We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely......... average”
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely......... average”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I was really looking forward to our stay at the Crooklands Inn as it took my back to an area that I hadn't visited for a long time, but am very familiar with. Now I'm no connoisseur of hotels, but I know what works and what doesn't and I'm afraid that the Crooklands Inn just didn't hit the spot.

Our room was in the recent extension and could have been a room in any faceless Travelodge or Premier Inn anywhere in the country. It was almost clean if not a little 'tired', and the 'double bed' turned out to be two singles pushed together and made-up with a kingsize sheet, two single duvets and a counterpane. The main give-away was the fact that the single headboards were fixed to the wall and with the bases pushed together this looked a bit peculiar.

One of the handbasin taps and the shower control were broken (duly reported to reception) and you got the feeling that the whole place had been cleaned in a hurry with little attention to detail. Overall, the rooms and public areas smelled of cleaning materials and air-fresheners, rather than just 'clean'. The restaurant lacks any real atmosphere and it was a little off-putting to have staff laying tables around you when eating a meal. this is a real shame as so much of the place is new and I think they've missed an opportunity to be different.

However, the staff were all very pleasant and the food was good. The bar (which is the oldest part of the building) is quite cosy with an open fire, blocked floor and great oak tables. Shame about the profusion of low-energy lamps in the light-fittings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cijackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles012, Owner at Crooklands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
In response to your comments, we are actively refurbishing the hotel bedrooms this is on going, in the meantime I have had the taps and shower control knob replaced in this bedroom. I have also passed on the remarks about using too much cleaning materials to the housekeeper. We have at Crooklands a Green Policy, we were awarded a nationally accredited silver award for being environmentally friendly. Part of our policy was to save it, we replaced all our lamps with low energy types unfortunately some light fittings do have bulbs in them that are not the best looking but we will continue try to find low energy bulbs that are more pleasing to the eye. Thank you for your comments.
Charles Horrax.. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    188
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
78
222
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Our first impression on entering reception was Crossroads Motel from the 60s TV show.
Very noisy hotel. There appeared to be a quarry or something similar nearby. From 06.00 there were dumper truckes offloading every 5 miniutes. The noise was horrendous. Rooms were not too bad but too hot and the windows didn't open very much.
Breakfast was ok but yet another British hotel that does not cater for special diets (gluten free). There was a cat roaming around the dinning room, very unhygienic, especially when it used the carpet as a toilet which the staff seemed to find acceptable and amusing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbxkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles012, Owner at Crooklands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Crossroads was one of my favourite TV programs it was a real laugh, but our reception area is nothing like the one filmed in the tv series. If we are advised in advance that a guest has special dietary needs then we will of course try to provide alternatives and as for the cat I'm afraid that after 18 years Minty has become a bit of a pain but is fully house trained and knows how to use the electric doors. As for the dumper trucks off loading every 5 minutes I will need to look into this as the nearest Quarry to us is some 8 miles away..But thank you for your comments the are always appreciated.
Charles Horrax Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

From start to finish this was a great experience. We spent 2 nights at this hotel as part of a wedding bash (the ceremony was in the church next door) and not a single trick was missed by the hotel staff and management. Our room was spacious and well appointed, the breakfast superb and the catering for the wedding party was sublime. I cannot recall a negative incident during the entire week-end and would whole-heartedly recommend to one and all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gffryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I'm not very happy with our stay at Crooklands. The was mildew in the bathroom and the room and fitting looked tired. The toilet seat was very loose and moved when you sat on it.

The bathroom tiles were dirty and there was what looked like mold on the ceiling. The surround to the soap holder in the bath was covered in black mildew. There were cracks in the grouting on many tiles in the bathroom.

The double room cost £90 and to be honest it was no better than a cheap bed and breakfast. Also bear in mind there are no night porters in the hotel so if you have ANY problems you will be on your own.

It wasn't all bad as we were given a friendly welcome by the reception staff and it was no problem in check in early however a friendly smile cannot mask the dour odour of damp in a bedroom/bathroom.

If you do stay at Crooklands you need to ask reception for one of the better rooms. Please stay away from rooms 4, 5 and 6 because these room are in the area to the left of reception (by the lift) that suffers from damp. The other side of the hotel is much better. I am posting photos of the offending mill dew and mould so that you can see the problem for yourself. Mold on walls and ceilings can make people ill so I am surprised that Crooklands would risk the health of guests. I had a quick look in one of the good rooms and it has a plasma tv on the wall and newly fitted bathroom, fantastic bed etc and it did not smell of damp.

I did complain about the room but all they could do was give me a two pound discount.

Crooklands you are Crooks!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Rooms are very clean and decorated nicely. There was some confusion over the price paid, although staff quickly adjusted the price to the correct amount. Service was good.

I didn't get very much sleep due to the smoke alarm flashing really brightly and the room was too hot. The water in the cold taps was warm which was a little annoying.

Free wi-fi was great, plenty of car parking available in a safe location. The restaurant food was very good. It would be great if the bar stayed open later for residents rather than close at 11pm.

A good location and accommodation was good quality, but this is probably the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaycationsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Booked some weeks prior to stay and asked for a superior room at standard price which is what I got. Arrival was friendly and welcoming. Sandwich and coffee a bit expensive at nearly £8 but filled time until my room was ready.
Room was nice and comfy, with large bed and plenty of space. Rear facing so very quiet too.
TV was a bit small by modern standards and channel hopping took some working out.
Bathroom good size with good shower. A shaving mirror would have been useful.
Dinner was excellent. Really tasty with good local dishes.
Breakfast was also good but does not start until 7:30am so was a bit hurried as I had to be in Kendal for 8am.
Enjoyed my stay, as all staff were really friendly and helpful. Prices were slightly on the high side and if staying outside of business I would be haggling for some more inclusive deals if available.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
89 reviews
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: | Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing