We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven after our stressful day!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A haven after our stressful day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful b&b and a haven after a stressful day. We were travelling home and decided to break the journey by staying here. We were due to arrive around 5pm but due to numerous unforeseen issues we arrived at 11pm frazzled and stressed. We had called to say we were going to arrive late which we felt terrible about but Heidi and Dave were so accommodating about it all. Our room was beautiful with very comfy beds. I loved that breakfast was served in your room and think its a lovely touch and suited us as we have a baby who happily played on the bed whilst we ate. The poached eggs were perfect. I will definitely come back again to enjoy it properly (if the owners let us after our very late arrival!!) and would recommend to anyone!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
88
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whilst my son slept in a Barn on the fells with friends I stayed at the School House. Exceptionally good accommodation that was clean and modern. The bed was firm and the sheets of a good quality which joined with the several pints of beer in down town Kendal meant I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was also excellent and served in the room - special mention for the porridge. The location is a bit tricky to find but whilst close to town centre is very quiet. Finally the layout of the room also meant there was plenty of space to work on business and the free wifi was a nice extra. All in all a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hobsonschoice56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The room was clean, chic and stylish decorated by very good taste. One of a few B&Bs you can have breakfast (which is fresh and healthy!) in your room. Very convenient to go to town centre to have dinner. The owner gave us a useful map for going out. I really recommend this lovely B&B to my friends!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ma_Ja0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

As a resting place on a weary walk across Northern Britain School House B&B cannot be bettered. It was far and away the best room on our Dalesway walk. Convenient, Clean, warm, welcoming-a lovely place to stop!

Room Tip: The superior room is big-and you get a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank longdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have tried a few other bed and breakfasts in Kendal and the surrounding area while on business. This is so far the most convenient for the centre of town, comfortable, quiet and well priced. Looking forward to staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very friendly welcome. Rather small but nice and clean room. Parking was arranged as planned off the road. Very recommendable! Breakfast in room, but again excellent with fresh fruit and a full English.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Would definitely recommend. Loved having breakfast in my room :) bed was nice and comfy and everything was clean. The BnB is in the middle of town so restaurants and pubs are just a short walk away so no need for taxis.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyAnne1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Kendal Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Kendal Holiday Lets

Property: School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Address: 1 Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the River Kent, easy access to transport networks and less than a ten minute walk to Kendal's bustling town centre, our 2 Bed Self-Catering Holiday Let is ideally placed for you to relax and unwind and enjoy all that Kendal and the stunning surrounding area has to offer. The two bedrooms are en-suite and are well equipped with TVs, DVD players, Robes and Slippers and of course Kendal Mint cake! (Please note we were previously School House Bed and Breakfast) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School House Kendal Holiday Lets Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing