We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming comfort close to Kendal”
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A comfortable and pleasant place to stay as a base for the South Lakes/Kirby Lonsdale area, this hotel has the charm of a historic inn with the amenities and new buildings that afford standards expected by the discerning traveller/tourist. A large room with very comfy large bed (actually twin beds joined to make a large king - great if you have a restless partner) and a well equipped, if dated, bathroom. An idiosyncratic shower rested my 'krypton factor' skills but we got there! Big fluffy towels, curtains that blacked out the room for a good nights sleep and ample tea and coffee making facilities (inc 2 double packs of biscuits) were all further elements for an enjoyable stay. Both breakfast and evening meal reflected the v good standard of the kitchen/chef. staff are friendly and helpful.
Crooklands is by no means cheap but you do get good value for money. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in August 2013. Hotel is in a lovely location in a quiet village on the outskirts of Kendal. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Food was excellent and service good. We had lemon sole with prawns in hollandaise sauce followed by an extremely decadent toffee sundae.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This is the first time that I have stayed here as I usually stay at another hotel in Kendall. But that one was full.

Crooklands is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are large extremely clean and well furnished. There are tea and coffee making facilities as well as the normal milk jiggers there was a little jug of fresh milk. A fruit bowl that included two apples three large strawberries and a banana was also present.

The bathroom is large and and is equipped with all the Sundrys that you could wish, this includes a robe and slippers.

Had dinner in the restaurant. Service was excellent and staff friendly. Food was superb and good value for money.

I come to Kendal every six weeks on business and usually stay at another hotel, however I will definitely being staying here again instead of my usual haunt.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Used this hotel for a meeting with business colleagues as I live in Manchester and they live in Scotland. Good welcome, clean rooms and a nice breakfast. It.s a good meeting place. We didn't eat here in the eve so cant comment on dinners as we decided to go to Windermere for a break from business and ate at Rastellis which was excellent.

Would use again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed three nights on a biker holiday.
Hotel is lovely staff are friendly and efficient nothing is to much trouble.
Rooms were spacious and well appointed and shower was superb.
Ate in hotel two nights and food was superb.
Will return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Crooklands Hotel near Kendal. My room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Family joined me for a meal in the evening which was excellent. Breakfast very tasty and again service excellent. Really great place to stay and good value, and throughout the staff were smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What a lovely hotel in a lovely area. Great rooms with all the facilities one would need. Great restaurant with excellent food and excellent service. Could do with air conditioning but that is just a personal preference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kpangel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
15.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,096 reviews
8.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
69 reviews
6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Address: | Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £88 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing