four and five star hotels I have stayed in. I was impressed with their list of organic wines and there is an atlention to detail which shows. The rooms have been recently refurbished generously and they even had a notice up on the wall of a staircase apologising for the slightly worn appearance of the carpet which was shortly due for replacement. Three star rating does not do this hotel justice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epoque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you very much for your excellent recommendation of our hotel. We do work hard to provide a great stay in every aspect, and it is lovely to see that our Organic Wine list is appreciated. I hope that you will choose us again on your next ski course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break at Riverside and found it to be excellent in many ways. Ideal location for walking into town and was about a 15 minute drive to Windermere. Staff were efficient and friendly, Room had nice view over the river. It was clean, bed was comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities were more than adequate.
Breakfast was really lovely, cooked nicely and plenty of choice. Our first night we also had a bar meal and it was excellent and plenty of it. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryade_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our hotel, they are very much appreciated. I have passed on your comments to the staff and the kitchen team. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Me and my partner stayed at the Riverside back in April for two nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel was very impressive and our room had a view of the river. The room was very modern and was well equipped. The hotel also had a very nice health club with swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Breakfast was very nice and the town centre was just 2 mins away. The hotel also had very good secure parking and is an ideal base for exploring the rest of the Lake District

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deliveryboy_wyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review about our hotel. We have worked hard to create a top quality product in all areas and it is great to see that we have achieved the standards we set out. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here after celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was very clean and the room we got had recently been refurbished. We had originally booked the four poster room but I now am glad we didn't get it. The staff were very friendly and the food was good. We used the pool facilitiesd which were excellent. The only down side was our room was overlooked the next day cleaning wise. I am not bothered about making my own bed but my husband had to go to reception to replenish stocks of tea, coffee and biscuits. I would stay again as the location was perfect just hope they get more cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy-Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

From the previous review of the same date it does show that we did have problems with staffing on the weekend of your stay. I am very sorry and it will not happen again. I am very please that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

3rd stay at this hotel, facilities good, food good, but very disappointed in staffing levels, as our rooms were not cleaned, dirty towels not replaced, & complimentary tea & coffee not refilled.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

I am very sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standard. It is strict company policy that all rooms are serviced each day. This matter will be investigated, please let me assure you that should you decide to stay again this will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,160 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing