We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close, yet so far...”
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So close, yet so far...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here as a base for a social occasion with old friends in Kendal as my favourite b & b in the area was fully booked. The Crooklands has come a long way since I used to pop in fir a game of pool in the eighties. The room was very comfortable and the decor and finishes were better than I had expected. Breakfast was of very high standard and always served with a smile. Had the drunken pork and pudding as a bar meal one evening which was also excellent. So far so good. The only two annoyances were that I couldn't get wifi and when I phoned down to reception was told I was in a part of the hotel they had problems with. Maybe I should have been told this when I booked or been given a discount? Also the shower in my room was really poor. At full blast it was more of a trickle and on full heat it was luke warm at best. I wasn't in the complaining mood but if these two things had been in place I see no reason why this hotel wouldn't be pushing four stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    188
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
78
222
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on our way to Scotland and were very glad we did. The staff were extremely welcoming and helped us in any way they could. Even at breakfast, which was extremely busy, the waitresses were very friendly and patient and service was seamless. Room was a little dated in terms of decor but was very clean and quiet and had everything we needed (travel shampoo, soap, shower cap etc) as well as tea making facilities, a TV and a nice comfy bed. Ideal location just off the M6, although you wouldn't know it when you get there. Close to Kendal which has some nice restaurants (we would recommend India Restaurant) which an absolutely lovely lady drove us to and from (Sam taxi - 07845 214 619).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I decided to stay over on our way from Kent to Glasgow both to make the journey more relaxing and to see a little of the Lake District. Spent a considerable amount of time on various web-sites looking for the ideal place and kept coming back to Crooklands. Sounded a very nice place to stay so booked up a few of weeks prior to our trip. Pleasantly surprised to receive a "nice touch" e-mail from the hotel asking us if we would like to reserve a table in the restaurant. Glad we did as both the bar and the restaurant that night was absolutely full. Very friendly and courteous staff, superb food, service and ales. Three star was more like a four star hotel. Great room, very clean and spacious. Good location for the Lakes. Delighted with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathfinder48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

nice place, handy for the motorway, nice walk along the canal or a run in the evening, good rooms, good food, totally fine, pleasant bar, with a good selection of beers, if i wanted to pick and i dont, it could do with more comfy seats in the bar, and at the time the coachload or miserable rude pensioners was a shame

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dishmonkeysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just off Junction 36 on the M6, stands a hotel that looks modest .At first sight, the big stone built pub gives a solid but non spectacular appearance. At the side of the hotel are a suite of new rooms, date unknown to me,but they are very well appointed rooms and the bed was massive! Everything that you required for a comfortable stay was present, cleanliness was top class and the breakfast in the morning was individually cooked, very tasty and very hot. One small complaint , the buffet for starters was a bit sparse, which belied the main course!. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonbjofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Given that star ratings are awarded for facilities offered as well as the quality of service and accommodation I guess that the lack of some items like sauna, pool, gym, and other peripheral
features might have prevented this hotel from being given 4* rating.

But make no mistake, this independently operated much extended and modernised coaching inn provides all that the overnight or short stay traveler could want. Not the cheapest in its category but left no issues whatsoever.

One thing perhaps to note is the popularity of the super restaurant and we reserved our table for two when we arrived mid afternoon. A number of clients, either guests or walk in, had to be accommodated in the bar/lunch bistro area.

Truly memorable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Crooklands hotel is between market town of Kirby longsdale & Kendal. Hotel is clean, fresh, bright & modern. Staff is friendly & its in a good location. There is a canal near by & lots of walks.we stayed for one night on the way to the lakes, we could have stayed longer. Excellent breakfast, & the restaurant was busy & lookd good.unfortunately we were unable to eat but we shall try it next time. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
89 reviews
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: | Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing