We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab spot of dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab spot of dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped of late this evening three hungry tummy's mors than ready for tea after a long drive home from a day trip to york our young toddler was well catered for and the staff we're lovely with her. The food was faultless, the resturant was nice a little corporate looking compared to the traditional style of the bar, But still a nice pub.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kettlewelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    169
    35
    11
    2
See reviews for
63
202
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Although I've lived locally for years this was the first time I've been here its beautifully decorated. The food is great delicious and filling also plenty of choice. However the outstanding element was the staff they were wonderful especially with our daughter who loved their friendliness. Yet for all this the bill was very reasonable I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mjk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights while visiting the lakes, what a surprise a great looking hotel staff super friendly nothing to much trouble, Vic was very informative suggesting places to visit, our room was great fully functionable clean and comfortable. We ate there each night and really enjoyed the food down to earth with a touch of inventivness good quality well presented. We would go back again and honestly I can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekcrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Sudden call to an unexpected family funeral and the Crooklands had available rooms plus could arrange refreshments for the wake.
Service was very good and I would not hesitate to return under happier circumstances.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury room upgrade if available. The extra space plus bath makes for a more enjoyable s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_tiger_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Amazing hotel and staff! Great service. breakfast was very good,excellent value for money. Please keep going, especially mark in the bar. Beautiful rooms. nothing too much trouble. thank you for a lovely stay. Really good bar and restaurant menus. You wouldn't experience such good hospitality any where else in the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kozzy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff here go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and at home. A charming older pub with a great atmosphere. The food is standard pub grub and the free internet is super fast. Will definitely be a regular of mine from now on!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiffyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very comfortable and clean hotel. Good location. Food was disappointing unfortunately, except for breakfast, which was excellent. I would stay here again because of the location and also because it is good for dog walking with the Canal just across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing