We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kendal's hidden gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Airethwaite House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kendal's hidden gem!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

After looking on tripadvisor for hotels for my friend's christening I called up 12 different hotels and guest houses, so being 13th on the list I wasn't holding out a lot of hope. How wrong I could have been.
It truly was the prettiest house in the best setting in Kendal.
Our room was the suite (well worth the £10 additional charge) was just gorgeous with a stunning bathroom and dressing area.
The hosts were so accommodating, even offering us a lift to town so that we could both have a drink.
The breakfast the next day was also exquisite: fresh fruit, yoghurt, choice of cereals, full cooked assortment (amazing scrambled eggs), fresh coffee, tea and juice.

It truly was one of the best b and b experiences I have ever had.

A must visit!

Room Tip: The suite is well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here on business. A very large room with a beautiful bathroom, soft and inviting bed with immaculate linen. A real hidden gem, I enjoyed my breakfast which was fresh and of beautiful quality. I feel Sandra or Chris would have made me anything I wanted and I can't wait to return with my wife. Brownie points all round!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alymarkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

stayed at this wonderful BB during our holidays,we stayed in the suite ,which was pure luxury.The room was fantastic with lovely furnishings,we found the bed spacious and very comfortable,with a wonderful view over the countryside.The bathroom was fit for roylaty,all very well thought out with no expense spared.The breakfast was excellent,i liked the choice of fresh berries with yogurt to start with.The magazines available at breakfast made it all a lesuirely experience.Chris and Sandra made us both feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble,we will definitlely stay at Airethwaite again and be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: paying that little bit more for the suite was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandsal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned home from a 1 nights stay at Airethwaite house and our only wish was to stay longer! Chris and Sandra could not have been more friendly and welcoming. We had a double suite which was extremely spacious and furnished to a very high quality - the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom (with its free standing bath and huge walk in shower) was exceptional. We both slept very well, and the following morning experienced a fantastic breakfast - Chris' scrambled eggs being a particular highlight!! The B&B is in a great location within Kendal, and great for exploring the rest of lakes. Chis gave us some great ideas for walks within the locality as well as ideas for food and drink. We will definitely be returning and would recommend Airethwaite house to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The double suite we had was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owners and shown our room. 'Wow' a stunningly furnished bedroom with an amazing on suite bathroom, fitting of a 5 star luxury hotel. I would choose this accommodation over a hotel every time. The breakfast in the morning didn't disappoint either.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend with my partner. We stayed in the green room which is the more expensive of the two but definitely worth the money. Very spacious room and amazing bathroom! Sandra and Chris were excellent hosts, left us to our own devices but were also there when we had a question. I liked the extra touches like bottles of water waiting for us when we went out and DVD's left outside the room for us. I also liked the feminine touch throughout such as lots of flowers everywhere and hearts hanging from things - very homely. Breakfast was lovely and Sandra was very accommodating. Location wise is perfect, lovely and quiet and an easy walk into town (and that's coming from someone who doesn't enjoy walking far!!). Would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyxx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

What an amazing B&B. We stayed in the green room and it was amazing. The room and en-suite are massive and beautifully furnished. Sandra and Chris are lovely hosts and the breakfast was brilliant. The B&B is perfectly situated in Kendal, its barely a two minute walk into the centre of town and even has its own private parking for residents. I would definitely recommend this B&B, we had a brilliant time and I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Punch Bowl
The Punch Bowl
#19 of 42 in Kendal
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airethwaite House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airethwaite House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Airethwaite House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Horncop Lane 1 Airethwaite, Kendal LA9 4SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Airethwaite House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing