We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just teh job”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Millers Beck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millers Beck
Ranked #7 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just teh job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Everything you could ask for in a B&B and more. Friendly but not overbearing welcome, clean comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms. self catering also available which is very good. Excellent ensuite in my room. Breakfast in the conservatory good with Paul's home made preserves a highlight (lemon and whisky marmalade very good!). Excellent for a 'stop off' for this part of the lakes or if going further north.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
79
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for four nights (party of 3) and can truly endorse all the other reviews - this is an excellent place to stay.

Some particular things of note:
-Very accommodating and friendly hosts who gave us tea/coffee and cookies upon arrival, took on board any specific requests we had and gave great advice each day on what to see (which was spot on).
-Scrumptious cooked breakfast - we endorse everything said about Paul's homemade jams too! The food set us up for the whole day.
-Good location from which to explore the lakes but in a lovely setting of its own. It was also very easy to find with their directions.
-Very reasonable prices with a discount for staying several nights.
-Spotlessly clean, modern, fully equipped and spacious rooms and bathroom.

A real gem which made our holiday! We would recommend to anyone visiting or passing through the Lake district and would use again. Thanks Millers Beck!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Agree with other reviewers, this is a great place to stay. Paul gave us a friendly welcome and made us feel at home throughout.

High points for me were the bathroom - stylishly designed, and that roomy shower was a lifesaver after a long, wet and ultimately doomed attempt on Sca Fell Pike! - and the breakfast, which was accompanied by delicious home-made jams, marmalade and even yogurt. The breakfast room is charming, located right next to the mill race and overlooking a pretty garden.

With so many B&Bs, even the good ones, you often have to grit your teeth against something. It could be the aroma of air freshener, or questionable taste in furnishing, or hosts who make you feel uncomfortable somehow. None of that here. Everything has been designed to provide maximum comfort for a reasonable price.

We had a small double - called Millstone I think - which was plenty big enough for our short stay. Only one bedside light.

On the first night we had great fish and chips at The Punchbowl, a pub in walking distance just down the road. The next night we treated ourselves to dinner at Castle Dairy restaurant in Kendal, another very pleasant experience.

Came home with very fond memories of a wet and windy Lakes!

Room Tip: Millstone is fine but Millrace sounds bigger - don't know if that's reflected in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALittleLightDrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I am reasonably familiar with the area but have never heard of Miller's Beck before. We chose it partly as it had good reviews on trip advisor but mainly because it was close to a party with friends in Natland. I would not even consider the pricier hotels in Kendal for any future stays as Miller's Beck is a charming B&B with spotlessly clean rooms, beautiful country views and a perfect location to explore in all directions. We were lucky enough to get the big room (Millrace) and could sprawl out across a double and single bed. The decor was stylish and the power shower was a delight. Breakfast was great, especially the home-made jams and the service was always friendly and efficient and not over the top, which is perfect for us. We felt very relaxed and comfortable here andI would suggest forgetting the Kendal Town hotels and heading for this place which is a twenty minute drive from Ambleside, on a good day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stay here for a night on the way to Scotland. It was superb. Clean rooms, spacious, great beds, modern facilities, excellent bathrooms, great breakfast, space for car, very pleasant hosts. Highly recommend staying if you are passing by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We looked for a B&B in Kendal as we were up to take part in the Total Warrior race. There are a lot of B&B's in the area but Millers Beck exceeded expectations.

Firstly, I wanted off road parking - hard to find in Kendal, but there was parking for one car per room. The B&B is spotlessly clean, the decor very nice, my wife loved the Hobbs towels.
The greet was warm and friendly and the ginger 'biscuits' were very nice and well received.

We had a room overlooking the stream and the fields and the sound of running water along with the fresh air completed the scene.

Breakfast was cooked to order and was always of a high quality.

The B&B is next to an A road - as some have mentioned but it's not very busy and even with the room windows open you cant really hear the cars and at no point did the traffic disturb us.

The shower was lovely - the bathroom water was nice and hot - pressure was great. Cant say anything bad about our stay. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the stream and the fields complete the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Booked Millers Beck as a last minute break away with my partner. The B&B was spotlessly clean, well maintained and fittings/fixtures were of good quality. Paul and Granville were great hosts, with an eye for detail and our room was nicely furnished. Would recommend this with enthusiasm and confidence!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchard65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
3.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.1 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers Beck

Property: Millers Beck
Address: Millers Beck Millbridge Lane | Stainton, Kendal LA8 0DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Millers Beck 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B&B and Self Catering accommodation in 17C converted Water Mill in rural location near Kendal, Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. Just 3 miles from M6 Junction 36.Always contact direct for best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Millers Beck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers Beck Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing