We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but sweet visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short but sweet visit!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A great B&B, everything we needed in the room. Fresh clean linen and fluffy white towels. My husband and I with our 12 year old son had a double bed and camp bed in the room. Unfortunately we didn't get to spend much time in there as check in was after 4pm and we were attending a 40th birthday party so rushed in, showered, changed and rushed out. Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous with a good choice too. It was beautifully presented on a tray and brought to our room. We would have preferred to maybe have had a later checkout as we had a late night and had to be out of the room by 10am on the Sunday morning, but that said I would still return and highly recommend the School House B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joandian34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
88
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent short stay at this B&B. Very handy for Kendal town centre - they even supply a map showing recommended shops, restaurants, etc. around town. Great choice of tasty breakfasts available, picked via a listings system, which is then delivered to your room the next day at a time of your choosing. Room was clean, fresh and cosily furnished. At times it felt like visiting friends - I was given a lift into the centre with my stock one morning to spare me the incessant rain - and everyone was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. And finally, there's even a 'taste of Kendal' box you can purchase to take away with you, filled with tea, mint cake, coffee and the like. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our second time at this B&B and we can highly recommend it. Very clean and in a great location which is an easy walk from Kendal town centre. Breakfast is lovely with plenty of choices and served in the room. Heidi is a great hostess - there when you need her but not intrusive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently stayed here with a friend, great location, really well designed room with some really nice special touches you wouldn't normally expect from a B & B. Heidi was helpful in choosing a restaurant for dinner, location is great for Kendal centre and breakfast in our room was a really special treat. I will be returning in the not too distant future, we only stayed for one night but I felt like I'd had a really good break - I think it may be my new secret place - shouldn't really be telling you all about it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Recently stayed here with friends, very clean rooms, lovely decoration in bedrooms. Breakfast in bed was novelty, but we really enjoyed it, the food was lovely, fresh, plenty of choice and tasty...I would recommend the smoked salmon and scrabled egg on toast!
The owner was very friendly, location central and easy walking distance of bars, pubs, restaurants and shops.
When we booked we arranged for a parking space to be available for us which was a huge bonus, as parking in the town centre can be expensive.
We would definately recommend this bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Great B&B in a picturesque location. Comfy, well designed room with the delight of breakfast in room picked from a vast choice. Had a nice view of the river. Lovely host who was able to give advice on local area, restaurants etc. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated is how I would describe this bed and breakfast.
Heidi is the perfect host , caring , but not intrusive. The idea of breakfast in your room is superb as you can relax in front of the TV and wake up slowly and refreshed.
I am booking again next month and it is very rare for me to revisit somewhere I have stayed before unless it is superb., it certainly is that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheLadyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#4 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Kendal Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Kendal Holiday Lets

Property: School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Address: 1 Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the River Kent, easy access to transport networks and less than a ten minute walk to Kendal's bustling town centre, our 2 Bed Self-Catering Holiday Let is ideally placed for you to relax and unwind and enjoy all that Kendal and the stunning surrounding area has to offer. The two bedrooms are en-suite and are well equipped with TVs, DVD players, Robes and Slippers and of course Kendal Mint cake! (Please note we were previously School House Bed and Breakfast) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School House Kendal Holiday Lets Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing