We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
420
474
198
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
474
198
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverswimming lessonsleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomswimming poolkendal castlecar parklovely hotelself servicetown centregood sizefamily roomevening mealironing boardshort breakbuffet breakfastnight break
Filter
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Riverside Hotel for their Christmas Break. This commenced on Christmas Eve and included bed, breakfast and quality evening meals for all three days, in addition to a six-course Christmas Day lunch.

This represented excellent value for money as the break was very well priced compared to others in the area with comparable packages.

The quality of the food was excellent throughout, especially the Christmas lunch. Service was faultless from what appeared to be quite a small group of very hard working staff, which added to the 'personal' feel of the hotel.

Our room was of a good standard with a good sized and very comfortable bed, attractive bath/shower room, large flat screen TV, and view of river.

A nice benefit was the (free for guests) leisure facilities which were open for use throughout the break, including a large gym, pool, sauna, and steam room. There is also a large free under cover car park.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, and we plan to return when the weather is better to explore the surrounding Lake District area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it is such a special time of year and all of staff work hard to ensure that all the guests really have a wonderful time. It is great to read that all their hard work did not go unnoticed! We look forward to seeing you when the weather is a bit warmer and brighter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Location is lovely overlooking the river. Our room was lovely & very spacious. We were really looking forward to the evening meal after seeing the sample menus on the website, only to be told as there aren't many guests staying in the hotel we had to choose from the bar menu! This was nothing more than pub food with most dishes being served with chips.All food is supposed to be cooked fresh but from the speed it came out of the kitchen it was definately fast food. We were very disappointed. Later when we went up to our room we were greeted by the loudest live music coming from an organised party. It was so loud that we could hear it above the tv in our room. This went on until 11.30pm. If you decide to stay in this hotel phone first to make sure they are serving the restaurant menu & NOT the bar food & if you want a quiet stay make sure there are no parties in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

We are very sorry to receive this report, it is certainly company policy to serve meals at all time in our restaurant and we will be looking into what happened on your stay with us. I can assure you however that the food is all cooked from fresh, we do not buy any precooked meals, all meat and vegetables are sourced locally, with some coming from own kitchen gardens in Grange-over-Sands. I am pleased that you enjoyed the bedrooms and the lovely view over the River Kent, we hope that you will come and try us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

fo ur of us have just spent the weekend here could not fault anything! rooms spacious and spotless bathrooms beautiful breakfast and evening meal lovely staff very pleasant and helpful hotel in a great location within easy walking distance to town cant wait to return

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsy2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Assistant to Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to put such a great review on tripadvisor for us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This was our 4th stay at the Riverside , and once again we were very well looked after , we have recommended the hotel to friends and family who have stayed and all agree with us , that you can not beat it for - location / comfort / food / staff / pool / gym etc , and best of all value for money . Look forward to going again soon, BRILL . (George and Pauline , Bolton,Lancs)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bug700es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Wow thank you for such a glowing review! We are really thrilled to have kept up the high standard for each of your trips and for your friends holidays as well. I will pass your comments onto all our staff and we look forward to seeing you on trip number 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Hotel well placed for short walk into town. Limited car parking spaces in underground car park although we did have a parking space so not a particular problem for us. Rooms not hugely spacious but are really very very nice; all over look river, have great wall mounted tv's, with comfortable bed and tea/coffee making facilities. Everywhere very clean. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet style so although a good choice of the usual breakfast foods it is buffet style. Bar extremely nice- comfy squashy settees and great outdoor balcony to sit by side of river. Spa- swimming pool small, sauna great, steam room looks good but wasn't very warm. Jacuzzi nice but be careful stepping in as quite a deep step! Over all great location, clean and confortable and the only improvement i would suggest would be to have a greater range of breakfast types. Definately planning to go back but will ask for a room a little away from the bar as there was a party and i could hear some slight noise! Still a great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesky086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Thank you for your great review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed staying at the hotel and that you were happy with your room. I will certainly pass on your comments about breakfast and the steam room to right departments so we can get them fixed. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews