We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected visit to The Lakes”
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Sudden call to an unexpected family funeral and the Crooklands had available rooms plus could arrange refreshments for the wake.
Service was very good and I would not hesitate to return under happier circumstances.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury room upgrade if available. The extra space plus bath makes for a more enjoyable s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_tiger_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff here go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and at home. A charming older pub with a great atmosphere. The food is standard pub grub and the free internet is super fast. Will definitely be a regular of mine from now on!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiffyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very comfortable and clean hotel. Good location. Food was disappointing unfortunately, except for breakfast, which was excellent. I would stay here again because of the location and also because it is good for dog walking with the Canal just across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night over the bank holiday weekend and what a LITTLE GEM is was,
the staff were very friendly and professional , our room was very comfortable and decorated
to a high standard, the bed was very LARGE and comfortable with beautiful bed linen, the bathroom was nicely presented with good toiletries, After unpacking we had a drink in the bar
it had a nice atmosphere. The breakfast was also good with a good choice of food (my smoked salmon and scrambled egg was delicious), we will definitely stay here again on our visits to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredgrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Perfect location about a mile from J36 on the M6 but very quiet. Bar food excellent with the suet pie being stunning and well kept Black Sheep real ale worth supping. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Only downside is that rooms didn't have a regional feel and could have been anywhere. Standard Paris prints could be replaced with Lakeland pictures to improve character.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Smudges-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

we travelled from scotland, and found this hotel to be of 4-5 star standard,location great,food superb,staff out-standing.My wife and i travelled with my mother -father-in law.hotel great for all ages ,thank-you for a great stay will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul26051960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A comfortable and pleasant place to stay as a base for the South Lakes/Kirby Lonsdale area, this hotel has the charm of a historic inn with the amenities and new buildings that afford standards expected by the discerning traveller/tourist. A large room with very comfy large bed (actually twin beds joined to make a large king - great if you have a restless partner) and a well equipped, if dated, bathroom. An idiosyncratic shower rested my 'krypton factor' skills but we got there! Big fluffy towels, curtains that blacked out the room for a good nights sleep and ample tea and coffee making facilities (inc 2 double packs of biscuits) were all further elements for an enjoyable stay. Both breakfast and evening meal reflected the v good standard of the kitchen/chef. staff are friendly and helpful.
Crooklands is by no means cheap but you do get good value for money. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
15.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,239 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
6.3 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Address: | Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £89 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing