We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice as a one off”
Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Ranked #59 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Nice as a one off”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The food adults food was nice though the children's food wasn't very good. Child's burger was a burnt lump of meat between a dry bun. The tables were really sticky. The service left us a bit disappointed as well, we were left for an hour before we had chance to order and we asked them not the other way round. It wasn't busy either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    22
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Rural Pub”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good ales and decent food - A little too crowded on the weekends.
Warm welcome.
Dogs welcome.
Bar and lounge as well as a dedicated restaurant area.
Real fire (for winter evenings).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pythonatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we had fish, chips and peas. The fish was mostly batter which was over cooked with very thin fish inside. The chips were made with awful potatoes and inedible. The mushy peas were of inferior quality and tasted awful. When I complained on paying the bill there was no offer made to reduce the bill for food I could not eat. Total waste of time and money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meal”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I popped into the Station Inn for a meal whilst waiting for friends. The wine was nice. I ordered surf and turf. The "turf" was inedible and the rest was nothing better than ok. The chap behind was somewhat surly when I requested a discount because I could not eat my steak. My experience was just about on the upper side of adequate.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
573 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Average beer to finish off my day drinking around the Lakes”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Poorest pint of Hawkshead Bitter of my day tour of the area and a real let down as last one before my train home. Stunningly average and menu looked like bog standard stuff which may be what is needed but nothing inspiring.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing