We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricy overnight stay”
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“pricy overnight stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed a Saturday night as we were visiting friends in the locality. I called up to enquire about room availabilty and was quoted £110 for a double with breakfast. I told the lady I spoke to that I had the laterooms website open and could buy the room for £98 - she suggested that we could have the room at that price.

Our superior double was clean - albeit a little tired. Breakfast was fine and staff friendly.

In my opinion the hotel is quite expensive for the quality of rooms, however I acknowledge that the location and lack of competition in the area no doubt enables them to charge premium rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    179
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
70
213
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We travel quite frequently to Scotland from Warwickshire, and last week wanted to meet our son at the half way point . After looking at the map J36 seemed right , and the only place I could find to have lunch was Crooklands Hotel.
It was so easy to get to, less than a mile from the M6, along the A65, it took us two mins to get there. Crooklands Hotel has a very large car park, with lawn running down to the river. We do have a dog so it was very nice for her and us to be able to park the car easily and stretch our legs before going in for lunch. ( no dogs are allowed inside)

We were very pleasantly surprised to find a warm and cosy bar with a roaring fire, which was very welcoming. All the staff were so cheerful and helpful, we all felt that nothing was too much trouble.

The Hotel has two restaurants, we opted to have lunch in the bar, but restaurant itself was very well laid out with lots of character, and very spacious.
Having ordered lunch from the menu which looked so good it was difficult to decide what to have, We waited in anticipation as other customers received theirs. We could quickly see that this was not going to be a light lunch. The portions were very generous, well presented and as we soon found out the food was to a high standard. I had a ham salad which the chef prepared specially for me, it was gorgeous.

We have made our mind up now that in future we will break our journey at Crooklands Hotel, it was such an enjoyable way to take a break, no more crowded motorway stops for us. I would definitely recommend the hotel, it was a fabulous find, we will certainly be going back again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here for just one night, before a business meeting the following morning. As another review mentioned it's very close to the M6, which is very convenient. There was plenty of car parking in front of the hotel reception (which was very welcome as it was raining!). The reception area is nice with comfortable cream leather sofas & I was met by a smiling helpful receptionist (nice after a long drive). The room itself was quite spacious & clean with modern decor & had a nice feel to it. Tea, coffee & hot chocolate was provided in the room along with biscuits. The room was well furnished with 2 leather armchairs. The Wifi in the room was a little hit & miss, when it did work it was a little slow. Breakfast was very good, the usual cereals & juice & fresh fruit is available, the cooked breakfast is well worth trying, served by a very cheerful & helpful young lady. All the staff at this hotel seem genuinely quite happy, cheerful & willing to help. All in all a positive experience & I would definitely recommend this hotel. A little gem :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidsAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed one night at Crooklands before going on to a business meeting in Carlisle the following morning. The hotel is only about a mile from the junction with the M6 but the A65 to the hotel with its bends and fast traffic is not the most pleasant of roads in the pitch blackness of night-time especially in heavy rain. Crooklands however shortly appears on the right hand side with its massive car park. I stayed in an executive room overlooking the car park. It was tastefully furnished with a modern bathroom, trouser press and had a welcoming basket of fruit with mineral water together with a tray of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and a jug of fresh milk.

Although Crooklands has a slightly motel feel about it, it differentiates itself from the good 3 star chain hotels with some extra touches. Breakfast was perfectly reasonable and served quickly to order. The wifi was a tad on the slow side in the room but fine near reception. Similarly a mobile signal was tricky to get in the room but was achievable near the hotel entrance.

I'd definitely recommend Crooklands either as a base for touring the Dales and Lakes or for an overnight stop on the way to Carlisle or Scotland.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunkbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We had an overnight stay on our way to Scotland for Hogmany on the evening of December 30th. Our room was spacious and very comfortable it had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Service in the Bar & Restaurant was excellent and the food for both Breakfast & Dinner was very good. I would definately return and maybe take the opportunity to explore the surrounding area and experience more of the hospitality provided by the Hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure if the Hotel has rooms with a view of the countryside. Our room overlooked some cottages. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at Crooklands for one night along with 5 other couples. All our rooms were clean and had everything we needed for the time we were there. We booked one of their party nights which included a meal and disco. The food was excellent however the entertainment was rather poor. The DJ asked for requests which we provided lots of, he managed to play 2 all night! He managed to empty the dance floor numerous times during the evening with his choice of music! Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverleylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed here for one night only on a business trip. The rooms are functional, clean and perfectlt well appointed. Dinner and Breakfast was very well prepared, hearty and delicious. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SideshowCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#3 of 14 in Kendal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing