We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean and very friendly”
Review of Kendal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kendal Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean and very friendly”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Kristina and mother Jan do a fantastic job with this hostel and have created a really welcoming and friendly place in the heart of Kendal. They made me feel welcome from the start, simple things like offering me a cup of tea when I arrived late on the train.

Kristina is very helpful, she has a really can-do attitude and will always go the extra mile for a guest. Jan is bright and bubbly and will brighten up even the most dreary Cumbrian day.

Rooms are simple as you'd expect in a hostel, but very clean and the beds comfortable. There are also a number of smaller rooms and even en-suites you can book for a more private stay. The lounge area is comfortable and has free WIFI and the dinning room has loads of impressive pine tables. Kitchen is well equipped with free tea and coffee.

All in all a great place to stay if you are visiting Kendal. Its right in the centre of this old market town and is adjacent to the fantastic Brewery Arts Centre and Cinema, which is also the venue for the Kendal Mountain Film Festival.

One downside for me, as a hill-walker Kendal is not the best base, I was here doing a course though so that didn't matter. But if you are walking bring your own car because the public transport is terribly expensive and Kendal is a good 15 miles from the best of the fells.

Still, I really enjoyed my stay and I expect I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    76
    34
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
32
66
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Being a mature couple with simple needs, we were very happy to be staying in Kendal Hostel so that we could enjoy a short break in the Lakes. The house is attractive, central, and next to a most enterprising arts centre. Kendal has a lot to offer, and is in easy reach of the Lake District. The self-catering facilities and dining room are excellent, and we much appreciated the availability of tea, coffee & milk. Our rooms were all we needed, perfectly clean and quiet. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

this is by far the best hostel in the area.. not over crowded and good accomodation in kendal which is good access for everywhere in the lakes. the staff are extremely helpful and the facilties are excellent..so dont miss the kendal hostel when your passing through, but maybe stay a few days

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishermanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our walking group The Sheffield Shamblers have just returned from spending 3 nights here over the double bank holiday weekend. Fantastic place, it had everything we needed and lovely helpful staff, clean sheets and comfy beds. The building has loads of character and is ideally located on the high street, plenty of shops and eating places close by. Not too far from the train station makes it an ideal choice for venturing further afield. We had a 1st class weekend !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed here in April with 3 others and we were given a large room with en suite! - the sheets were all clean and we all had comfy sleeps. There is a pool table in the lobby which is great if you need to kill a bit of time and the kitchen is well stocked with equipment and it has a nice eating area!
---thanks for a nice stay if the owners are reading---
---stay here for a hassle free hostel if prospective guests are reading---
---also worth visiting is the pub of the brewary arts centre next door where the staff were nice and the pizza was excellent

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpack_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I was greeted by a friendly guy who explained everything that I need to know, pointing out on a free map where to eat, drink etc. The room was as you would expect although there as quite a lot of room compared to some. The drying room was in the basement which was quite an excursion but it worked - what else do you want. Breakfast started early 7.30 which was great for me as I needed to press on to get to Bowness.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed here at Easter, we were staying at three YH over four days in the Lake District, this was the second one in four days of our trip to the Lakes, The hostel is situated right in the middle of historic Kendal, we chose it because of it’s location which is virtually next door to the The Brewery Arts Centre, we were going to watch Tim Booth (of James fame) doing a gig. So the location for us was superb.

The staff at the YH were very helpful and friendly but this place looks tired and needs an uplift. The hostel is in a excellent location for exploring Kendal. You will have to pay for car parking but it does reduce after 6:00pm to £1 for the night, but watch out as the car park can fill up in the evening if there is an event on at the Arts Centre.

The room was very good, with three lots bunk beds and a sink. No shower or toilet in the room, you go to the bathroom which is next to your room, and has a shower and toilet, despite the YH being full, we never had to queue for either.

A full English breakfast is available for purchase at check in, we opted for this & it was excellent. In addition there is a full self service kitchen. The kitchen is huge and well maintained and there is plenty of space for eating.

What we didn’t like – was the extremely noisy table game of something downstairs in the reception area, there is no chance of anyone sitting in this area whilst a game of this is going on.

I would stay here again, maybe not at the height of summer or on a Friday or Saturday, rumour has it there is a nightclub underneath.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcdasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendal Hostel

Property: Kendal Hostel
Address: 118-120 Highgate, Kendal LA94HE, England (Formerly Kendal Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kendal Hostel is a converted Georgian Townhouse only a stones throw away from Kendal's town centre. Kendal is a historic market town known as "The Gateway to the Lakes" and Dales so great to use as a base or to start your adventure. The hostel is situated only 300 yards from Kendal town centre where we have markets twice weekly, traditional shops, Museums and plenty of eatery's. Walking is a great way to enjoy the area, We have many walks that start from Kendal, and also many other areas. There is a wide range of walks to suit everyone. Kendal is close to all local amenities including great transport links such as the Oxenholme, The Lake District train station that is on the West Coast line from London to Glasgow, National Express stops daily in Kendal and also we are only a mere 8 miles from J36 of the M6 motorway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kendal Youth Hotel Kendal
Kendal Hostel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing