We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and great value for money”
Review of Kendal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kendal Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Lovely staff! very helpful and friendly. The common areas are great, with a free pool table and guitars so guest can relax, there's also complementary tea and coffee and a flat screen TV. the rooms are clean with en-suite bathrooms which is very handy. Location is great, just a short walk from local pubs and the town centre. Great value for money! would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalHostel, Manager at Kendal Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Glad you had a good stay at Kendal Hostel, Much appreciated

Kristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

3 floor hostel combining a nice age range and friendly staff. Hot water in the showers and clean beds and sheets. Fair amount of space for luggage in the room. Sink in the bedrooms also a nice thing to have. Guitars, pool table, flat TV and fireplace 5*.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendalHostel, Manager at Kendal Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad you had a good time with us! Maybe see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed a couple of nights whilst on a ropetec course.
Excellent facilities and location, shower water pressure was a little weak.
Pay and display carpark at rear very handy.
Kristina was very helpful on the phone as I checked in late and out early, we never met!
I will definitely being returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Kristina and mother Jan do a fantastic job with this hostel and have created a really welcoming and friendly place in the heart of Kendal. They made me feel welcome from the start, simple things like offering me a cup of tea when I arrived late on the train.

Kristina is very helpful, she has a really can-do attitude and will always go the extra mile for a guest. Jan is bright and bubbly and will brighten up even the most dreary Cumbrian day.

Rooms are simple as you'd expect in a hostel, but very clean and the beds comfortable. There are also a number of smaller rooms and even en-suites you can book for a more private stay. The lounge area is comfortable and has free WIFI and the dinning room has loads of impressive pine tables. Kitchen is well equipped with free tea and coffee.

All in all a great place to stay if you are visiting Kendal. Its right in the centre of this old market town and is adjacent to the fantastic Brewery Arts Centre and Cinema, which is also the venue for the Kendal Mountain Film Festival.

One downside for me, as a hill-walker Kendal is not the best base, I was here doing a course though so that didn't matter. But if you are walking bring your own car because the public transport is terribly expensive and Kendal is a good 15 miles from the best of the fells.

Still, I really enjoyed my stay and I expect I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Being a mature couple with simple needs, we were very happy to be staying in Kendal Hostel so that we could enjoy a short break in the Lakes. The house is attractive, central, and next to a most enterprising arts centre. Kendal has a lot to offer, and is in easy reach of the Lake District. The self-catering facilities and dining room are excellent, and we much appreciated the availability of tea, coffee & milk. Our rooms were all we needed, perfectly clean and quiet. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

this is by far the best hostel in the area.. not over crowded and good accomodation in kendal which is good access for everywhere in the lakes. the staff are extremely helpful and the facilties are excellent..so dont miss the kendal hostel when your passing through, but maybe stay a few days

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fishermanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our walking group The Sheffield Shamblers have just returned from spending 3 nights here over the double bank holiday weekend. Fantastic place, it had everything we needed and lovely helpful staff, clean sheets and comfy beds. The building has loads of character and is ideally located on the high street, plenty of shops and eating places close by. Not too far from the train station makes it an ideal choice for venturing further afield. We had a 1st class weekend !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendal Hostel

Address: 118-120 Highgate, Kendal LA94HE, England (Formerly Kendal Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Price Range: £38 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kendal Hostel is a converted Georgian Townhouse only a stones throw away from Kendal's town centre. Kendal is a historic market town known as "The Gateway to the Lakes" and Dales so great to use as a base or to start your adventure. The hostel is situated only 300 yards from Kendal town centre where we have markets twice weekly, traditional shops, Museums and plenty of eatery's. Walking is a great way to enjoy the area, We have many walks that start from Kendal, and also many other areas. There is a wide range of walks to suit everyone. Kendal is close to all local amenities including great transport links such as the Oxenholme, The Lake District train station that is on the West Coast line from London to Glasgow, National Express stops daily in Kendal and also we are only a mere 8 miles from J36 of the M6 motorway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kendal Youth Hotel Kendal
Kendal Hostel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing