We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Christmas celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at Crooklands for one night along with 5 other couples. All our rooms were clean and had everything we needed for the time we were there. We booked one of their party nights which included a meal and disco. The food was excellent however the entertainment was rather poor. The DJ asked for requests which we provided lots of, he managed to play 2 all night! He managed to empty the dance floor numerous times during the evening with his choice of music! Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverleylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    169
    35
    11
    2
See reviews for
63
202
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed here for one night only on a business trip. The rooms are functional, clean and perfectlt well appointed. Dinner and Breakfast was very well prepared, hearty and delicious. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SideshowCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Absolutely Superb. We were a group of 25 including six couples. It is unusual not to get a single moan in a group of this size. I found the management and staff to be courteously friendly. The service in all areas including room cleaning to be of a high standard. My room was always well presented and clean. The bar and food areas were excellent for an establishment of this size. The food TOPS and the drinks at a reasonable price. They even had two events on the Saturday night which they handled seamlessly without having any impact on our group. A great big well done to the team at Crooklands Hotel (Oops - Home from Home). I will be back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Was looking for a couple of days away around Kendal and had forgotten some of the silly prices being asked. Then had problems with a booking site refusing to book rooms as requested. Stumbled onto the Crooklands Hotel site and booking was sooooo easy. Hotel is away from Kendal, (15 mins drive ?), but great location for M6 and A65 and south lakes. Reception welcome was first class, rooms were truly excellent - very well equipped and clean. Breakfast amongst the best, dinner simply great; good choice and excellent portions. Staff are tremendous and respond brilliantly to chat..............not a place for stuffed shirts................very relaxed but efficient in the best possible way. Bar is comfy and cosy with a couple of good beers on tap, plus the usual suspects. Add to this the free Wi-Fi and it's a real gem. This is now top of our list for south Lakes hotels.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are excellent, but suspect the others are, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurbyTDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at crooklands for 2 days in July 2012. We booked last minute on the day and were pleasantly offered a free upgrade to a superior room for a very good B&B rate. The superior room was of very ample size, massive bed with spotless bedding. Although there were a lot of rooms in the hotel, there was very little noise. Tea and coffee stations were dotted all over the hotel to top up when we wanted to, staff always spoke when leaving for the day or passing in the corridor. Our only negative would probably be the bathroom. For a superior room we felt that the bathroom let it down slightly. It was very clean but very small and slightly dated. The black bath looked dated and out of place with the rest of the white suite.

Breakfast was small but sufficient and served in a beautiful dining room. The entrance to the hotel was stunning. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, stopping to take the time to chat with us when they had a moment, sharing recommendations of places to go and the best ways to get there. We ate in the hotel for evening meal both nights and although we thought it was relatively pricey for the food, it was tasty and good quality.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay again. we would say it is more suited to those who are prepared to drive places as it is quite a drive to the nearest lake/attraction.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Comparatively anyway! Although on the main A65 road a few miles from Kendal, it is on the right side of the town to escape the major tourist crush of the Lake District. The hotel was developed from a farmhouse, which later became the local inn of this small village. Although it is now modernised with rather bland extensions, it retains a local feel which is reflected in the friendliness of its staff and the provenance of the restaurant's ingredients. We stayed one night only, but would have been glad of a longer break. We were allocated a 'superior' double room for the price of the standard one, and it lived up to its title in terms of size. Enormous, and comfortable, bed and plenty of room. The bathroom was large, clean, if slightly dated. The food was of excellent quality even if the menu was less than adventurous. It would have been nice to have had a choice of fruit and other alternatives to the somewhat samey selection of desserts. But overall it more than lived up to its three-star status. The staff were worth five stars at least!

Room Tip: Half the rooms overlook the gardens and/or countryside, while the others back onto a yard and a vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend and despite being very busy, the staff were lovely, friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were really good and the evening menu very comprehensive. We had three excellent meals and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliajones500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing