We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice B&B in Kendal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A very nice, very clean B&B. The hosts were very helpful and Heidi gave us help and advice re places to visit. A short walk into Kendal from the B&B took only 10 minutes. Plenty of places to eat. The rooms we used had shower in one and bath in the other. Lovely fluffly towels, dressing gown and slippers for use also. Breakfast was served in the room and there was a good choice to choose from. The bed was very comfortable and we all slept well.
Worth a stay if visiting Kendal.

Room Tip: We had room 1 and room 3, both tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank BluebellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Arrived early and warmly welcomed! Wonderful breakfasts, location, accommodation. Bed so comfortable! Manager was very helpful and gave us details of best rated restaurants and places to visit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shiretraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the School House B&B in March (sorry we're so late with the review! It must have really made an impression on us for us to come back and write!) We were in a bit of a rush when we got in because we were going to a concert that night, but Heidi made us feel welcome and showed us to our room. The room was great and having breakfast served in bed was by far the best part!! Heidi helped us out that morning and gave us tips about near by villages and hiking. Highly recommended!

-Danny and Natalie

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stay in Kendal quite a lot as my daughter lives there and always stay in Hotels. I never do B&B as I always feel like I am staying in a strangers house. I booked the School House as my husband fancied a change and so glad we did. The room we had was ground floor and was fitted out with a gorgeous large comfortable bed, cotton bedding & towels and we even had dressing gowns and slippers!! The whole experience totally changed my mind about staying at a B&B and we will be staying here again & again!! Thank you for making our stay like home from home, and having our breakfast delivered in our room was the icing on the cake!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryanndownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a very nice large, well- decorated room with sofa and dining table as well as large bathroom.
The owners have put thought into its design and so it's very comfortable and great stay.
Nothing is too much trouble - very helpful and excellent breakfast served in room, which we prefer when bleary-eyed in the morning! Off street parking too. I'd recommend this one.

Room Tip: Room 1 - downstairs is very convenient for unloading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a lovely B&B. Within walking distance of the Town Centre it is quiet and peaceful. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and well equipped.
Breakfast served in the bedrooms works well .......and it is an excellent breakfast. Host Heidi is friendly and helpful. Also very good for Kendal......this place has its own parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcmullanjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful b&b and a haven after a stressful day. We were travelling home and decided to break the journey by staying here. We were due to arrive around 5pm but due to numerous unforeseen issues we arrived at 11pm frazzled and stressed. We had called to say we were going to arrive late which we felt terrible about but Heidi and Dave were so accommodating about it all. Our room was beautiful with very comfy beds. I loved that breakfast was served in your room and think its a lovely touch and suited us as we have a baby who happily played on the bed whilst we ate. The poached eggs were perfect. I will definitely come back again to enjoy it properly (if the owners let us after our very late arrival!!) and would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank ScotlandGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
47 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
174 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Kendal Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Kendal Holiday Lets

Address: 1 Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the River Kent, easy access to transport networks and less than a ten minute walk to Kendal's bustling town centre, our 2 Bed Self-Catering Holiday Let is ideally placed for you to relax and unwind and enjoy all that Kendal and the stunning surrounding area has to offer. The two bedrooms are en-suite and are well equipped with TVs, DVD players, Robes and Slippers and of course Kendal Mint cake! (Please note we were previously School House Bed and Breakfast) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School House Kendal Holiday Lets Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing